We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“okay stay for a weekend, bad service, good food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Delano South Beach Hotel
Ranked #45 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
paris, france
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“okay stay for a weekend, bad service, good food”
Reviewed 5 April 2006

Unfortunately our exeprience was not that great. Just a few points we were
really disapointed about :

- our toilets were twice filled up, and the room service left all the
dirty towels on the floor
- some of the clientele ordered personal escort girls by the
poolside and concluded business in front of all the clients - even more, we were shocked that the pool + bar personal knew the escort girls very
well. Is this personal Delano offers ?!!!
- whats for the extra 15 $ for the umbrella at the beach ?
- in general the rooms are small, the general service is not so good and everything is very expensive ( i would rate the service as a 2 - 3 star hotel) not worth staying more than 2 nights

I would just advise you to go there for a drink by the pool at night, or a dinner, lunch, brunch because the food is amazing !

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank ParisParis01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,493
    596
    249
    155
    126
See reviews for
289
1,069
139
221
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 14 March 2006

My fiancée and I just got back from 5 nights at The Delano and had a great time. It was our first time in South Beach, and we wanted to make sure we stayed at a cool and hip place. Fortunately, I had read the reviews before we went and was prepared. This is a great hotel to stay at… if you have money to burn. Everything written in the other reviews is correct. The rooms are small (330 sq. feet), it’s loud (housekeeping brought us a fan to drown out the noise), water leaks on the floor when you take a shower (we grabbed extra towels whenever we could), and the view is great… if you look straight ahead. They are currently working on the hotel next door, so the ocean view rooms have a view of the empty hotel pool next door and a construction site. It’s certainly not the Four Seasons Maui, which costs about the same per night. We paid $590 for the full ocean view room. But, we had a great time. The staff is friendly, the $15 margaritas at the pool are delicious, and the food is wonderful. Plus, the pool scene is insane – lots of beautiful and interesting people to talk to. The main thing to keep in mind is that all of the hotels in South Beach will gouge you. This place gouges you more, but has more to offer if you are looking for the full South Beach experience.

This is actually my first posting on TripAdvisor. I felt like I had to comment on this hotel, because it is outrageously expensive when compared to other high end properties outside of South Beach. Had I stayed there without reading the reviews on this site, I would have been shocked by the lack of value and probably wouldn’t have enjoyed myself. My main point is read the reviews and be prepared to pay. If you do that, you’ll have a great time. We did.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2006

My three girlfriends and I just returned from a week's stay at the Delano. What an awesome hotel. The staff was friendly and accomodating, the pool is beautiful and so cool, and the food (sushi,pizza,breakfast,appetizers,etc.) was great.
Now I am going to try to put into words the atmosphere of the Delano; sensual,fun,intimate, beautiful,lots of laughs,friendly,and sexy.
I've stayed at several other hotels in south beach (Raleigh,National,Royal Palm,Surfcomber,Bentley Beach,Shelborne (a story in itself),and the Clevelander (ok not a recommended place to stay but what a place to have some good times and laughs.) We spent a few hours at the Shore Club which is a beautiful hotel but in all honesty didn't compare with the atmosphere of the Delano. We all can't wait to return to the Delano next year!

Helpful?
12 Thank teyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 4 January 2006

I went down by myself for five nights over New Years...the staff was wonderful. The pool was incredible....I met so many interesting people and had so much fun. If you want to be treated well, act nice...you will have the time of your life at The Delano!

Oh..the New Years Eve Party was great also...even though I'm not a star...I was treated like one!

I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 December 2005

The Delano is on a famous street in Miami. This street is famous for having competing hotels next to each other. So the Delano has beautiful furniture and amazing designs for kitchens, bathrooms, rooms and outdoor activities. It is probably the most sheek hotel you could go to in all of Florida. The only problem is that since they're all competing to be the most amazing hotel in Miami, hotels can go a little too far with comfortable and unique designs. This is exactly what the Delano did. That's why it should have four filled in bubbles instead of five.

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2005

I travel a lot, so maybe it's hard to impress me. Certainly the Delano is a great hotel but there are better options in Miami, As with all the Ian Schrager hotels, the lobby and common areas are designed to impress, But not necessarily the rooms.

Every Schrager hotel I've stayed at has tiny rooms. Maybe it's just that I'm spending $450 a night, instead of dropping $1000 for one of his better rooms. The value is just not there.

Miami has a wide array of hotel options. Go to the Delano for drinks or dinner and enjoy the common areas. Skip the hotel stay. You can find rooms at a fraction of the price that are twice the size and a much better value

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank gregjarvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, AL
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2005

My wife and I had a great long weekend at the Delano. It blends classic South Beach style with modern service and excitement. The restaurants are great, and the athletic club is awesome. We spent most of our time at the pool (yes, my wife and many other women there were topless) and the beach. Great service from the bar at both the beach and the pool.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SoBe_Regular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#32 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,071 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#12 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,523 reviews
SLS South Beach
#37 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#59 of 208 in Miami Beach
6,560 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#16 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,540 reviews
The Miami Beach EDITION
#14 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Delano South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Delano South Beach Hotel

Property: Delano South Beach Hotel
Address: 1685 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-3136 (Formerly Delano Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Delano South Beach Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of South Beach and directly on the ocean, Delano is the ultimate world-class urban resort and self-contained destination. Boasting America's first Indoor/Outdoor Lobby, the hotel's public spaces create the feeling of an interwoven "village" with almost no separation between indoors and out. With its soaring and unforgettably beautiful Lobby, legendary white Guestrooms, lushly landscaped Orchard, breathtaking Pool, the renowned Club Essentia wellness center and spa and stunning private beach, Delano epitomizes Simple Chic for a modern world. Delano offers seasonal packages and special offers including spa, breakfast and parking packages. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Nozio Netplan srl, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Delano South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Delano Hotel Miami Beach
Delano Resort Miami Beach
Delano Miami
Delano South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing