We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great experience in Miami Beach”
Review of Collins Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Collins Hotel
Ranked #99 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I travelled with my best friend from Barcelona to Miami (it was our first trip together) and it was awesome. The rooms are bigger more than we expected and it was very clean everyday.
We went to Downtown and South Beach (near the hotel there is S bus which takes you to all these places). We toke some tours from the hotel such as Everglades and DisneyWorld from Orlando.
The staff was really helpful with us answering all our questions (how to get to everywhere, recommendations of restaurants and where to go out at night).
We really appreciate your attention to us from all of you. If we come back to Miami (probably we will do next year) we will stay with us again!

Room Tip: Estuvimos en dos habitaciones la 220 y la 230. Esta última era un poco más grande y con una ventana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnaGA_90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (990)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 990 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2013

Easy to find on Collins, large and well-marked hotel frontage with large entry gates to FREE and safe parking. Hotel is modern, probably recently refurbished. We had a disabled facilities room, which we did not require but seems very practical if you do. Room was white, good king size bed, refrigerator etc. Only one desk chair so we could not both sit outside in the evening. Pool looked good although we didn't use it. Almost directly across the road is a track through to the beach, where we walked in the early morning. Receptionist spoke poor English but was helpful with free internet, free hot water for tea in room, also free ice machine.

Not so good:
- lights stayed on outside all night and blinds did not make the room dark
- noisy air con unit (aren't they all?)
- tiled floors so upstairs were a little noisy moving furniture, but luckily not late at night

This hotel is not near South beach but we drove around there and found meter parking easy.

We also walked the board walk both ways from 26th to 43rd (or somewhere near) which was really enjoyable.

The Brazilian Cafe next door to the hotel looked good and the portions were large, but a beer was 6 dollars with service and tax - no way!

Overall a good way to stay in Miami Beach area in a clean, reliable and modern hotel. Thanks

Room Tip: Get a room facing the pool (most are) but also get 2 chairs to sit out on - we had just one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Driver30May
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We booked a king room through bookit.com for $92/night plus tax prepaid. The hotel was full but our clean, recently renovated, room was held for us to arrive near midnight. The room was large enough for a comfortable king bed - nice firm mattress - two nightstands and dresser with a small refrigerator. Closet was large with plenty of hangers and shelves. Bathroom was clean with a large shower, no tub. Not much character - stark white walls - but plenty of outlets, good free wireless (got password at check in), flat screen TV with cable. Easy walk to public beach access at 65th & Collins. Parking in a gated lot right next to the lobby was a good value for mid-beach at $10/night. You need a car to get to South Beach but with several good restaurants, liquor stores, and a Publix nearby on Collins you won't starve or dir of thirst. The pool is clean and has plenty of chairs, some with shade. No coffee in rooms. The damage deposit was not authorized to our credit card - the desk clerk took an imprint of our card at check in. Since we are not college kids on spring break we do not expect to break or take anything. Our room faced Collins buy noise was not a problem

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is in a good location if you don't mind being far from south beach. It is quieter here than on south beach but that does not mean that there are few restaurants. There is Thai, Chinese, Brazilian, Italian and Mexican food all within walking distance of the hotel.

This hotel has a quiet pool where one can read and take some sun. I saw few children and those who were there were well behaved. My room was a clean and quite comfortable King at the end of the hall on the top floor. The prices are reasonable as well, so I would return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We enjoyed our stay at the Collins hotel. Location was a 2 minute walk to the beach, and near some restaurants and shops. The room was very plain, although it was clean. Parking was in a private lot and was $10 a night. The pool was small but not crowded and a nice place to sit after a day on the beach. The only complaint i have is that the air conditioner was not cooling the room down as much as I like.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NJPilotJoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

This hotel was a very small cute place in a good location. If you're trying to find somewhere close to south beach this isn't the place for you though. When I read other reviews they made it seem like it was very close or in the heart of south beach .. it's not lol. This hotel is on 66 where south beach starts at about 15. So just keep that in mind if thats what you're going for or else you'll have to take a bus or a cab. But the location was very nice close to places to eat and the beach which was my favorite part. The hotel also has a pool which is nice to lay out by. The room that I stayed in was a King. The bed took up most of the room and there was a cute little balcony with a sliding door to sit out on. The room had everything we needed and it was very clean! Which is a big one for me the only thing that was an issue is that the sink started would leak when you turned on the faucet and it made a huge puddle in the bathroom, but we called maintenance and he fixed it right away. I can't complain about this place the prices were good and it was clean and comfy I definitely would go back if it was closer to south beach or if It was a romantic trip.

Room Tip: They're very small so keep that in mind.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank tanayb306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Excellent location, cute clean rooms, looks newly updated. We stayed in the main building attached to the main office. Had a small room with a king bed very comfortable and clean. Could have used an extra mirror to do my make up while my husband was showering but other then that it was the cleanest place we stayed out whole vaction.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MNangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Beach Place Hotel
#112 of 212 in Miami Beach
521 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Crystal Beach Suites Hotel
#138 of 212 in Miami Beach
428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bikini Lodge
#141 of 212 in Miami Beach
68 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#88 of 212 in Miami Beach
4,830 reviews
City Center
Riviera Hotel & Suites South Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Collins Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Collins Hotel

Address: 6600 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33141-4697 (Formerly Ocean Breeze Motel)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Miami Beach
#74 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £76 - £149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Collins Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Collins Hotel was officially opened to the public in August of 2011 after undergoing a 12 month renovation. Collins Hotel offers visitors to Miami Beach a modern hotel room with contemporary decoration, where everything is brand new. Enjoy plush beds, flat screen plasma TVs and high speed wireless internet, all at an affordable price. Located on Collins Avenue between 66th and 67th streets. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Collins Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bay Breeze Motel
Bay Breeze Miami
Collins Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing