We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Actually this is just a review of the cocktail bar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #43 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Jensen Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
345 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Actually this is just a review of the cocktail bar”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Having stopped at the Delano in the past I thought it would be nice to take visiting family there for a cocktail before going out to dinner. The bar area maybe small but it has so much character, great guys behind the bar who enjoy the banter as much as we do. All the ladies really enjoyed their cocktails, while the guys gathered to enjoy a few beers. Now drinks don't come cheap, nothing does in the bigger named hotels, but just to show people around the grounds is awesome.

Worth the stop off, especially if you young pups want to impress your lady friends.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scouser1077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,441
    576
    237
    150
    121
See reviews for
280
1,019
134
214
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Went here years ago and it was great....now awful!
Room: Dirty....hairs on floor in bathroom and not cleaned even tho we pointed out daily! TV did not work 2 out of 3 days even after multiple calls! Mini bar fridge filthy inside with mold only cleaned after 3 calls to front desk.
Shower: piece of shower fell onto wife during shower. Front desk offered free breakfast then gave us continental breakfast coupon! Donut and coffee? When inquired American breakfast too expensive???? When I went to manager....took 150 off hotel bill.
Pool: water filthy and slimy. And sooo warm felt like hot tub. Not refreshing!

Soooooo this is not the Delano of years ago. Not kept up!
The W and Ritz are far better choices in South Beach! This is NOT cool nor funky anymore!

BTW: pool service and concierge Michael are first rate. I bet I'll see these people at a better kept property in the future!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Swimmerbarbados
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dwight P, Guest Relations Manager at Delano South Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Swimmerbarbados
Thank you for that review. Of course, I'm taken back a bit by the amount of issues that you encountered with us. Typically, should any problems arise during a guest's stay, we are able to quickly and effectively resolve it. Turning a negative stay around is not only a priority it is also, quite simply, the best way to gain a loyal guest. I apologize that the recovery efforts offered were not satisfactory. More importantly, however, the issues that you've detailed are indicative of downright egregious negligence on the part of the hotel. Because of that, I have thoroughly investigated your claims. I apologize that minibar was not cleaned properly and that you had to call more than once. That is not acceptable. Our pool (our main draw) is meticulously looked after daily. I'm not sure what made you feel that the pool was "slimy", I've personally inspected it and found it to be in excellent working order and quite clean. We keep the temperature at 82 to 84 degrees. We keep it that way based on feedback from our guests. I apologize if you found it too warm. Regarding the room, I would very much appreciate if you contacted me to discuss. I have no way of knowing which room you were in from your review. From your description, I would like to get the room inspected immediately to ensure that if, in fact, it was in the condition that you described, that we get that situation rectified quickly. We certainly take feedback seriously and we appreciate you giving such detail. Your stay is quite clearly an anomaly and one that we do not wish to repeat. You may reach me at Dwight.Palacious@mhgc.com.
All the best,
Dwight
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Don't expect to get your Requests from Reception/Concierge dealt with Straight Away!! Called for a Hair Dryer and Towels - Hair Dryer Cut Out & Towels weren't left in the Room - 30 minutes later we had to Call to see where they were!!!! These kind service shouldn't happen when you are spending a small fortune on your stay!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monika J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Funky hotel with attentive service. Great rooms and food. Gym is state of the art but small and in the basement - only down side. Pool bungalows are a great idea and are charged as food and beverage spend - with a minimum spend limit. Managers often introduce themselves to guests and their offers for assistance are genuine - they are not just asking if their is anything they can do...

Room Tip: Suites have balconies and are on the beach side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CamP823
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The Delano, by far, is my FAVE hotel in all of South Beach!!! Very chic and modern when you first walk in. Then poof...still remaining chic, but just something so soothing, cool and down right awesome as you step out into the back....don't know what to call it. Oasis comes to mind! I've never really been speechless on here, but the as my title suggests...the Delano just takes your breath away! Chic and swanky cabanas line the pathway along the pool. Tall Royal palms swaying in the gentle atlantic breeze. We arrived somewhat early for South Beach standards, 10:30pm. It was perfect we were able to secure a comfy spot on the couch and order a drink. Not even 15 minutes later, the place became swarmed with the life of the party! But we were tucked away amidst the crowd, people watching, sipping our fabulous martinis. I've never stayed at the Delano, but always make it a top priority to walk though and chill outside. The restaurant looks awesome and fun, overlooking the whole oasis. You'll forget you're in a concrete metropolis, just outside the walls. Don't miss this soulful experience. A SoBe MUST!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Torontoteacherdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New City, New York
Level Contributor
97 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

The Delano Hotel Continues to be an above average Boutique Hotel, with Direct Beach Access, Amenities and Drink and Food Services at the Beach and Pool.
The Rooms vary by size, type and location, but the Rooms directly Poolside are indeed the Most Exclusive. A Great Restaurant at the Hotel, provides both Indoors and Outdoor Seating.
Easy walk to all main Streets Shopping, as the Hotel is right off of Lincoln Road.
You are in the Main Drag of tht "South Beach Action"
This is a small hotel, with Full Amenities and Services, so Book well in advance for your best rates and Room type.

Room Tip: Rear Rooms up higher have a Beautiful Ocean View..Check on the Rooms Bathroom features as Bath vs. S...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shrothman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Staying nearby, we have decided to test the famous Rose Bar, and we were positively impressed: a nice and helpful barmen, and excellent cocktails. In a definite good mood, we continued with a light dinner at the sushi bar.

The tuna carpaccio with truffle oil is excellent. We followed with some sushis and california rolls: Exquisite! A nice evening in a wonderful ambient.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MarcBE91EX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,852 reviews
SLS South Beach
#38 of 207 in Miami Beach
2,049 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#64 of 207 in Miami Beach
6,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
3,394 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 207 in Miami Beach
1,612 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
3,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing