We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #90 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We stayed at this hotel Labor day weekend, as a last minute trip and wanted a location on Collins close to some higher end nightlife. This hotel was great, we checked in late Friday night and there were people there to help, we were able to upgrade from an on a Budget room to a Living large room, definitely recommend doing this, there is a lot more space and it was a small price for a great upgrade, there are three different buildings we were in the one with the Sushi restaurant and the roof top pool. This hotel has free happy hour, and complimentary shuttle service to the beach and complimentary chaise lounges and beach towels. We loved the beds in the room very comfy the atmosphere was fun very different, if you are looking for boring and quiet this is not the place for you, music plays from the roof and you can open you door and hear it we loved it!

Room Tip: Do the upgrade, not too much more and totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good Afternoon Shannan P,

Your positive feedback is very much appreciated and we would like to thank you so much for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! We do have agents at our front desk for whatever it is that you need 24 hours a day 7 days a week. I see that you were able to get accommodated with an upgrade from an On A Budget room to a Living Large. The LL room is more spacious and for those guests who would like to have more space, it's perfect for them. Our complimentary cocktail hour from 7-8PM is a perfect way to either end your day, or start your night off. :) We do offer other great amenities such as the R/T shuttle, beach chairs, beach cruisers, WiFi, etc. I am glad that you loved the time that you spent with us! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,304 - 2,310 of 4,779 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Lost all my money with the hotel as I was a day late due to encountering problems at home, and as a result had to book a completelty different room and pay all over again.. When I got there the hotel the hotel had booked the wrong room and I had to go into a twin single bed room right by the bar. The rooms were dirty, the shower room terrible and the first time I tried opening the window the cover fell off!!!!! I was very suspicious when i had three knocks at the door at one o'clock in the morning once and when answering the door a suspicious looking member of staff said he had the wrong number ??
There was a little mini bar in the room which wasnt too bad but was very overpriced. There is no room service. Hardly any staff speak English which was a bit of a problem for me anyway. On the plus side the bar wasn't too bad and the rooftop pool not too bad. Having been in nearby hotels for food (not mentioning names) they looked far far better and the staff were so much friendlier. This was my first trip to miami and it was a gorgeous place but the whole experience was let down by this appalling hotel. The location is good but there are far better hotels nearby. South beach is beautiful. I am returning to miami in October or November this year and already know where in staying and it most definitely will not be here . Make sure you do your hotel research before booking as I booked last minute and paid the price. The beaches were stunning.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101 like the plague. If you have to stay here choose a room well away from the bar . Keep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good Afternoon Mr. Collins,

Just like any other hotel we do have cancellation policies and penalties for those who are a no show and no call. All we ask for is our guests to communicate with us, and inform us of their situation. If we were aware of your situation we would have definitely not marked you as a no show no call, and kept your room until the following day with no penalties. We did not book a wrong room for you. You had booked your hotel through Tourico Holidays and perhaps they had made a mistake with the room type that you wanted. Unfortunately we do not have any single beds here at The Catalina Hotel. What you received was a Double Bed room, which is what you originally booked with Tourico. Each and every one of our rooms are deep cleaned and inspected by a supervisor before placing it clean and ready in our system. The pricing in the mini bar that we offer is average for South Beach. We do offer service to the rooms and depending on what service you are looking for determines who you would need to call. All hotel related inquiries and requests would be handled by the hotel. As the restaurants are not in the same company as the hotel, if you are looking to order food you would need to order that with them, and they would be more then happy to bring your food and bill to your room. All of our front desk, restaurant and management staff speaks perfect English. Our housekeepers speak English as well, but not as well as the rest of our staff. They do a wonderful job and try their hardest when it comes to having to speak with a guest in English. It's good that you know where you will be staying when you come to Miami again in October and in November! :)

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

OK for 1 night, don't expect much. Customer service is bad. They need to improve in everything! Place looks dirty. Im glad I was able to find a better hotel the next day. Everything looks good in the pictures but in reality is not.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hello Mark C,

We value all of our guests feedback, thank you for sharing your with us! I am terribly sorry that you were not satisfied with the customer service that we provided you with. I wish that you would have been more descriptive so that we could have addressed the issue accordingly. Without constructive feedback unfortunately we are not sure of what makes our guests happy and what we should change.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013 via mobile

An interesting hotel with a lot of night life for the younger but neat decorated rooms and lobby that speaks for elegance. The roof top bar with pool and sun beds are absolutely fabulous. Good service and staff. We stayed for two nights.

Thank Jonssonskan
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Good Afternoon Jonssonskan,

Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback regarding your recent stay with us! We are indeed the night life hotel. :) I am content to learn that you were satisfied with the decor and the personality of our hotel. Our rooftop pool is great to catch the Floridian sun while sipping on some refreshing cocktails! We hope to see you soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Me and my partner had booked originally to stay at this hotel on Monday 26th August, as we missed our flight, we was advised by the hotel we had lost the entire booking and our money, as they said as a general rule if you don't check in on the first day they automatically cancel the booking and you loose any monies paid, so we ended up paying a good £2000 on this hotel as we paid twice.

We arrived on Friday 30th August, room booked under Mark Collins, and was greeted by very rude reception staff who were very rude and unhelpful, we had specifically booked a double room with two double beds and then room we was allocated just had a double bed, eventually we we was given the room we requested, [ room 101] but it was on the ground floor right next to the bar, so music kept us up all night during the duration of our stay.

Hotel does not offer room service, has no tea or biscuits in room, just snacks like Skittles, Snickers at which you are charged at $2 per item which you eat, bathroom just has a shower and is very small.
Housekeeping staff are all Mexican and speak no English at all, one day our room wasn't cleaned at all, and when requested clean towels it took over half hour for someone to come up, and that lady cleaner kept saying something and pointing towards the door sign and I had no idea what she was saying, so the American receptionist had to ring our room to translate.

And on one night, we was woken up at 1am by one of the staff trying to swipe in our room, when challenged by my partner he again never spoke English.

Hotel has 2 pools,new tried the rooftop swimming pool next door, was okay, but very small, didn't bother trying the other pool.

Food next door at Maxine's is very good and a reasonable price.

Only good thing about this hotel is the location, as it's on Collins Avenue and 5 mins from the beach, I WOULD NEVER STAY AT THIS HOTEL EVER AGAIN AND TO ME IS QUITE SIMILAR TO A YOUTH HOSTEL RATHER THAN A 3 STAR HOTEL.

Room Tip: Try avoiding room 101 or any room on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manibainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hello manibainz,

Just like in any other hotel there are cancellation policies which we have here as well. If you do not call regarding your missed flight we do believe that you are not coming and mark your reservation as a no show. We just need our guests to communicate with us regarding their situations as we are very understanding to all of them. I see that Jonathan was the front desk agent that handled your check in. Jonathan has been with us for years and gets nothing but compliments on his hard work and customer service, from our guests. I am sorry that you found him to be rude and unhelpful. I am glad that you were given the room type in which you originally booked. Please note that when booking through a third party site your room type is never guaranteed. Our bellmen are here to assist you with bringing you ice and any other bath amenities or extra towels that you need. Since the restaurants are not owned by the hotel the bell staff is not able to bring you food if you have ordered some. In that case you can ask the restaurant to bring the food and the bill up to your room, and they are more then happy to do so. Our El Grande rooms are the rooms that offer complimentary coffee's and teas. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are generally smaller then your average hotel room, and the bathrooms as well. I am extremely upset in the way that you chose to speak about our employee's the way that you have. Our employee's are actually from all over the world and try their hardest to speak English and they do an extremely good job at it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! The housekeeper was pointing at the door sign because you most likely placed the sign on the door stating that you didn't want any service, which is why they didn't come to service your room! Coming to Miami you should know that it's a very diverse city and not every one here will speak perfect English here. Hostels are no where near what our hotel is like. When staying in a hostel you share rooms with people you don't know and can sometimes get a private room that is no where near as nice as our rooms.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We stayed here in July just for a couple of days at the end of our Florida holiday from the UK. I am not sure if we would have stayed here longer if we needed to. Although the location on Miami beach was fantastic, the hotel didn't really live up to expectations. I hadn't realised that parking would be a problem. We had hired a car in Orlando for the trip down to Miami and found that the hotel didn't have parking so we had to find some overnight parking which was very expensive. The rooms were quite small and we had to upgrade one of the rooms because although our booking had been accepted for 5 people in two standard rooms, they didn't take three beds. The rooms were supposed to be cleaned daily but noone came to our rooms. We asked reception and they said they could come at any time during the day, even the evening. This is no good to us as you could be using the room to get ready when they come. We ate in Maxines hotel restaurant both nights which was really good and the best thing about the hotel. You can reserve sunbeds on the beach and there is a nice rooftop pool. All in all, ok for a short stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveBJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2013

Hello there SteveBJ,

Thank you for taking your time to provide us with your honest feedback! I see that you were content with the location of our property. We are in a great spot on South Beach. Parking is a bit of an issue in general in South Beach, so many people so little space. We do indeed have parking here at the hotel though it's at a cost. It's valet parking and it's $35 per night. There are also lots and garages around the hotel. We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel rooms. We do offer larger rooms for those guests who would like more space. All of our guest rooms that are occupied are cleaned on a daily basis unless you tell us otherwise, and the room attendants do have until 5PM to come and clean the rooms. Maxine's has great food with service to match and I am glad that you were able to dine there. We do provide 2 lounge chairs at the beach per room for our guests to enjoy.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Stayed here with two other girlfriends for a long weekend. The place is in an ideal location. You can't beat it for the price. Walking distance to outdoor mall, fancy chic restaurant, and Ocean Drive. Loved the location. One of the girls that stayed with me in April is staying again in September.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elaine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Hello there Elaine A,

We value all of our guests feedback and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are in a great spot in South Beach. Close to the action yet far enough when you want to escape it. We do offer unbeatable prices, and offer amazing amenities to all our guests that chose to stay with us! We look forward in having your friend stay with us this month!! We hope to have you back as well!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#73 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,345 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,559 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,395 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £92 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing