We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pool is definitely to die for”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #41 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

After hearing about parties at the Delano South Beach pool, I thought it would be a great destination to complete my tan. The pool atmosphere is luxurious and relaxing. The music around the pool is awesome... there are many cabanas, pool chairs, tents, and beds throughout the area. Complimentary samples of foods are given about every hour, and the staff makes you feel great!

I especially enjoyed being serviced by Ivana. She is extremely personable and didn't forget me, even when the pool was crowded. She was the only female at the pool and definitely stood out by conversing with guests and making sure we were all comfortable. Out of all the places on South Beach, I felt more warm during my day at the pool in the sun.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Chardonney815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,774)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 2,774 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2014

The Delano is he perfect place to relax and have fun for a few days. The rooms are fine, but with the Miami sun who wants to be inside. The staff are very helpful and friendly and the pool staff are the best. Soledad remembers everyone's name and is fantastic. She makes the experience enjoyable for everyone. I can't wait to go back and relax. The atmosphere at the pool is second to none when it comes to pure relaxation.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank livinginlondon1344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We chose Delano to stay during my friend's Yannis a.k.a. Kavliaris bachelor weekend. We were not disappointed at all. The hotel lives up to its fame, as the "go to" place to see and be seen.

We were a party of 9 guys, top successful world class professionals and we are used to top notch service and unforgettable experiences. We have to admit that the hotel stuff really pampered us and delivered with excellence, avoiding to create complexity. Especially we would like to thank Diego, Julia and Victoria for their professionalism and their service during our long hours sweating by the pool.

Pro tip: Try the kobe burger, we fed on that for 4 days.

The rooms are very spacious and i dare to say that could even accommodate up to 4 guys if ever required. We were also very pleased with the complimentary toiletries, especially the peppermint shampoo which was our favorite. My friend was so thrilled he even purchased and used the bulk size bottle during our stay.

Only points for improvement:
1) Pretty girls should ALWAYS be admitted at the pool even when not hotel guests. On our last day we saved two canadian girls from Miami obscurity, when we stepped in and offered them sunbeds after being rejected by the hotel staff. We urge management to rethink this policy.

2) Hotel guests should ALWAYS be admitted to the FDR club. We were asked to pay bottle service when tried to access the club on our last night. That felt like a major faux pas, especially after our significant spending on the hotel during our stay.

Overall, an unforgetable experience, cant wait to come back for my friend Yannis, a.k.a Kavliaris second bachelor party in a couple of years.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DimiP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

What a cool place to stay. It smells like paradise as soon as you enter the lobby, I've stayed in many awesome hotels, nothing captures your senses like the Delano. You forget everything and enjoy the moment.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I spend a week with my family in April 2014 and it was beautiful.
The Hotel decor and architecture is simple yet luxurious. The position is great and the beach wonderful. The service could be better (e.g. reception and breakfast staff not very attentive and housekeeping forgot everyday to bring us towels), the beach staff was instead amazing. I would definitely recommend it and hopefully we will be back soon.
p.s. the Sushi Bar and Bianca Restaurant were fantastic!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vierky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2014

My friend and I spent 7 nights at Metropolitan by COMO in South Beach. We were rather apprehensive about doing so as the hotel was so new. We needn't have been as the hotel and service were both outstanding. However, this review is about Delano, where my friend and I are staying for 2 nights before leaving Miami. I am writing this review on our first night. We are both currently in the room feeling massively disappointed. We arrived at the hotel at around 6 this evening as we drove in to the hotel we were "acknowledged" by 2 very disinterested looking doormen / valet service personnel. We went to reception and were checked in by an equally disinterested receptionist who told us that we had been upgraded. We had booked an ocean front double double room and when we were shown to our room (10th floor) we were horrified. The room stank if stale smoke, bathroom was tiny, adapted for special needs and the windows mouldy. Having reserved an ocean front room we looked out of the window and could only see a partial ocean view together with lots of buildings and dirty roofs. Having stayed at the COMO with its amazing view of the ocean we felt like we had been conned. This was especially so when we were told on arrival that we had been upgraded. We are not stupid! We changed rooms after complaining to the very helpful bell boy who assisted us in securing an alternative room. We are now in room 1104 which is marginally better than the first room. The bathroom is still tiny, windows are mouldy and so is the ceiling above the shower. We complained to reception again about the poor quality of the room and were offered a room which the hotel claims is a full ocean front room but which in fact only offers a partial ocean view. We refused as what were were offered gave us a marginally bigger bathroom but only a partial view of the ocean. Having stayed at a number of top class hotels all over the world we are in disbelief that this hotel can claim to be in a class of its own. We have so far found the room to be of poor
quality and not at all what we would expect from a hotel claiming to have such an
impeccable reputation. We had a pleasant experience at the bar and cannot fault the service there. However the service at the Italian restaurant left a lot to be desired. When we asked the maitre d whether there would be a table available we were told there would be a 15 minute wait. That was fine. When our table was ready the maitre d came to guide us to the restaurant and left my friend and I to gather oyr belongings and carry our 3 drinks to the restaurant. Not what we expected. The food was good and service acceptable but nothing
special. We then came back to the room and my friend ordered a pot of tea which we were told would arrive no later than within 15 mins. The tea arrived in 25 mins and when it did arrive there was no milk. My friend rang to get some milk and this arrived within 10 minutes by which time the tea was cold. In view of the poor service and delays my friend had cold tea as asking for a fresh cup would no doubt result in more delays.

We really hope that our faith in Delano is restored for the remainder of our stay tomorrow. At present, what we have seen and experienced has left a lot to be desired. Compared to what we experienced, service and accommodation wise, at COMO and other hotels around the world on arrival and on the first night this place is so disappointing. We expected a lot more.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1981Loveholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

The best atmosphere in South Beach is in this amazing hotel. Amazing pool and great restaurants. Really great Japanese sushi-bar with the best service!
If you want to spend your vacation like a celebrity - this is the place to go!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Renardetka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
SLS South Beach
#43 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,265 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#16 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,738 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#48 of 212 in Miami Beach
7,151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#44 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,557 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,731 reviews
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#54 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#19 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#27 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £243 - £810 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing