We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusting and overpriced.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 11 February 2008

This hotel was absolutely terrible, the smell, the bathrooms, the dark hallways. ... Where shall I start? Everything looked and felt just awfull. The hotel staff looks like they barely finished high school and are absolutely incapable of helping in any way. The bathrooms are a disaster, the tile looks like it was layed by a 5 year old, the AC is a window unit that is loud and hard to adjust. Our room felt dirty and unwelcoming with a view on a abandonned building. The window did not open and the smell was just terrible. DON'T GO! YOU WILL HATE IT!!!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EuroTrash63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,850 - 3,856 of 4,874 reviews

Reviewed 9 February 2008

This is a hotel I have to recommend that you never ever stay at. If you are young and in Miami Beach to party, it may be okay. Beyond that, this hotel is your worst nightmare. Rated as a 4 star hotel, I was expecting luxury. What we got instead was a dump. The employees were rude, the walls are paper thin, and the parking is nonexistent. Let me tell you my story.

Check in is at 4 pm. We got there to find that there is no parking anywhere. You have to use their valet parking whether you like it or not and I think it was around $26 a day. Instead of saying hello to us, the guy at the front desk barked at us “license and credit card”. No hello. No please. It was customer service at its finest. NOT. Thean unlocked file cabinet! She had to argue with them to get them to person I was staying with gave him her stuff and they proceed to copy it and put both on the same page! She asked them not do that. She has had her identity stolen and was a bit leary having all of that information about her photocopied on a piece of paper and stuck into black out her address and other identifying information on the copy of her license and her credit card number too! With the information they had copied on the same sheet, an identity thief would have a field day. Their response? The front area had a camera on it. Of course, we don’t know how good of a camera it was or anything. The first room they gave us was next to the bar. We marched back to front desk and explained to them again that we were here for business and not partying. They then gave us another room on the other side of the bar. After this, the bellman quit carrying our luggage. That’s how bad the situation got. They told us about the suite they had that had a pullout couch and a double bed. We didn’t think that sounded too bad. However, instead of giving us the keys to that room, they gave us a room on the third floor above the bar. We asked the bellman if we would hear the bar, and he told us we would. He also informed us that not only was it a bar, but it would have karaoke the next couple of night. It’s bad enough to have to listen to music all night. Bad music would be even worse! We went back to the desk and asked about the suite they told us about. A different guy said to us that they did have a suite, but they wouldn’t be offering it to us. He didn’t know why the other guy even told us about it. Yes, he really did say that to us.

Besides their lack of service, let me tell you about the rooms. They were tiny. We would have no place to put our suitcases at all. The bathroom came from the 1960’s and was tiny. Their website says they have free wifi. Guess what? They charge you for it once you are there. There were no phone books in the room. The walls were also paper thin. When we were trying to decide what we were going to do, a cell phone went off. I looked at my roommate and she looked at me thinking it was the other person’s phone. It was in the room next door. It sounded clear as day. There also were no closets or irons in the rooms.

Needless to say, we left. It was bad. I would highly recommend staying as far away from this hotel as you can. The rooms and the customer service were both crappy, and you can do better than this expensive hotel. I have stayed in one star hotels that were better than this!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Blm03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2008

This is probably the worst hotel I have ever stayed at. The hotel was dirty and management treated us terribly. (Angel Blanco was particularly rude.) They seemed to relish in the fact that they required a pre-payment for the rooms so that they could laugh at every request we had. Our lights didn't work, our toilet overflowed, our refrigerator leaked, the maids never cleaned our room, the pool heater was broken and the kitchen was chronically out of food. This place is a disaster. Do yourself a favor and stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank beeneverywhereraw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2008

Unfortunately, my sentiments echo many other travelers. We got stuck in Miami on our way back from Belize due to a snowstorm in Chicago. I offered to look for rooms for our group on hotwire, which we've used many many successful times in the past. I booked the rooms, found out it was the catalina, and immediately called to check on the shuttle. The deskman told me it would be at 10PM. Not too bad, as it was 9PM. I went outside to the shuttle area to double check the location of the pickup, and the taxi manager told me that the shuttle for them came every other hour on the odd hour - so at 9 and 11. I called the hotel back, and they confirmed that yes, it did come at 9, and after checking with the shuttle, confirmed that it had already left the airport. Our group had to take 2 taxis down to the catalina. Too bad, since if I had known that just a few minutes earlier, we could have gotton the shuttle. Not too bad at that point, but once we checked into the rooms we found them too hip for comfort, with an overtly sexual theme. Complete with free porn for your "viewing pleasure". Seriously folks. We were traveling with our 11 month old baby, a middle age couple, and two older couples. This was not the place to stay! We called for the shuttle again in the morning, and were told that the service wasn't offered until after noon. So we had to book 2 cabs again and head back to the airport. For the $ we spend on cabs, we could have stayed in the hotel airport.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelers-SandJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2008

We have stayed in lots of 2 and 3 star hotels and this is easily the worst. Room was clean and neat and hotel location is great. If you stay at this hotel, insist on seeing what you have been charged from the mini bar. Our bill was loaded with a range of drinks and condoms. Some of the books lying around the hotel when were there include explicit sexual material.

In our view, this hotel bears little resemblance to the hotel on the web site with the quality of the room being quite average.

This is absolutely NOT a hotel for children. It would be OK for adults as long as you don't expect good customer service and can cope with the slightly seedy air associated with this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
1  Thank gem550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2008

I checked out of this place 5 minutes after arriving in my room! This had to be one of the worst hotel rooms I have ever seen! I've seen hospital rooms decorated and more inviting then the stale all-white rooms. The floors were white vinyl (no carpet) and the bathroom was all tiny white tiles with dirty grout lines. The room was very small and had no place for you to store your belongings. No closet, no dresser, zilch nothing nada! Oh, and the wireless internet was down too!

The air conditioner was very noisy and bordered on broken as the room wouldn't even stay cool. Even the remote control wouldn't even work and the TV was stuck on one channel.

Check-in was a joke as I had to wait around while the agent ran off to see if my room was clean before he gave me my keys! The hallways are dark and dingy. I've seen military subs that seem more inviting.

A small fabric covered table in the room had a visible gash in the fabric as well.

After I told the agent on duty that there was no way I was staying there he was rude and didn't even offer me a different room and proceeded to bill me for a one night stay claiming that was their early cancellation policy! I refused to sign the bill and mentioned that I will contest the charge with AMEX.

I had already valet parked my vehicle there and decided to leave it there for the two nights and ended up checking into the Double Tree right across the street and had a perfect stay!

The following day I spoke to a different manager and she ended up refunding my nights stay after I explained what happened.

But then on my last day when I retrieved my vehicle from valet parking I found that my Ipod that was plugged into my dash receptacle had been stolen!

I complained to the valet parking manager and he mentioned that I would need to file a police report. So he called the Miami Beach PD and I waited around till the officer showed up and filed a report. Even the police officer confided in me that less than a month ago he handled another report of a stolen Ipod from the same hotel's valet!

Luckily the parking manager agreed to refund me the purchase price of the Ipod and cable via check which he said he would mail within the week. Two very nice female managers of the hotel (one of which refunded me the night stay) apologized for the incident and gave me their business cards and told me to contact them if the parking manager does not reimburse me and that they would make it right. At least someone there cared about customer satisfaction! Too bad they have to work at such a cheesy place.

I was also traveling with a co-worker who also checked out within 5 minutes of arriving in their room because of the loud noise near his room. There was no way he could carry on a conversation with business clients with that kind of activity going on. They also offered no room alternative, but at least refunded his money without a battle (maybe he dealt with a different check-in agent than I dealt with).

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank littlebuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2008

The hotel, in which we arrived around 4:30 pm, made me and my group [approx 24 people] abotu an hour because housecleaning has not cleaned our rooms. Plus, they gave complications with the payment, so the head of our group had to pay $800 out of her own pocket for our rooms. When arriving to our rooms, thinking they would be super chic, the walls were dirty and unfinished, there were construction and cleaning supplies in the bathroom, the shower was moldy, and the room's decoration consisted of a book of vintage pornagraphy. The bathroom shower was moldy, dirty, and reaking with an odd smell. The floors were decored with shoe prints of dirt, and the staff did little to repair, let alone give us a new room. Overall, I did not enjoy my stay, and I can assure that I will never stay at The Catalina again.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Ryugurl0083
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,411 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Croydon
#45 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Circa 39 Hotel
#29 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,048 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 214 in Miami Beach
3,645 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#87 of 214 in Miami Beach
2,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £106 - £255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing