We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay in an Architectural Gem”
Review of The Colony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Colony Hotel
Ranked #172 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Stay in an Architectural Gem”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

For someone with an interest in art deco architecture, it was a pleasure to stay here (and help pay for the preservation of the building). Hotel is a gem, but it is not modern. In talking to the desk clerk, found out there are regulations preventing any changes that would affect character of the building - which I was glad to hear. I had reservations about staying in a hotel almost 90 years old, but I saw no evidence of bugs and the hotel was clean. Bathroom was small - but that is the way things were 90 years ago. The beds creaked, not sure why, but that did not impede my sleep. Location on the "art deco" strip was wonderful. My first time to South Beach, but not my last!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddie N, Guest Relations Manager at The Colony Hotel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the architecture as this is a great part of the charm in our hotel. While we do make continuous changes and upgrades to the rooms, we are indeed restricted by just how much we can change due to the historical nature of our hotel. We hope you will choose the Colony again during your next visit.

Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,062 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    269
    249
    144
    174
See reviews for
150
394
65
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Colony for a weekend prior to going on a cruise with our family. We had never been to Miami and wanted to have the South Beach experience. The location was great ! We took an art deco walking tour which was very fun and interesting. The hotel was in the heart of South Beach which was great. The hotel rooms are small and the service at the hotel was nothing to write home about. I felt the value was pretty good, mainly because where the hotel is located. We did not buy a drink or eat there but most of the bars and restaurant's alcohol prices were crazy expensive. We did get sucked into buying one of those big 45.00 to 55.00 dollars drinks which is really crazy. We had a good time and enjoyed the experience.

Room Tip: Does not matter what room because they are going to give you what they want!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Irish4052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

The location is good I will say. My husband who is italian enjoyed the friendly staff and they could converse in his native language. The room had an odd odor. I'm not sure if it is the cleaning solution or a particular spray but it wasn't pleasant. We had a room on the first floor and in the front of the hotel. It was very noises and the air conditioner was loud. We had to turn it off to try and get some sleep. The BED!!-atrocious. Hole in the middle of the mattress and the bed creaked every time you turned or moved. The toilet would also run during the night. I would not stay at this hotel and would pay some extra money for a nicer one down the street. Oh I had to kill a few flying gnats. Not a good experience.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LisaDig12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014 via mobile

Great location, right on Ocean Drive, lots of life and beautiful cars cruisibg the drive from around 16.00 till 05.00, pretty noisy to sleep, we had an Ocean Front Suite with the best views, water taps the wrong way round? caused a bit if confusion, Clerk mostly asleep during the mornings. Big drinks, big bills. The restaurant below the hotel is separately run, very bad value, go back from the Drive two blocks for good food at much better prices.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Ok, at the very least you would expect from a hotel room is to be able to get a shower....right? Um...not so fast...not here. Faucet was broken, no scald gard, extreme hot water only. So no shower for any of us for our stay. Not acceptable. Room was small with a view of an alley with bars on the windows. I know it's south beach, but if you want to sleep forget it. Loud, Loud, Loud. Partying going on upstairs, next door and on the streets. One of the more annoying things is the level of harassment you get when you walk out the door. The street side attached restaurant girls attack you when you walk out the door trying to get you for breakfast. Everywhere on the strip is someone attacking you trying to get you to buy wicked expensive food and drinks. Don't be suckered into buying one of the frozen drinks with the two corona's in it unless you plan to spend 55$ for it plus tax and gratuity which was already added in. You get one dam drink and they automatically add 18% gratuity to your drink, b/c they know people aren't going to tip 12 bucks for the thing....just not fair. This hotel was horrible for the value and general quality was horrible as well.....oh I forgot to mention service at the front desk was very hit or miss....one was ok and the other didn't even respond to me 2x when I asked him when check out was. Move along, this one is not worth staying at....like someone else posted...looks better on the outside!

Room Tip: Don't stay here...you have been warned!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fpc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The Colony Hotel is an Art Deco icon on South Beach's Ocean Drive and is ideal for travelers interested in saving money on lodging who doesn't plan to spend much time in their room.

The small boutique hotel's neon display provides the perfect backdrop to many nightlife photos making it instantly recognizable. So were you a little surprised when you found rates as low as $99 per night in peak season? While at a great value, the hotel can be underwhelming to travelers accustomed to well-known chains. The rooms were clean but very outdated. In Art Deco fashion, the hotel featured platform beds (aka low to the floor). There is a café onsite, ac in the rooms and beach towels available at the front desk. Otherwise, the most desirable accommodation - you'll be located in the heart of South Beach!

Room Tip: Travelers with accessibility needs should consult the front desk prior to booking. Small elevators...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Victoria M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Arrived, handed car keys to Valet Parking, waited momentarily to check in.
Loud and vibrant out front but quiet in our room up on third floor. Clean and modern room, same for bathroom. Toiletries included, nice touch.
We were looking forward to our stay and so far, not disappointed.
Close to the beach, shops, clubs and eating establishments for all tastes.
Would I stay here again?
Yes!!!!!!!!!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Lakeworth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Majestic Hotel South Beach
Majestic Hotel South Beach
#189 of 208 in Miami Beach
751 reviews
0.0 mi away
Starlite Hotel
Starlite Hotel
#173 of 208 in Miami Beach
519 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,029 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kent Hotel
The Kent Hotel
#117 of 208 in Miami Beach
854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel

Property: The Colony Hotel
Address: 736 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#111 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Colony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most photographed Art Deco hotels along famed South Beach, The Colony Hotel is a renovated 1939 hotel that offers an intoxicating ambiance and fun in the sun for guests who just want to get away to relax and enjoy all that Miami Beach has to offer. Guests are within walking distance to South Beach boutique shops, restaurants, nightclubs, salon/spas, other world-famous sites like the former Versace Mansion and much more. We cater to visitors looking to escape the structured corporate environment and the vacationer who wants to come to relax and enjoy sun-filled days and fun filled nights. Everything that people enjoy about South Beach is literally at the doorstep of the Colony Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Colony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Colony Hotel Miami Beach
Colony Miami Beach
The Colony Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing