We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Believe the BAD reviews - the Catalina is CATASTROPHICALLY AWFUL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
London
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Believe the BAD reviews - the Catalina is CATASTROPHICALLY AWFUL”
Reviewed 1 June 2008

This place was a huge disappointment. It's truly awful - from the aloof and non-caring attitude of the staff on front desk, to the filthy bathrooms, the stinking, dingy corridors, the slow restaurant (that never has what's on the menu) and the revoltingly dirty swimming pools - it fails at every turn.
We spent ages on line looking for a reasonably priced hotel in South Beach, Miami in the art deco district. We were only going to be there for 3 nights so wanted to be able to make the most of it. The South Beach Group's hotels looked impressive on their website and the Catalina seemed like a great option. But when it came to it they did not live up to their own hype. I wish I'd taken heed from the bad reviews on Trip Advisor - I'd hoped they were isolated bad experiences. But they were spot on.
The hotel is in 3 buildings but only one has reception so you have to trapse from one building to another. And no one will offer to help you with your bags. The staff on front desk seem to think they are too cool to smile/say hello/exude any sort of humanity whatsoever. They set the inept tone for the whole Catalina experience.
The rooms look like they've been decorated by an a keen (but untalented) DIY enthusiast who's watched far too many episodes of 'Changing Rooms'. We had rusty screws sticking out of the wall! But it's worse because everything is grubby - dirty showers in the bathroom, dirty floors, and grim and stinking corridors that are never cleared of dirty laundry. By night they come alive with crying girls screaming down their mobile phones between drinks at the bar. And your room phone never stops ringing - though not with real calls, of course.
They advertise that the pools are open from sunrise to sunset. Not true. The ground floor pool was closed for a private party long before sunset and the roof top pool was a health hazard - the water was literally the colour of a muddy puddle.
If I was a backpacker or a college kid on Spring Break (and the cost of staying here was at least halved) then this place would be a perfect hostel. I'd have laughed at the up-yourself staff and the ridiculous attempts at self-conscious decor - afterall they do have comfy mattresses, are close to the beach and LIncoln Street. But instead the Catalina is making a miserable attempt at being a hotel. And it just doesn't measure up. It's time the South Beach Group faced facts and changed their marketing materials - the Catalina is a grubby and over-priced backpacker hostel. If that's what you want when in Miami then go - but take plenty of anti-bacterial wipes, a mop for the bathroom floor and if you're planning to go in the pool take a doctor with you too!

  • Liked — Leaving
  • Disliked — Dirty rooms, filthy pools, stinking, dark corridors and bad attitude on front desk
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 2adults2kids1dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,731
    1,348
    676
    363
    540
See reviews for
520
1,459
370
329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (720)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2008

I stayed at the Catalina over the Memorial Day weekend. The free shuttle to and from the airport is the best part of this hotel. Check in is a very disorganized process and you have to wait a long time. The condition of the hotel can be described as poor at best. Carpets on the staircase in the lobby was filthy! Mainentance is poor at this hotel. The rooms are very small and in poor condition. The shower drains poorly and the temperature is difficult to control. The faucet handle actually fell off as soon as we touched it. The bathrooms have no place to hang towels. No drawers are provided in the room to store clothing. The best parts of the room were the in room safe and bedding. The bed and bedding were very comfortable. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — poor condition of hotel
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank yvr168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Charlotte
1 review
Reviewed 23 May 2008

If you are over 25, this hotel is not for you. The decor and atmosphere were all party and that is what went on the three nights we were there. Kids were yelling and screaming in the halls, banging their doors and my phone rang at least four or five times a night with no one on the line. I assume it was drunken kids trying to remember where their friends were. I was exhusted at the end of our three nights there.
The bathroom was not very clean, and the decor was wierd- a red ceiling and a red light hanging over the bed, with very little other lighting. I think it was the worst hotel experience I have ever had, including a hotel in Russia that was previously my worst. Unless you are going for a drunken, party filled time, I would avoid this hotel!!!

  • Liked — the day I left
  • Disliked — The noise level
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quiltec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2008

This hotel is nothing short of a disaster. What is not explained is that this hotel is actually x3 buildings next door to each other, so you have to drag your luggage from one building to the next.
When the hotel first opened I am sure it was a trendy place to stay however now the facade is faded, tired , cracked and peeling.
Over the weekend we stayed there, we had girls screaming, crying, running up and down the corridors, parties starting at 4am in the rooms and finally finishing about 7am - no point complaining to the staff as they were just not interested.
There is no parking, so they charge you $32 A DAY just for the privilege of parking your car.
The staff were unhelpful, surly and rude. One receptionist got taken off his duties to become a pool boy as the first one had quit (and I can understand why).
We had breakfast one morning in the downstairs bar area and witnessed a screaming argument between the staff right in front of our table.
Each day we had to fight to get enough towels for x4 people - despite the room sleeping 4 people the hotel apparently does not have a system to show how many people stay there - amazing in this day and age of Health and Safety rules.
The bathroom has painted floor tiles making it more like a wet room, but with nothing to stand on the bathroom floor was flooded each day.
We came back at 9pm one day to find our room still not made up so had to fight with the reception to get someone to make the beds (and you've guessed it no towels again). The room was not cleaned properly the whole time we stayed there.
The only positive point is that the hotel was within walking distance of the outside Lincoln mall.

  • Liked — The beds were Tempur-Pedic
  • Disliked — The hotel itself
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipfrogger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 May 2008

Checked in late at night into the hotel. The rooms are very small, the bathrooms smaller, and the ceilings are painted a very bright RED.

There is no coffee maker in the room, so if you like coffee in the morning you'll have to take a stroll. Our rooms had no towels, had to ask for them at the front desk. The bathroom floor looks like it has not been scrubbed in a year or more. The toilet was broken (the tank would not hold the water), and late at night there is no maintenance, so for a toilet we were offered the use of a dinky room at a building next door. Next day, it took repeated calls for maintenance from 8:00am until about 2:00pm to finally get a guy to come and fix the damn flush tank.

There is no parking available whatsoever in front of the hotel to unload bags without holding traffic on Collins Ave. The hotel is noisy, but that just goes with the territory.

The overall bad service put the cherry on top of a bad experience. I'm not expecting Ritz-Carlton level service here, but this hotel does not deserve the 3-star rating some sites assign to it.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — Service, room features.
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Cee_GG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachussetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2008

My husband and I stayed at The Catalina in South Beach, Miami and had a GREAT time. The location is one short block off the beach (which is huge and clean). The Hotel is super chic and has a great outdoor lounge/restaurant which is some of the most excellent people watching on the East Coast. The rooms are spotless and ultra cool (but really comfy), and the staff were friendly and helpful. The vibe at the Catalina is so cool and sexy without the pretension that you find all too often. We had a fabulous time and recommend it highly.

  • Liked — Location, convenience
  • Disliked — That I don't live there
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank emongie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 May 2008

Found a GREAT deal on Travelzoo for $50 a night.
Stayed on the 4th and 5th of July, 2007.
We had requested a King room and when we got to our room, it was 2 beds, so I called the front, they switched us to a King room with a jacuzzi (but no shower) so we said we'd just stay in the other room, which was fine......the front desk called back in about 10 minutes with another King room with a shower. It was GREAT! The bed is a tempurpedic (we bought one after our stay)...there was an ipod docking station and everything was white and fresh. You can tell it is an older hotel, but they made everything fun!

Happy hour was great, bartenders super cool!
Pool was good.
Internet wasn't working, had to go nextdoor.
Lunch at Maxines was Great!
Free beach crusiers was an awesome perk!
Great location!

  • Liked — The Bed was GREAT!!
  • Disliked — Water pressure in the shower
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maya26yellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,275 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,910 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#52 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,745 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing