We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smells like wet dog...this place is disgusting!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #87 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
108 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Smells like wet dog...this place is disgusting!”
Reviewed 1 August 2008

This hotel is a joke. Plain and simple a joke. The shuttle that picks you up at the airport was late, you call the hotel desk and they have no clue where the driver is. How convienent ay? Once the shuttle did come pick us up it was hard to tell what bus was ours because it says really small on the side of the van "Art Deco" district, anyways our driver thought he was in the Indy 500 and got the van over 85mph. I was more scared in the van than on the plane. Once we arrived it looked nice however the front desk staff was very short with me and rude. The people at the doors will watch you struggle up the steps with your luggage no lie. Anyways the hallways are SUPER SUPER SUPER dark and stingy and the same can be said about the rooms. Upon walking thru the bar area to get into our room on the next floor we noticed our room looked like a preschool class project. The lamp resembled a contruction paper cone with holes in it---stylish lol maybe in 1997. The floor was dirty in the room and the shower was so small and water got on the floor everytime you took a shower. All the reviews that say it is noisy, well they ARE it is super loud all night long. The doors are somewhat loud and when someone shuts their door it rattles the entire room. The bars they have are a joke, this hotel is a joke. Spend more money and stay elsewhere. The employees of this hotel are the most rude people I've ever dealt with. Seriously if you hate your job that much quit.

  • Liked — Being able to hide from the room at the beach
  • Disliked — The hotel employees
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Youngtegger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,709
    1,324
    662
    356
    529
See reviews for
503
1,427
368
323
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (708)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

We were looking for a short "staycation", so when the $59/night offer came in from Travelzoo, we jumped on it. Only then did we check out the reviews here, which we nearly always do before we book. The 3 night stay was non-refundable, so after reading all the negative reviews, we figured if it was that terrible, we'd just walk away, although we did upgrade to the $79 deluxe king after we called and found out that was the only way we could get a chaise lounge or a table and chairs. We were also concerned because we are "young" 64 year old retirees from the west coast of Florida and definitely not the typical crowd the hotel supposedly caters to.

Maybe it was because our expectations were so low, but we had a very enjoyable time at the Catalina, beginning with the ultra -friendly check in agent (Jennifer). We had a corner room in the Maxine building and it didn't seem crowded at all - I'm sure the extra set of windows helped that. The bath and closet were very small and there was no dresser, but we were there for only 3 nights, so it wasn't a big deal. We loved both the restaurants and the service was great. We chose to self-park our car 2 blocks away ($15/day vs. $32 for valet parking) and we enjoyed Kung Fu Sushi so much we ate there twice, so we never even took our car out of the lot.

There definitely are negatiaves as others have pointed out. Our safe wouldn't lock, the phone wouldn't call the front desk, the lightning in both the rooms and the hallways is poor, the sink plug didn't work, and the floor tile in the bath and shower needed attention....but, it wasn't mold and mainly just needed regrouted. My main concern from reading the reviews and the thing that would have caused us to leave was the cleanliness and there was ablolutely no concern there - it was very clean.

Bottom line.....if we'd been expecting a 4 or 5 star hotel, we'd have been disappointed, but we feel we got what we paid for and then some. The Catalina could be really special with some attention to maintenance.

  • Liked — great bed, good restaurants, friendly staff
  • Disliked — poor lightning, some maintenance problems
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunstate941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2008

Maybe I read too many bad reviews from here before I left for my trip to Catalina. Having to read all the horrible review after booking the vacation package, I was terrified that this hotel might ruin my romantic 3days getaway to Miami. However, most of the bad reviews posted previously did not apply to my trip. As soon as I arrived the driveway/ or small lot in front of the main building door, I was greeted with a doorman, who opened the door to my taxi and carried my bags into the lobby AND opened the doors for me and my boyfriend. When I got to the front desk I was greeted with welcoming smile and the room check-in went very smooth, even letting me an hr early into the room before 3pm check-in time because I got there 1hr before. I did carry my own bags to my room, which was on different building because I was able, but I did see them helping other guests carry their bags to their room when it was necessary(ig. family with lots of bags and small children).
The room was very clean, bits of rips and tears on the curtain and the headboard, but didn't bother too much, red ceiling wasn't my taste but it was exotically romantic when candles were lit with all lights off, more than enough towels for two of us, small but clean bathroom, quiet all day/night (my room was on far left corner of 2nd floor-couldn't even hear the loud music until I got out of my room and walked toward the elevator at nights). I loved the pools- rooftop pool was very nice at sunset, main pool is just nice all day long. Not as big as the ones at Ritz, Delano, etc, but enough to have fun w/out overcrowding. The room cleaning was done exactly when we asked for it, and new towels were there everyday, beds were made everyday, the maid-carts were on the hallway everyday (which didn't bother me at all) so I just grabbed shampoos and toilet paper whenever I needed. Free bike rental was nice, and wifi was FREE (it did say they used to charge $15/day before but now it's FREE) The concierge was very polite, always smiling, and courteous on about every subject I went up for.
Like I said, maybe I expected too low and was caught surprised, maybe I paid too little for the hotel rate to expect too much(I calculated I've paid about $69~79/night through priceline air+hotel package- total price for both of us for this 3days trip was about $540) I stayed at Sagamore hotel just a month prior to this trip with few hundreds of dollars more, but for the next trip, I'd rather stay Catalina again considering overall pros and cons. (Free airport shuttle saves even more $$) Catalina successfully lives up to its star rating or should be rated maybe 1/2 star higher.
The only thing I would say that I didn't like was how much the water leaked out of the shower onto the bathroom floor-which used up at least one towel/day to soak it up) and having to have to cross a street to get to the beach from the hotel. Other than these two, it was superb experience at the Catalina hotel.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — water splashing onto bathroom floor from shower
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ssossong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2008

I stayed at the Catalina this past weekend with a few friends for a girls weekend getaway. The service at this Hotel is terrible.
Our A/C was not working and we complained a few times and no one did anything. They finally provided us with some cheap fan the day before we left. There were no dressers to put your clothes and the closet space was about 1 inch wide. The food at the restaurant was way over priced and so where the drinks by the pool. The roof top pool looked as if it had never been cleaned.
We had to wear flip flops in the shower..that is how dirty it was.
The staff was rude and the music was always blaring so we were never able to sleep. Our bathroom did not have a window and the remote for the t.v. stopped working. I guess they don't bother to change the batteries very often. You do get what you pay for so spend a little more money and stay at a better hotel.
This place is better for young kids who are drinking all the time and are too drunk to notice the faults of the hotel. I am not a picky person but this was a little much for me. I feel like I should go to the doctor and get some sort of shots after staying at this dirty, germ infested place.

  • Liked — Nothing
  • Disliked — Everything
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank michs729
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

first off let me say that i pricelined and got this hotel. i was horrified because i'd literally just read several bad reviews. i figured what the heck they've already taken the money out. i went and enjoyed this hotel. i have no idea why it gets such bad reviews.

catalina is located on collins between 17th and 18th. seems like most of the "good" clubs pick up about 13th or so and run south from there. cab ride back to the hotel cost me $5. on either side of the hotel sits the maxine and dorchester hotels. i dont know if all 3 are owned by the same people but i had access to everything in each. the extras of the other other hotels adds to the experience so i'll add a few deatils on them also. the dorchester has a suishi bar in the lobby and a rooftop pool and bar. a vodka and crandberry set me back $13 (standard for south beach). 12 ounce can of soda was $4 and bottled water was $6.

the maxine has a restaurant/ bar in the lobby. look towards the back and you can see the entrance to the pool.

when you check in they'll explain all the amenities available. half way through the "spill" i just smiled. seemed like so much stuff.

go to the maxine pool and get a pass. walk to 18th (2minutes) cross collins and 150 yards you're on the sand. the catalina section is just barely to the right with the red umbrellas. the pass gets you 2 chairs(with pads) and umbrellas. all the stuff and towels have to be turned in by 6 or they charge you for it. speaking of charge. the valet is $32 per night. that seemed excessive.

happy hour. ah, happy hour. its from 7-8pm. most people congregated during this time. it was a great way to meet people, or catch up and swap stories with people you've already met. i met people from NYC, isreal, turkey, sweden, detroit, jersey, even someone in TN 3 hours from me. danny kept the drinks coming fast and strong. i wont say how many i had....lol.... but say you but have 3 (vodka and crandberry). you just saved $40.

  • Liked — great value for price paid, happy hour
  • Disliked — $32 for valet
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LR72202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2008

My flight was delayed - so I called the hotel and spoke to Diana who assured me they wouldn't give away my room becuase I would be late.

Guess what! I arrived in South Beach at 4AM and they had given away my room! And it was paid in full for four nights!

They tried to find me a room in another hotel - and at 5AM wanted to put me at the Surfcomber - no thanks.

I went to the FontaineBleau - who after hearing my story - comped my first night!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mordrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newfoundland and Labrador
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2008

Loved this place!!! Rooms are cool and comfy ( not good for kids though). Only problem was no free internet access and parking! Great value hotel and so close to beach and great shopping! Loved the music at this hotel!

  • Liked — Great rooms
  • Disliked — Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alicat63_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#74 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,190 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Hotel Croydon
#48 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#89 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,129 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#57 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,353 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#39 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Property: Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing