We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
Ranked #90 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Walking into the hotel, the rooms were a little small but enough for 2 people. There wasn't a lot of storage space but the place was clean and well maintained.

Complimentary sun loungers and towels were provided and the beach was only a 2 minute walk away. The hotel was perfectly situated, being outside the main streets of shops and bars but not so far that you couldn't get anywhere. Everything was roughly a 5-10 minute walk away.

Hotel staff were happy to help with any problems or questions, and free happy hour was certainly a bonus!

Both restaurants were reasonably priced, although the sushi bar served smaller portions than expected.

Overall a good stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Althea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Good Day Althea S,

We appreciate the time you took to share your feedback with us! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are a bit smaller then your average hotel room. We offer rooms that are larger in size for those guests who need more space. Our Living Large room is 245 sq ft, and our El Grande room is 280 sq ft. I see that you were able to take advantage of the lovely amenities that we offer. We would love to welcome you back again soon!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 4,719 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

I chose to book this hotel for the dates of August 25th-27th, 2014 based on the location and all of the advertised "free amenities" that were supposedly provided by the hotel including, free in-room internet, hotel shuttle, pool towels, etc. However, as soon as I arrived at the hotel, part of the check-in process was having to pay an extra $15.00 per night plus 13% tax for a "nightly hotel fee" for the entire duration of the stay (for me this came to ### charged to my Visa before I could even spend one minute in my room. Upon contesting this charge, I was told that it would not be refunded. When I asked what it was even for, they told me it was to pay for the amenities which came with the room -- the free advertised amenities. Sadly, this fee is charged to you even if you do not use the amenities. The only one I tried to use was the in-room wireless internet, which only worked for one night and was hardly worth $###. I feel like this is false advertising on the part of the hotel, which advertises it's amenities as free, but then makes you pay for all of them, even if you don't use them at all or if they even work, and this is charged to you before you are allowed into the hotel room. This hotel chain is completely ripping off customers and is falsely advertising its services.

Other than ripping off it's customers, the "free" shuttle bus that is supposed to take you to the airport is terrible. It is shared by 40 other hotels, so don't expect to make your flight. My bathroom smelled like sewer gas the whole time and you were lucky to get hot water. The internet worked the last night I was there only.

I would never stay here again, nor would I recommend it to anyone ever. I am sure that all of the other hotels owned by this beach hotel group are just as crappy.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Cstoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Hello there Cstoos,

We value each and every one of our guests feedback and apologize that your time spent with us, was not a picture perfect one! We charge a resort fee of $15 per night for the amenities that you get to enjoy. This is clearly stated on our site, and all of our third party sites as well. I apologize that you were not aware of this prior to placing your reservation. We regret to read that your stay was less then enjoyable!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent from start to finish! Jean checked us in and was extremely professional and kind. Hotel ambiance was awesome, great music during the free happy hour, rooftop pool was AmAzInG!! Rooms were great, would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayab09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

There is nothing that we like to read more then wonderful 5 star review!! Thank you for sharing yours with us Mayab09!! We are so stoked to know that the time you spent with us was absolutely amazing! Our team do a great job in making sure that everyone is having a great time! Please come back to The Catalina Hotel for another memorable time!

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

The room we were given was ridiculously tiny (couldn't wheel my medium case into the room past the bed) and reeked of mould. The faux leather beds were tacky to touch and badly scuffed. There was a hair in my bed when I turned down the covers which wasn't mine. The hotel sits on top of 3 bars which wasn't mentioned anywhere. The noise was unbearable but thankfully distracted me from the fact that I could hear every noise from the room next door. The night staff were rude and unhelpful. Flatly refusing to move us. Thankfully the day staff were more helpful. We weren't the only people unhappy there were 4 Others ahead of me complaining about the smell of mould. The common areas were equally bad sticky and smelly. All of which was made worse by the dark decor in the Maxine building. Overall it was not value for money. The free shuttle bus had no aircon and was over 30 degrees!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Jnw7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2014

Hello there Jnw7,

We value each and every one of our guests feedback, and would like to thank you for sharing yours with us! We are terribly sorry that your time spent with us was not a 5 star one! We are indeed a boutique hotel therefore our rooms are smaller then your average hotel room. We do offer rooms that are larger in size, for those guests who need more space. Our Living Large room is 245 sq ft, and our El Grande room is 280 sq ft. Customer service means everything to us, so it pains us to read that is not what you experienced! I will definitely make sure to share this feedback with the General Manager and Director of Housekeeping. We will work to correct the grey areas that you mentioned.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I recently stayed at Catalina for my best friend's Bachelorette party. We booked our rooms several months in advance, and were excited about all that was advertised on the website... happy hours, free shuttle, bikes, free beachside chairs, etc. etc. etc. The guy who helped us book our rooms was very friendly and helpful via email and all was good to go. We had 6 girls on our trip and we all split up into 2 different rooms. Upon arrival we quickly realized that the sizes of the rooms were MUCH smaller than anyone expected. I honestly think our room was the same size as my first dorm room in college. The decor was cute and everything was clean, but that was only the beginning. The next day, a massive rainstorm blew through out of nowhere and one of our rooms started leaking water through the window. I fully understand that this is a historic hotel and not a Ritz Carlton, but the room quickly transformed from a comfortable AC controlled environment to a intolerable rainforest of humidity. We had decorated the rooms for the Bachelorette celebrations and our streamers became soggy and fell to the ground from the water leaking into the room (sad face). We immediately called the front desk and were told someone would be up to assess the issue. After many hours and a few more calls later, we were given towels to clean up the water ourselves and that was IT - no apologies and no compensating us for this total inconvenience. Later that night, one of the girls went downstairs to speak with someone because we were all so frustrated that no one on the staff seemed to care. We were given a voucher to use at the restaurant downstairs. Nice right? Sure. A couple of the girls went down the next morning to grab some food and use part of the voucher, but were then told that the voucher had to be used all at once. There is no such thing as a "remaining balance" on these wonderful vouchers which makes NO SENSE. It's like being given a gift card that you can only use all at once. So basically, they used like $30 of our voucher and the rest was just thrown away. Following our frustration with the rain leaking, one of the girl's had a phone charger completely disappear. Nothing more to say about that. Furthermore, the staff handling the beach chairs were completely rude and told us to "move the chairs yourself!"... we never saw the wonderful, mystery bikes for rent... or had the complimentary happy hour on the rooftop (because no one / nothing was on the roof when we went up there), etc. etc. etc. The list could really go on with this place. To sum it up, the ONLY good thing about this hotel was the location and that really doesn't go far when there are tons of other cute, historical options up and down this street. It's time to step it up, Catalina. All of us agreed that we would have rather stayed in a less convenient location for better service.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MadsMcDaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This will be a property I will never stay at again. It is older and you can tell they tried to renovate some parts but it needs a full gutting. They lobby smells horrible. Almost like a mildew smell that I am not used to smelling. You have to walk through the dining room area to get to your room and the bar area smells the worse with the humidity. The shower was leaking..maybe because the shower curtain was missing. And of course we saw 2 roaches. It just wasn't what I expected. the pictures were deceiving in regards to the room. The carpets looked like they haven't been cleaned in years, especially the carpets in the elevator.

One cool thing - The party promoters they were always around with some great deals and I liked the free 1 hour happy hour that came with the bachelorette package.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank StephanieC799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Hello there Stephanie C,

We value all of our guests feedback, and we thank you for sharing yours with us! We are terribly sorry that you did not have an outstanding time here at The Catalina Hotel! We are indeed a historic Art Deco building. We chose to keep some of the things unchanged in order to highlight this history. I will absolutely make sure that our General Manager, and Director of Housekeeping are aware of your comments. We will work to make sure that they don't happen again! I hope we have the chance to welcome you back so you may reap the benefits of our continuous improvements here at The Catalina Hotel! I would love to personally handle your reservation, and make sure your time spent with us is an all-out success!

Katrine .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

LOVED THE HOTEL, But as a marriott employee i guess my standards might be high. Everything about the hotel was great, food, pool, location, and the rooms. But if your in need of some guidance dont bother to ask anyone in the hotel, as they are quite rude, tired, and very unwelcoming. So if you need to figure something out, i suggest do it on your own.

Room Tip: corner rooms are great in this place, dont stay in the building where you check in.. not good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alinur586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBG_GuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Catalina Hotel & Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2014

Good Afternoon alinur586,

Thank you for taking your time to share your feedback with us, and all of our future guests! We strive to provide outstanding service, so it pains us to read that is not what you were given! Despite the negative service I am glad that you were able to enjoy the amenities that we offer, location and your room.

Katrine

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Chesterfield Hotel
#72 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,291 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,317 reviews
Hotel Croydon
#46 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,977 reviews
City Center
Gale South Beach
Gale South Beach
#53 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Catalina Hotel & Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Catalina Hotel & Beach Club

Address: 1732 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#58 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £63 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Catalina Hotel & Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 190
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Catalina Hotel + Beach Club is all of this and more. With a decidedly European jet-set vibe and a splashy beach club where you can get poolside manicures and pedicures, the Catalina Hotel + Beach Club also offers two restaurants, two pools, four bars, a media library, a rooftop terrace, a Japanese Koi fish pond and a Zen garden. In addition, the hotel boasts a dedicated library, which can serve as a meeting space for small groups. IMPORTANT -- Credit card used for booking must be the same credit card presented for payment at check-in. The name on the credit card must match the name on the reservation and the card holder must be present along with a government-issued photo ID. Holiday and Special Events require a non-refundable prepayment 30 days prior to arrival. No early departures are allowed. Reservations are completely non-refundable within 30 days of arrival. Events include but are not limited to: New Years (12/26 to 1/3), Boat Show (2/12 to 2/16), Winter Music Conference & Ultra (3/15 to 3/31), Memorial Day (5/21 to 5/25) & Art Basel (12/3 to 12/9). A mandatory daily resort fee of $20.00 plus tax ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Catalina Hotel & Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Catalina Hotel And Beach Club
Catalina Hotel Miami
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing