We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you can focus on the rooms...”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Collins Hotel
Ranked #102 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
74 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“If you can focus on the rooms...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

If you can focus on these modern newly renovated rooms then you will be satisfied. The challenge in this is that this property is such a marked difference from the beach properties across the street. Public areas seem to have not yet been renovated and look dated. A decent choice for one night before a cruise!

Room Tip: Make sure you are in the newly renovated main building
See more room tips
Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    445
    243
    50
    46
See reviews for
307
344
33
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We arrive and at the hotel no professional a toll no body help us with the bags we did have 4 we have to bring to us to the room,We ask for water to drink they said to across street is a grocery store.....the room was ok we pay for two nights 650 us was a suite ok.
The day after at 9:00 two maid knock on the door said they need to clean the room very mad because I dind' answer fast the door and they are just 3 maid to clean all the hotel I said was very orly and in Spanish one said bad words to me.
After that I complain to the front desk, to a guy he not even said sorry just look at me like "What I care" and again carry our bags to the car also we paid a day 20 us dollars x parking
no service on the room.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Taricco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Analia1979, General Manager at Collins Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2012
Dear passenger
I'm sorry for the inconvenience and we will consider your comments to not happen again.
Unfortunately the hotel does not have room service, but we have a vending machine area, where you can find snacks, coffee and all kinds of sodas for your convenience
There must have been an error with the maid service which we are currently checking, but it is unusual for maids enter the room as early as.The services are doing when the passengers come out of the rooms.
I apologize again for the inconvenience and hope you can return to the hotel to remedy them and you can enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

Simple and efficient. I recommend!

Nice service.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JhonnyK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

My husband and I flew to Miami for a quick escapade and we booked this hotel because the prices seemed REALLY interesting. The personnel in the hotel is very friendly and bilingual, ready to give you any advice on the surrounding restaurants. We stayed for 4 nights, and they always left our room neatly cleaned. I'll return for sure! Thanks Collins hotel for making this trip, a perfect adventure to remember!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OceanBreezeMiami, General Manager at Collins Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you so much for your great review! We are really trying to get the word out that with the opening of our new building, we are a brand new hotel! You are welcome back anytime...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2011

This hotel is clean, no bedbugs, and just a basic place to stay while we were in town for a wedding. The pool was sparkling clean. This is not a fancy place by any stretch, but the rooms are clean. We did feel safe as there is a double lock on the door and lobby attendant at night. This is a okay place, and I would stay again if I needed to be in that part of town. There are no coffee makers in the rooms, but a bar fridge. Close to some restaurants and bars as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnlmcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stony Plain, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2011

We checked in on January 15th 2011 around 4pm, and were met at the desk by the 2 other groups we had booked this place for and they were both really mad at me for booking this "DUMP". Well Party "A" arrived 3 days before us and stayed because they had no other options that were accesible due to no vehicle, Party "B" arrived am of 15th and were just as mad but they both understood that I went by description and photos as well as reviews (these we found out were fictitious reviews by family of owners) So we are given the option to pick our room and this was a sign, we went and looked at our room and I was not happy, I went back and asked about the new building (supposed to be open December 2010) and they said it was not open due to not completed yet "not even close" i asked him why the pictures were completely different from actual rooms and the young man working the desk said "I'm sorry and i get this all the time" I then knew we had been HAD. Well we could not afford any of the hotels accross the road over $250.00 a night plus resort fees and parking cost brought it way over $300 a night so we decided to tough it out for 1 night unlike the rest in our party as we were cruising the next day. The room was clean but that was the only good thing, the fridges they unplug till you check in so good luck keeping things cold as it did not cool down till the next morning at check out, no ice machine, pool was freezing even for us who had traveled up from Stony Plain Alberta Canada not heated like stated in AD. The Bathroom was frightening tiles falling from wall mold in cracks and beds were rock hard so used and abused not fit for prison use. Now yes our rooms were only $79.00 a night + parking + resort fee (What a joke) + taxes and Damage Deposit of $100.00. There are much better places to stay and you can drive to the beach or take a bus surprisingly easy as we did take public transit. I would stay away at all costs. They did send me an email while we were on our cruise to tell us they would reduce it to $55.00 a night and free parking if we kept our reservation for after the cruise, 3 days I don't think so we ended up at the Springhill Suites by Marriott in Fort Lauderdale $99.00 a night and heated pool, free buffet breakfast and no unexpected fees.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BakerFamilyCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2011

it was really horriable experience, and i only booked this hotel as internet promote as new innovated hotel, but acutally it only working at half of hotel, smell of room is horriable,
on wedsite say internet free, but acutally you never can get internet from the room
the location is good? mightbe, but if you want to go to south beach is still great distance, surely right crose to miami beach, but how many people will go to miami beach? so much can see.
service - only the girl who are working daytime is excellent, she tried so hard to help, and give good guide, but the evening girl who was horriable, even did not speak much english, also without any common sense for the talking.
safety, i didnot feel safe, so luckily i travelled with my friend, if i am alone, i won;t be able to stay in the room as half hotel is open to public,
i will go back miami, but for sure i won;t stay here again

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alice1979186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Beach Place Hotel
Beach Place Hotel
#114 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
0.1 mi away
Deauville Beach Resort
Deauville Beach Resort
#169 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,555 reviews
0.4 mi away
Oceanside Hotel
Oceanside Hotel
#108 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
AAE Miami Beach Lombardy Hotel
#190 of 207 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Miami/North Beach Oceanfront
0.3 mi away
The New Casablanca on the Ocean Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Property: Collins Hotel
Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4697 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#78 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami
Collins Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing