We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Nearby Hotels
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$489
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
US$532
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$466
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$610
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$421
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
W South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$400
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$358
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Fontainebleau Miami Beach(Miami Beach)
US$375
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$341
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
The Palms Hotel & Spa(Miami Beach)
US$234
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
thepalmshotel.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$528
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$204
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Eden Roc Miami Beach Resort(Miami Beach)
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Mondrian South Beach Hotel(Miami Beach)(Great Value!)
US$257
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
SLS South Beach(Miami Beach)
US$371
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (4,979)
Filter reviews
4,979 results
Traveller rating
1,839
1,446
733
383
578
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,839
1,446
733
383
578
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolhappy hourmaxine buildingkung fusouth beachfree drinkssushi restaurantfree shuttlefree beach chairsbachelorette partylincoln roadocean driveart decodorsetmaxinesbartendermiami
Filter
Updating list...
3,914 - 3,919 of 4,979 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2008

Walls and doors are paper thin - Noise was horrible. Banging & talking in hallways was non-stop. Staff was non responsive, extremely slow & not friendly at all. Room was clean, however soap, shampoo, etc... were never replaced. Towels had to be asked for daily. Spend a little more & stay at a hotel with better service & less noise.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JoshPgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2008

I can deal with small and not so sophisticated accomodations.

But the Catalina has perfected the art of deceiving their customers and never telling the truth. Some examples, they quoted one rate and charged another. After not cleaning the room (apparently they only come by if you put a sign on the door, a sign that wasn't in our room) the front desk promised housekeeping would come by between 9 and 5 but they showed up at 5:45 when people are trying to shower, 2 days in a row. Expensive computer rechargers mysteriously missing from the room (we locked everything else up in the safe. A must do). I didn't even mention the water bugs in the bathroom and hallway.

Things can go wrong when traveling but when you are repeatedly lied to by the staff who then take affront at you for calling them out on it, it makes for a very unsatisfying experience. Stay at your own risk.

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CDNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2008

I wish I had read these reviews before staying at this dump. We had actually stayed there on one prior occassion last year and had a good experience which caused me not to read the reviews.

Service-there is NONE
Courtsey and professionalism by the staff: NONE
Cleanliness: LIttle to none.
Noise: OBNOXIOUS, music booms on and on until 6:00 am so forget about any sleep. If you ask to move, you can't as its this loud in all of the buildings. This is a CLUB not a hotel. All this place cares about is the music scene and 20 year olds.

The only good thing about is the location, but for the money that we paid to stay there (it wasn't cheap) next time, I'll spend a bit more and stay at Lowes or the W when it opens.

Watch out for the charges, they are everywhere.
Its a BIG RIPOFF, RUN

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank EGliz1022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2008

We were actually staying at the Dorchester down the street and we passed the Catalina a few times and decided to switch hotels after 2 days. This hotel is in a great location, perfect for the young crowd. The decor is modern and chic. The staff were great, we even forgot toothpaste and even though they didn't provide it, one of the guys at the front desk went out and purchased some for us. He was really cool. The lobby is very comfortable, the pool is nice and private. The bar is lovely...everything about the hotel is perfect. Its close to everything South Beach has to offer. It has a restaurant on site and the food/service was great. Very classy hotel for such an affordable price.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phatshortee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2008

We had a good stay at the Catalina Overall. However, as it was during springbreak, the hotel was full of young party people and was very noisy at night. I could hear the music from the surrounding rooms.
Otherwise, very nice property and outstanding lobby decoration.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luciemaurice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews