We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #46 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bridgetown, Barbados
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Interesting”
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed there particularly because of the raves we had heard about the decor. We had suite which was not large, as they have clearly converted an old property and had to work with certain constraints. This is not cheap for what is offered but it is nice to stay at a hotel that has tried to separate itself from the usual.
The unit was mostly white everywhere, except they had a green apple sitting on its specific little shelf. It can't be easy to keep an entirely white room in good shape but it was well maintained. It had a tiny balcony from which there is a view of the beach and ocean, over the pool area. there is zero parking on site so valet parking is virtually mandatory.
the food in their restaurant was good and well presented. we just had lunch as we like to try restaurants we have heard about and there are many in this part of Miami. the hotel is right on the beach accessible by a coded gate.The lobby with lots of mirrors and drapes, with little nooks and antique items is chic. there is a sushi bar in the long, wide corridor that connects the Front Desk area to the veranda restaurant. Overall, it was good, well located but a bit expensive. It is worth a visit.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justintforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,616 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,490
    596
    249
    155
    126
See reviews for
289
1,066
139
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We made our annual trip to South Beach and to the Delano for our anniversary. Although the hotel is beautiful, the food wonderful, and the pool scene the best in South Beach, it is really the people that keep bringing us back. We are always remembered somehow, I don't know how they do it, and made to feel like true guests, but also friends at the same time. We had a minor room key issue that took a little time to sort out, but Stacy at the desk handled it quickly and even took the time to come up to our room on the 14th floor to make sure all was well. We love all the servers by the pool, but this time were waited on by Julie and Marco, both of whom are fantastic, very attentive, always smiling, and genuinely happy to help. Also a shout out to the pool and Rose bar bartenders, all very great, happy, and great to talk to. We will be back...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella_Mango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Entering the lobby of this hotel is like entering a dream! This surreal experience will continue through the entire stay, from the check in, to awaking each morning in the soft miami sunlight reflecting off all the surfaces in the stark white room having no concept of space nor time, to floating through the lobby stopping midway at the most sophisticated bar to be served by extremely charming bar tenders, to stylish patio restaurant with the most gracefully presented meals, to laying at the chicest poolside anywhere looking up into elegant palms floating in the bluest sky, while being served fruity cocktails by the sexiest staff. Leaving this hotel will feel like waking up during the most exciting part of a very titillating dream.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I, being the diligent and avid traveller that I am, called Delano Hotel at least three times to check and confirm details on visiting the pool I had heard so much about, for the day. I spent Friday night in (rather than clubbing with friends and fam) excited to rest up for Saturday morning so I can start a beautiful day at my fave and best...in a pool...with a yummy drink in hand.. But unfortunately, what a rude awakening I experienced instead thanks to Delano’s flaky and uncaring staff. I reached the Hotel after getting all decked out in best pool attire and was surprisingly advised that the pool is only for hotel guests! Huh?!? During my many inquiring phone calls I even had spoke to the Pool Concierge/staff (Julie) who had advised entirely different: I was told to come in the morning by 11am (as I did) or after 7pm and there'd be a minimum spend of $50 per person (easy!). When I explained this to the Front Desk manager and Front Desk Concierge (Pedro), they called it a training issue and dismissed me. I can understand that this Miami Hotel and Pool are exclusive which is exactly why I called many times in advance to ensure I’d be welcomed. The Hotel management did absolutely nothing to make up for this flakiness but instead were so careless and cavalier about wasting so much of my time and squashing my excitement – all in all, a terribly disappointing experience. Last but not least, I actually got a chance to see the pool for a moment and it’s SO not worth it! It’s a very small swimming area with lame music. Had I seen the pool first, I’d have never wasted my time and efforts. I happily ended up at Viceroy’s rooftop pool which BTW, consists of a Hot Tub you can actually swim laps in, a gloriously enormous pool, a most friendly and caring staff, and a DJ playing the hottest tunes – had a blast, well worth every penny spent (~$250)! So I say, Boooooo @ Delano and thank you for a fabulous day/experience @ Viceroy.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Bin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Bin K,
I apologize that you left Delano disappointed in the pool policy. I understand you had called the hotel but the information you say you were given is not correct. Delano has always reserved the pool strictly for hotel guests during daylight hours. There are a number of reasons for it and I'll detail a few here as many people do often come by to see the pool during the day. It's important that we are forthcoming with valid reasons for this sometimes inconvenient or misunderstood policy.
1st, Safety and Security:
People that are relaxing at the pool or beach are not able to keep valuables on their person. Also, if they're in the pool or ocean, they have no choice but to leave some items unattended. One way that we protect our guests is to be conscious and in control of who enters the pool area.
2nd, Exclusivity:
Delano is known for it and our guests expect it. We also regularly cater to celebrities, artists, musicians and others who do not wish to be recognized or exposed any more than what is necessary.
3rd, Availability:
We have less lounges and pool beds than we do rooms. We have a responsibility to guarantee that our guests have chairs and beds available and that they always have first priority to all other amenities at the pool. Indiscriminately opening our pool to visitors during the day would effectively remove everything that has made this hotel, specifically the pool, so special over the years.
Lastly, Our registered guests:
Delano guests are among the most loyal in this industry. Our guests return because we take feedback seriously. Privacy, ambiance and personal, perfect service at the pool is among the most recognized and requested services that we provide. We will continue to deliver on that standard... even at the risk of creating minor inconveniences for some of our visitors.
With all of that being said, you had a bad experience and I apologize for that. This is not a personal matter and is simply a policy that has been in place for over 18 years.
I am glad that you enjoyed your accommodations at the Vice Roy and also welcome you to join us after 8pm at the Delano Beach Club any time.
All the best,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarsdale, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

I stayed several times at this hotel a number of years ago and recently returned with my extended family on vacation which included my mother and 3 teenage girls. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel, the pool and the beach are fabulous. The hotel also has a good gym. The food was excellent and the service was outstanding. The location is perfect. Everyone was very friendly and provided great service. I want to give a special thank you to Tyler Dabestani. He greeted us every morning at breakfast and went above and beyond to make our experience special. We will definitely go back! My only criticism, is that we had 3 in a room thinking that the room had 2 double beds. The beds are smaller than a double, so it was tight for the 2 sharing the bed. When I discovered the bed problem, I tried to get a bigger room but the hotel was sold out. If you are looking for 3 to share a room, get the one with 2 queen size beds!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francine18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I travel to South Beach often for both business and pleasure. I was recently at a conference in Miami and stayed at the Delano. In a rush to check out I left a number of clothing items hanging in the closet of my hotel room. When I realized they had been left, I contacted the property immediately but was told no items were found. For a hotel of this caliber to be allowing items to be stolen/taken/discarded from rooms is ridiculous. Any other quality hotel I have stayed at in the past have been more than happy to return the items to me or at least attempt to resolve the issue. To make the situation worse, I went back and forth with the GM of the property and even the corporate risk manager for two months until I was told today that they don't intend to do anything about this and view the issue as closed. It would have cost them NOTHING to resolve this situation in a respectful and customer friendly manner. The Delano has forever lost a good customer.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenzie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Just came back from a South Florida adventure and stayed at several hotels. Delano isn't given
the respect it should be given, the service was the best I ever had starting with Stacey at check in. We arrived early and Stacey went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable until our room was ready, our free upgraded room was ready several hours earlier than regular check in time. At the pool the very Charming Marco and Henry made sure they accommodated all our requests and did a great job, make sure you ask for Marco at the pool. On the beach Fred and David gave us excellent service even when the two teenagers I traveled with just wanted a bucket of ice which was free. Fred and David went out of their way to make our group comfortable in the 95 degree temperatures. I travelled with two 16 year old girls and a college girl, the atmosphere was perfect for this age group. Delano has a sultry feel to it, with the lowered lights in lobby and the music playing thru the hotel. The pool area at night was very pretty, it had a dreamy feel to it. I stayed at the Loews last year and can honestly say the Delano is a much classier place to stay with larger rooms than the Loews. The only thing I can say is that I don't think this hotel is a place for a couple of toddlers just by the way the hotel is set up. There was maybe some very well behaved five or six year olds but I don't think it's appropriate place with little kids. I loved the Delano and so did the girls, I will stay there again the next time I'm in south beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear debbie j,
Thank you for submitting your review and for mentioning all the associates that made your stay memorable. It is people like Stacy, Marco, Henry, Fred and David that make Delano what it is for our guests. Delano has some of the most authentic and considerate employees anywhere in Miami Beach and I am happy to see that you had a positive experience with them. I will certainly ensure all that mentioned are made aware of your kind comments. If you are ever interested in returning please feel free to reach out tome directly. You may contact me at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com.
Kindest regards,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,061 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,521 reviews
SLS South Beach
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,538 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,535 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#13 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Travel Republic (UK), DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing