We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #89 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 22 August 2014

The service was amazing, the location was amazing and the people we met were amazing! The bartender(s): Amit/Chloe were wonderful! The concierge Tyrell was just as wonderful. All of the other staff did their best to accommodate us and make sure we had a great experience! The front desk staff was great as well, cannot really remember all of their names but Rudy was great! The housekeeping staff kept our room so tidy and clean. Not enough good things to say about this hotel, such a good place to meet all different types of people, beginning with the free happy hour from 7-8pm. Can't wait to plan another trip here again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agsantos93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Good Day agsantos93,

We are delighted to read your feedback, and thank you for sharing yours with us! Customer service means the world to us We are glad that you were able to experience that first hand! I will definitely make sure to share this praise with the mentioned team. I see that you were able to take advantage of the complimentary cocktail hour. It's a perfect time to mingle around and get to know your temporary neighbors. We look forward in having you stay with us again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,958 - 1,964 of 4,758 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

We had two rough nights and two good ones here. Our daughter said it best: this place is run by nice people who don't have a clue. First nights found us in the Catalina...worn and tired. Plumbing problem got us an upgrade to maxine. Don't let odd hallway odor deter...nice rooms. Overall thoughts: rooftop Dorset pool, is fab. Fung Ku sushi pan asian thing was really good. Free happy hour great. Maxine's breakfast good. Staff sweet. Decor warn. Crowd young and fun. Location unbeatable. Front desk nice but stressed. Valet situation terrible...park yourself at Collins and 16th.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank pluffmother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Good Day pluffmother,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! Our team all work hard to make sure that everyone is having a splendid time! I am glad that we were able to accommodate you with a room in the Maxine building, due to the plumbing issue in your room. I see that you were able to dine at both of our restaurants. They serve delicious food and Maxine's is open 24/7 to satisfy your late night munchies. :) We hope to have you stay with us again in the future!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at the Catalina Hotel and Beach Club and it was fantastic! It was in walking distance from everything and if you didn't want to walk, the free bike rentals were always available and lots of fun. Our concierge was the best! Tyrell Yeaby was always accommodating to our every wish. He directed us to all the great places that South Beach has to offer. He even set us up on a tour that we thoroughly enjoyed! At the door, and always with a smile was Domich. Very nice man! On our down time, Joe and JC would take us cruising around in the electric car that is always available to the hotel guests! Our room was always clean and everyone there was helpful and courteous. The bamboo pool was extremely exhilarating especially during the very hot August month. The roof top pool was fun but if you didn't buy bottle service, the tanning beds were not available to you. That was the only downfall to the Catalina. If ever you are visiting South Beach Miami, I suggest you stay at the Catalina. Heck! If you go, tell them I sent ya and that I said Hi!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

What a fabulous review Lynn W!! We are delighted to read that you had such a great time here with us! The Catalina Hotel is just blocks from all the hottest spots. We offer complimentary bikes, WiFi, beach chairs and towels and much more! Our team are all hard workers and want all of our guests to have a splendid time! I am glad that you were able to experience that! Please come back again soon! We would love to have you!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

What makes this trip most memorable is the excellent service from the concierge Tyrell and JP, bartender Amit, and front desk Christian. They went above and beyond to help us enjoy our trip. Our room in the Maxine building was nice but smelled terrible and it was not the carpet as they say it smelled like mold, vomit, and rotting cheese. The smell is even outside of the building. We did get moved but our room was very noisy in the main building. The beach club was nice but the umbrellas are not included which is unfortunate. At the end of our trip we were given the wrong information about the shuttle back by Tomic which caused us to rush to get ready early only to be told there wasn't enough room. Do not rely on this guy to help with the shuttle. Front desk staff is more helpful in that aspect and have the correct info. The mini bar manager was also very rude when we used our cooler for our own water. Make sure to call to have him take it out so you don't get attitude from him. To sum it up JP, Tyrell, Amit, and Christian made the experience wonderful but probably won't come back.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SarahhCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Good Afternoon SarahhCP,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We really appreciate your taking the time to write and highlight our attentive team as a high point of your stay – especially our wonderful Tyrell, JP, Amit and Christian. We are so fortunate to have team members like them who genuinely care about each and every guest. We are currently working on changing the carpeting. We are taking sections at a time so that we do not inconvenience our guests. I am delighted to know that you were able to switch your room. I will make sure that all of our team is aware of the shuttle information. Tomic has been working here for years and the shuttle schedule has never changed. I would love for you to give us another chance. I would love to personally handle your reservation, and make sure that your time spent with us is fantastic! Please let me know when you will be in Miami again!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

The room was small, too much furnishings, dark and musty. Bad smell in restaurant and pool area (stagnant water). Staff was somewhat arrogant. We had rain storm which caused leak in window and puddles on floor. Called front desk and never had anyone follow up even after 3 hrs. Used towels to mop floor and keep windows dry all day. Maxines was good place to eat but be aware of 18% service fee which we were not informed of (verbally or in writing). Pool was best part of stay. Unfortunately, it rained. Don't think we'll be back; disappointed.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalba S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Hello there Rosalba S,

We are terribly sorry that you did not have a 5 star time here with us! Our rooms are smaller then your average hotel rooms, as we are a boutique hotel. We do offer rooms that are larger in size, for those guests who want more space. Our Living Large rooms are 245 sq ft, and our El Grande rooms are 280 sq ft. We strive to provide outstanding service so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! We do charge guests a service fee when dining at our restaurants. It is not mandatory you pay this though. You can simply cross it out, and place what you feel is desired. I wish that you would provide us with another chance. We would love to make sure that your time spent with us is an all-out success!! Please contact me directly and I would love to personally handle your reservation!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We had an amazing experience at the Catalina Hotel & Beach Club for our friend's bachelorette weekend celebration. Tyrell, JP, and Fred really rolled out the red carpet for our group. Tyrell especially showed us a fantastic time, accommodating our every need and making sure we had the best of plans locked down each night. I think everyone in our group would return, I know I certainly will. The location, restaurants, ambiance, and most importantly the staff were all great and made the trip so special. Thank you!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

There is nothing that we love to read more then wonderful 5 star feedback! Thank you for sharing yours with us Margaret M!!! We are stoked to read that you and the girls chose to stay with us for such a lovely occasion! :) Our team all worked hard to make sure that you and the girls had a memorable time! We would love to host your next visit to Miami!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

A couple friends and I stayed at the Catalina for a week. Best vacation I have ever taken. Location is amazing. Roof top pool was very unique. The best service we had was the bartender, Andre Chirinos. He was so friendly and helpful. He even remembered all of us just passing through. Informed us of the best clubs and of different things we could do around the area. We went to the bar every night when he was working. He’s a good time and fantastic at his job. Definitely made the stay that much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AmandaEads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

What a killer review AmandaEads!! Thank you for sharing it with us and all of our future guests! The location of our property is definitely prime. We are just blocks from pretty much everything. The rooftop pool is a lovely space. Perfect to hangout and grab a cocktail, and soak up the summer sun! You are absolutely right – Andre knows everything there is to know about South Beach and will show you a Kanye-good time. Please let us know when you will be back and we will be sure to roll out our red carpet once again.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,334 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#56 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#86 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,376 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#47 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,004 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £77 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Splitty, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing