We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #91 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 7 May 2014

After reading reviews I was not sure what to expect. I paid a little extra at check in ($50 for 3 days) for an upgrade. My room was clean and well maintained & clean. It's an older hotel which made it quaint. I was right in the heart of everything with the beach just a block away. Shopping and restaurants were right outside my door. There was live music (pleasant) playing at the sushi bar & lounge right outside my window which opens. Staff was courteous and prompt. The rooftop pool and lounge area was cute. I would stay here again.

I had two negative experiences:
When I arrived the valet was rude and hotel staff had to go talk to him.
While the rooftop pool is cute it was dirty. There were beds but every one of the covers looked like they needed to be washed and there were things floating in the water. I did not stay to enjoy the area because of it.

Two more thing to be aware of: parking is a premium. Valet is $35. I parked my vehicle in a garage about 4 blocks away for $16/day and just walked. There are buses and cabs as well.
Hotels in this area charge a "resort fee" of $15/day. This is non-negotiable and above and beyond anything else you have paid.

Room Tip: Might be worth paying for an upgrade. Ask for a room with a view
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

Hello there Vicki S,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us and all of our future guests! I am glad to know that your time with us was a great one! Our team works hard to make sure that everything is clean and well maintained. I will definitely share your comment regarding the rooftop pool to our Director of Housekeeping. We do offer valet parking for $35 per night, it is not mandatory. Parking can be a bit of a hassle sometimes on South Beach so valet parking is very convenient. We do indeed charge a resort fee of $15 per night. This includes all of the amenities that our guests love to enjoy- R/T airport shuttle, cocktail hour from 7-8pm, WiFi, beach cruiser bikes, beach chairs and towels at our beach club.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,684)
There are newer reviews for Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,988 - 1,994 of 4,684 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

I just loved this place...
Everything is near by,great location, a minute from everywhere,shops,beach,bars restaurants...
Room is spacious and clean. .
Whole staff was pleasant and helpful but Nenad make this short trip the best is possible.
He had some great recommendation for bars and restaurants that we just loved that...
Thanks again for taking care of us and hopefully we will see you soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pedjakeywest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Good Afternoon pedjakeywest,

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing it with us, and all of our future guests! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the action that takes place here. Our rooms are spacious and our housekeepers work hard to keep them tidy, at all times. Nenad is wonderful and I will pass on your lovely praise! We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This hotel was really nice. The rooms were comfortable (great beds!) and the bathrooms lovely too. The hotel was very noisy (base music was on from 6am - which is fine if this is what you are looking for!). Service was generally very good (although at times it felt like everyone was desparate to help so they could get a tip!)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nph32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Good Day nph32,

We value all of our guests feedback and we are delighted to read that you had a good time here. We only use the bed mattress- Tempur Pedic. I will make sure that the managers are all aware of your comment regarding the music. It is completely unacceptable that we have loud base music at 6AM. I will make sure that this never happens again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here this last weekend for my best friends bachelorette and had a great time. The concierge Juan hooked us up woth some great bachelorette deals last minute that worked out fabulously. The whole staff looked out for us all weekend and it was much appeciated. Highly recommend for an inexpensive bachelorette in the heart of south beach.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bbchic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Hello there bbchic1,

Thank you so much for taking your time to post your feedback for all of our guests to read! We are delighted to know that you stayed with us, to celebrate such a lovely occasion! Juan is absolutely wonderful. I will make sure that he is aware of your kind praise! Please come back again for another memorable time!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Great hotel located short distance from Lincoln street amazing shopping experience and short distance from ocean drive. Everything is at your reach but yet not in the middle of all the chaos. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PrincesaToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello PrincesaToronto,

We value all of our guests feedback and we are glad to know that you had a great time! We are located in the heart of South Beach, just blocks away from all the hot spots. We hope that you would choose to stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

So we needed to book a room for an extra day and foind this jewel right off of Ocean drive. The price was very reasonable and the stay came with 1 hour free open bar, free beach chairs and robes.....the staff was great and check in was quick and easy. We would definitely stay again....

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Victoria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Good Afternoon Victoria A,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests. We offer unbeatable prices, for a room in the heart of South Beach. We also provide all guests with great money saving amenities. We can't wait to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Really charming hotel just 1 block from the beach.Friendly and helpfull staff,the guy from the front desk Nenad was just great.They have a sushi restaurent in the lobby.Good value for money! Strongly recommend this place.Will stay here again.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Malo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Hello there Malo P,

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! We are extremely glad to know that your time here was a great one! We are located just a 2 minute walk from the beach, and from many other attractions as well. Nenad is absolutely great and I will make sure to pass on your feedback! We offer unbeatable prices here at The Catalina Hotel. Please come back again soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#76 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,278 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,936 reviews
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#70 of 210 in Miami Beach
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £74 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing