We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretentious for plastic people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pretentious for plastic people”
Reviewed 21 March 2008

A very "cool" hotel but in my opinion the staff are there to assist rather than look down their noses at the guests who, after all, paying their wages.

The rooms were small (normal for SoBe) and very basic - certainly not luxurious but fit for purpose.

The plastic people around the pool drinking champagne and flashing their "bling" were frankly annoying - there was no ambience - no-one seemed to relax!

The spoilt teenagers ordering lobster and champagne on the beach was also a little over the top.

I like nice things and appreciate good design but the place felt very false - perfect for the "IT" crowd I imagine.

Hotel good for the nosiness factor and location is perfect but there are better places to stay for the cash (which isn't an insignificant amount).

  • Liked — The hotel design was very cool
  • Disliked — Plastic people (particularly the staff)
  • Stayed April 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Undertheoaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    596
    249
    155
    126
See reviews for
289
1,069
139
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
fairhope, alabama
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2008

Just returned from one of many visits to the Delano.

Every aspect of our stay was absolutely perfect. The wonderful staff truly make you feel like pampered royalty but somehow like family.

Diego, Steven, and Jesus continue to be amazing but it would be wrong to just single them out. We have never been treated so wonderfully by just every single person at a hotel.

The rooms, beds, service and food are just all first class. The management just continues to do an incredible job. Thank you so much for another great week of fun and memories.

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vamonos99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2008

In order to choose a hotel for my trip to Miami, I read all the reviews here about the 4-5 star hotels there and finally decided to bite the 800$/night bullet and try The Delano.
The first impression was great. An elegant, very hip interior, good looking staff and guests with expensive handbags!
Even the room, all white, was a nice surprise. But then it was downhill from there!
The bathroom was tiny for any motel, let alone a 5* luxury hotel. one person could hardly fit in it! on multiple occasions there was hair on the fresh towels. The carpet in the hallway was stained and very cheep, no relation to the expensive designer lobby!
The pool area was nice and relaxing with good music and service. the staff were in general helpful and nice.
The sushi at the restaurant was so so but since 20 people were sharing a table, we met some interesting people.
Oh, and I got a nice manicure at the spa by the charming and nice Norma and that was reasonably priced.
All together worth going there for 200$/n but never for 800$!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank NinaMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2008

Did not stay at the hotel, simply "went for a drink".
On the Tuesday evening we could not get in, queue probably 50 strong, and well we just did not look like the the beautiful people at the front of the line. It turns out Tuesday is party night.
We did not give up, came a little earlier on Wednesday, very quiet... but absolutely sensational design, minimal, sexy, great attn to details, great zoning of tables, gush gush gush... simply fab!!
Had a very pleasant drink at the pool bar near the private beach, however quite cold, so wandered up to the terrace and sat. Waited, waited and waited, as we were talking time was going by, stopped a server after 20 minutes to be told he was too busy!!! After another 10 minutes we wrote the order down and gave it to a server who advised us he would pass it on to the correct server(??)
15 minutes later half our drinks arrived, 15 minutes later completion!!
It never ceases to amaze me, spend all you like on the product and then fall short on the service!!
Very disappointing!!

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
3 Thank mismanagement
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Actually, we did not stay at the Delano. We were sightseeing through the lobby one hot day, when one of the staff invited us to sit and cool down while he brought us cold water. I was stunned at this overature and the willingness of this staff member to tend to our needs regardless of who we were or what we were doing. We were more expecting someone to ask us to move along if we were not guests. If our experience is any indication of the service you can expect at the Delano, you are in for one fabulous stay.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
Thank tj2038
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The Delano is, without question, the very best thing about South Beach. I am really shocked to see so many unhappy reviews here because I have always found most of the staff to be extremely friendly and accomodating. My partner and I have stayed at the Delano perhaps 8 times in the last 4 years. True, sometimes the pool staff can be overwhelmed by other demanding guests. And, true, the rate for a standard room is pretty high when compared with your average hotel. But this isn't an average hotel. And I think the hotel is right to favour guests staying in larger rooms.

Whenever I come to Delano, I am greeted personally by Ellis, the guest relations manager. He always remembers my name, my room preference, my favourite champagne. The consierge staff always remember me and has pre-prepared some recommendations for new clubs or restaurants I should try. These are not generic, but rather take into consideration my feedback from previous suggestions. It's exactly this kind of personal attention that keeps me coming back again and again.

The Delano isn't just a hotel, remember. It's almost like a nightclub with a hotel attached. So the guests, the food, the drinks, the rooms, etc all play on that theme... don't come here if you want the nice-but-stuffy Ritz (it's next door). However, if you want a funky, hip, chilled-out-yet-swanky urban resort, then you won't be able to beat the Delano. The people watching is amazing. (Celebrity sightings are common. A-Rod. Shaq. Jamie Foxx. Drew Barrymore... and this was just on my last visit. No one bothers them, which illustrates how laid back the place is. Everyone sees, but no one bothers.) The drinks are excellent. The staff are young(ish), and chilled. Anything you want? Just ask. But don't expect someone to run around kissing your (---). Just ask and you can have whatever your heart desires.

So, yeah, the pool is where you want to be. But the beach is no-less-swank. The Delano has table service at it's private section of the beach and, to see how the Delano measures up against neighboring hotels, just compare their section of the beach! It's by far the nicest (except, perhaps, Setai, but that's a MUCH more expensive hotel). Absolutely gorgeous.

As for the dated rooms, I think many of these reviews are old. All of the rooms were updated starting a year ago. They are now very contemporary and include large plasmas, dvd players, bose 3-in-1 surround sound units, bose sounddock speakers for your ipod. The bathrooms are gorgeous having undergone a much-needed refresh. They're still a bit dark, admittedly.

I keep hearing that the Shore Club is the new hot spot. It's owned by the same folks behind Delano (Morgan Hotel Group), and guests at either hotel have reciprocal access. I think Shore Club looks trashy, especially compared to the immaculate white of Delano. But sometimes it's fun to wander down for a drink at Skybar. My partner and I always come running back to Delano.

Location is perfect: 5 minute walk from Lincoln Road. 15 minute walk to the Barney's CoOp and other shopping. 5 minutes to Ocean Drive.

There is ONE reason I keep spending my winter holiday in South Beach: that's the Delano. if you're young-at-heart, I think you'll love it. Just don't go there expecting it to be what its not.

  • Liked — Pool, rooms, service, food, mojitos, atmosphere, spa
  • Disliked — That block across the street with the Burger King that separates Delano from Lincoln Rd.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank aidan60657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2008

The Delano is the absolute heart-beat of South Beach and deserves serious consideration as a base if you are visiting the area, and if you can afford the rates.

The staff who provide the first, and most lasting impression, are fantastic without being fawning. They effortlessly obliged my needs being both pro & re active.

The public areas are stylish and sexy. The lobby is airy and cool, with wonderfully eclectic furniture usually seating a skinny-assed model-a-like. I am of the firm belief that when on holidays people like to become the person they want to be - and the Delano provides a great stage upon which to strike a pose. Most of the guests do strike such poses, playing roles more glamorous than they actually are.

There is a small but excellently stocked gift store, which made me feel like a part of a focus-group derived marketing niche, because every magazine or paperback I could possibly desire was stocked on their limited shelf space. Top marks.

The rooms, again are sexy and stylish. Everything in the room is white, which works wonderfully in a beach hotel. Levels of luxury are high.

Ultimately the Delano is a resort hotel. Guests are given a credit-card style charge card on check-in and are free to build up a big debt during their stay. By day lounge around the pool or the fully-serviced beach. Pool access is reserved for hotel guests. It is worth getting out of bed early to reserve a poolside lounger (on the sunny side).

By night the hotel comes alive. In addition to the hotel lobby, there is a pool side bar which is lively and buzzing - usually full of ex-frat boys from Boston trying to undress already skantily clad girls from up-state NY. The recently launched night-club, Florida Room, is pretty dull. It is more of a drinking club than a night club. The nights i visited it was full of vacant looking punters looking around for fun, rather than having fun. Ultimately the crowd here were pretty, but pretty boring. The reputation of the club is based on paying stars to visit and make it glamorous by association. My clubbing tip is to skip this and go to the nearby Mynt Lounge (beside the Shore Club) for an old skool night of clubbing.

When arriving i had high expectation of this hotel, and it did deliver is spades. it truly is a world-class hotel. Forget the new kids on the block (setai, Shore Club), try this out.

  • Stayed January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank stannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,069 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,563 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,541 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing