We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the return list”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #42 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“On the return list”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Funky hotel with attentive service. Great rooms and food. Gym is state of the art but small and in the basement - only down side. Pool bungalows are a great idea and are charged as food and beverage spend - with a minimum spend limit. Managers often introduce themselves to guests and their offers for assistance are genuine - they are not just asking if their is anything they can do...

Room Tip: Suites have balconies and are on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamP823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,462
    584
    242
    151
    122
See reviews for
284
1,037
136
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Delano, by far, is my FAVE hotel in all of South Beach!!! Very chic and modern when you first walk in. Then poof...still remaining chic, but just something so soothing, cool and down right awesome as you step out into the back....don't know what to call it. Oasis comes to mind! I've never really been speechless on here, but the as my title suggests...the Delano just takes your breath away! Chic and swanky cabanas line the pathway along the pool. Tall Royal palms swaying in the gentle atlantic breeze. We arrived somewhat early for South Beach standards, 10:30pm. It was perfect we were able to secure a comfy spot on the couch and order a drink. Not even 15 minutes later, the place became swarmed with the life of the party! But we were tucked away amidst the crowd, people watching, sipping our fabulous martinis. I've never stayed at the Delano, but always make it a top priority to walk though and chill outside. The restaurant looks awesome and fun, overlooking the whole oasis. You'll forget you're in a concrete metropolis, just outside the walls. Don't miss this soulful experience. A SoBe MUST!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontoteacherdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Delano Hotel Continues to be an above average Boutique Hotel, with Direct Beach Access, Amenities and Drink and Food Services at the Beach and Pool.
The Rooms vary by size, type and location, but the Rooms directly Poolside are indeed the Most Exclusive. A Great Restaurant at the Hotel, provides both Indoors and Outdoor Seating.
Easy walk to all main Streets Shopping, as the Hotel is right off of Lincoln Road.
You are in the Main Drag of tht "South Beach Action"
This is a small hotel, with Full Amenities and Services, so Book well in advance for your best rates and Room type.

Room Tip: Rear Rooms up higher have a Beautiful Ocean View..Check on the Rooms Bathroom features as Bath vs. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staying nearby, we have decided to test the famous Rose Bar, and we were positively impressed: a nice and helpful barmen, and excellent cocktails. In a definite good mood, we continued with a light dinner at the sushi bar.

The tuna carpaccio with truffle oil is excellent. We followed with some sushis and california rolls: Exquisite! A nice evening in a wonderful ambient.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcBE91EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I had a brief but extraordinary stay at the Delano. I was shocked at how big the room was compared to many other places on south beach. The bathroom was outstanding with a massive, indulgent shower. Everyone I came into contact with was very nice and helpful- nothing pretentious here, just luxurious. It's my new favorite place to stay on the Beach!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SunnyCat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Been going to Sobe for many yeras and as alway the Delano never disappoints, great standard of service, cleanliness also the staff are amazing!!!
There are so mant good hortel in Sobe the Delano remains one of the best alongside the Shoreclub both FANATACTIC!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanDal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Upon arriving at the hotel you feel like you've stepped into a movie set in Miami. What an amazing lobby! Walking through unveils interesting furniture, art and decor that leads up to the exit on to the restaurant (Bianca- I also wrote a review about our experience there) and the pool area. The pool/ restaurant outside areas are truly magnificent. Trendy, sexy and luxurious, I loved every inch. My opinion of the hotel plummeted upon entering the room. The rooms are small but acceptable. However, the stark, all-white decor reveals every stain, wear and tear- and there are plenty to reveal. I was truly disappointed when I stepped into the bathroom- you could barely open the door (it almost brushed the toilet) and you could barely stand in there on your own, let alone with 2 people. They invested in iPod/iPhone docks, but have failed to notice that NO ONE has an iPhone 4 anymore, which makes it unusable due to the charger. iPhone 4 to 5 adapters for docks aren't expensive and it's a simple touch I would expect from an "avant-garde" establishment.
For the price we paid, I expected MUCH better room facilities, but I guess their intention is to keep you downstairs in the public areas, mingling and spending (which we didn't mind as I mentioned). Location is also fantastic- direct access to South Beach and round the corner from Lincoln Road.
Service is also good: I especially loved the valets, doormen and porters- so friendly!! I would definitely go back there again for dinner at Bianca but I will stay away from the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Dear Jessica C,
Thank you, for taking the time and completing this review. Although it seems as if you enjoyed your overall experience, I am sorry about the inconsistencies you encountered in the room. I invite you to contact me directly at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com as I would like to know the specifics of the room, so that we may remedy the issues. We are in the process of updated all of our older equipment to handle the newer devices that have recently come out over the year, but I am sorry that you were not able to get the full use of the room amenities. Regarding the size of the bathrooms, most of them are about the same size, but we do offer other rooming options that have larger sized bathrooms. Please contact me directly when you are looking to return, I would be happy to go all rooming categories to ensure you are completely satisfied with your selection. I look forward to hearing from you.
All the best,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#33 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,080 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,441 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,687 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing