We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #165 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good Location”
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great location, right on Ocean Drive, lots of life and beautiful cars cruisibg the drive from around 16.00 till 05.00, pretty noisy to sleep, we had an Ocean Front Suite with the best views, water taps the wrong way round? caused a bit if confusion, Clerk mostly asleep during the mornings. Big drinks, big bills. The restaurant below the hotel is separately run, very bad value, go back from the Drive two blocks for good food at much better prices.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    231
    271
    251
    145
    176
See reviews for
153
398
65
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Ok, at the very least you would expect from a hotel room is to be able to get a shower....right? Um...not so fast...not here. Faucet was broken, no scald gard, extreme hot water only. So no shower for any of us for our stay. Not acceptable. Room was small with a view of an alley with bars on the windows. I know it's south beach, but if you want to sleep forget it. Loud, Loud, Loud. Partying going on upstairs, next door and on the streets. One of the more annoying things is the level of harassment you get when you walk out the door. The street side attached restaurant girls attack you when you walk out the door trying to get you for breakfast. Everywhere on the strip is someone attacking you trying to get you to buy wicked expensive food and drinks. Don't be suckered into buying one of the frozen drinks with the two corona's in it unless you plan to spend 55$ for it plus tax and gratuity which was already added in. You get one dam drink and they automatically add 18% gratuity to your drink, b/c they know people aren't going to tip 12 bucks for the thing....just not fair. This hotel was horrible for the value and general quality was horrible as well.....oh I forgot to mention service at the front desk was very hit or miss....one was ok and the other didn't even respond to me 2x when I asked him when check out was. Move along, this one is not worth staying at....like someone else posted...looks better on the outside!

Room Tip: Don't stay here...you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fpc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Colony Hotel is an Art Deco icon on South Beach's Ocean Drive and is ideal for travelers interested in saving money on lodging who doesn't plan to spend much time in their room.

The small boutique hotel's neon display provides the perfect backdrop to many nightlife photos making it instantly recognizable. So were you a little surprised when you found rates as low as $99 per night in peak season? While at a great value, the hotel can be underwhelming to travelers accustomed to well-known chains. The rooms were clean but very outdated. In Art Deco fashion, the hotel featured platform beds (aka low to the floor). There is a café onsite, ac in the rooms and beach towels available at the front desk. Otherwise, the most desirable accommodation - you'll be located in the heart of South Beach!

Room Tip: Travelers with accessibility needs should consult the front desk prior to booking. Small elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived, handed car keys to Valet Parking, waited momentarily to check in.
Loud and vibrant out front but quiet in our room up on third floor. Clean and modern room, same for bathroom. Toiletries included, nice touch.
We were looking forward to our stay and so far, not disappointed.
Close to the beach, shops, clubs and eating establishments for all tastes.
Would I stay here again?
Yes!!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakeworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joinville, SC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We had problems just after checkin, the room that the recepcionist gave us the key was still occupied so we have to go back to reception, wait longer to get another room. The room was ok, good bed, good shower and air conditioning worked fine. Vallet is 22USD per day, cheaper than we paid to park on Collins Avenue. I would stay there again, no worries after all. Good location, a little bit too busy if you are looking for quite place to relax.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EduP2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Pros:
Excellent location, could not be better. On the beach in the middle of glorious south beach.
Decent sized room with fridge and flat screen TV. Modern decor and pleasant on the eye.
Looked and smelled clean.
Friendly staff.
Air con that works. But sadly not able to open windows. No fresh air.
Free WIFI in the room.
Modern shower and toilet.
Complimentary towel to take to beach.
Great shampoo, soap, conditioner etc, all included in the price.
Very friendly bar/restaurant . Lovely Italian guy that runs the place.
First reaction was that I was pleased, considering it is just two and a half stars.

Cons:
Not one but two cockroaches on the floor (that we saw, probably many more) One huge. Wood floor is the same colour as cockroaches, not a coinsadence, I am sure. To the hotels credit I called reception immediately and he told us to leave the room for 45 minutes so that they could spray the room and they did. We were eating pizza at the time and food does attract the little (big) buggers. They did the best they could do under the circumstances. But we are from Iceland and have never seen the little devils and it was not a pleasant experience. Not pleasant at all. Apparently there is a cockroach problem in Miami, we were told.

Impossible to open windows. No fresh air.

Loud. Loud music and people talking outside. Well duh, I guess, as it is in the middle of Ocean Drive. Bring ear plugs!!

Toilet got blocked Reception sent up a maintenance man immediately. It took less than five minutes to rectify. Not really a problem

Bed and mattress are of very low quality. Uncomfortable and linen is cheap. OK if you are on spring break and or under thirty.

All in all I would have been very pleased with the hotel, as it is a 2 1/2 star and the price was great. BUT the cockroaches are UN-forgettable and still haunt me in my nightmares. One of the most disgusting experiences of my life.
I have stayed at many 2 1/2 star hotels in FLA and not had a problem with cockroaches or uncomfortable beds.
For a budget traveler, if you don't mind the occasional cockroach, this is the place to go to for value for money.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Elísabet J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

I stayed at the Colony December 16 and departed on December 19. I paid for my room through Hotels.com (another story) and have the receipt. On December 18th the Colony charged me $277.14 for no reason. They deny it.I have it in black and white from my bank. I have been treated like I was trying to get monies that don't belong to me. Nothing is further from the truth. I have stayed at the Colony many times and always found them to be very courteous and nice. I am a 75 year old widow who is not a problem maker. I mind my own business and am not a confrontational sort. However, get me going and I will pursue this. I have not had problems in the past with this hotel, I just want my money returned to me.Hotels.com has lost me and anyone who will listen to me as customers. Their treatment has been horrific.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 75arlene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#190 of 208 in Miami Beach
760 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#173 of 208 in Miami Beach
522 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#116 of 208 in Miami Beach
863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
856 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,167 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#56 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#108 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach
The Colony Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing