We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst Travel Experience Thanks to FountainBLOWS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Worst Travel Experience Thanks to FountainBLOWS”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

Sure the pool is pretty and the clubs are fun but you don't have to stay at this miserable hotel with the RUDEST staff I have ever encountered in my life to use such facilities. We had problems with our reservations, problems with our rooms, problems with room service, problems with amenities, but most importantly, we encountered the RUDEST STAFF I could have never imagined. Despite causing issue after issue for myself and my 24 friends (we had 6 rooms), it was impossible to get anyone to apologize or who was willing to help fix any errors they caused. The staff couldn't have cared less about our miserable experience. On top of it all, our invoices were incorrect which is prompting this response. I will NEVER stay at the fountaineBLOW again and I most certainly will tell every one of my clients, family members, friends, and every social media outlet what a terrible experience they made for the 25 of us.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ugareviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 May 2012
It is unfortunate to learn about your recent experience at Fontainebleau. We aim to deliver an excellent service level and are disappointed to learn of your impression with us as a travel destination. Upon reviewing your reservation, I see that your party received standard rooms that were all assigned on the same floor which was requested and reserved during the reservation process. At Fontainebleau, we work very hard to ensure all of our guests are comfortable and expectations exceeded. We assure you that your comments will be shared with our team. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,750
    2,530
    1,197
    679
    674
See reviews for
3,000
3,081
350
2,201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacna, Arizona
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2012

The Fontainebleau has been superbly renovated -- combining the late deco era of its first opening with a modern twist.

First, the location is spectacular. Right in the thick of Miami Beach. You can make a great hotel, but you can't make a location. This is a great hotel in a great location.

When you walk through the spacious, spectacular lobby you can actually feel the ghosts of the Rat Pack. If Old Blue Eyes happened to resurrect himself and walk by in a tailored suit you wouldn't be surprised. Or if Sean Connery (the 1964 Sean Connery) was seated at the bar with 2 or 3 Bond girls -- well, that also would be right in character for this joint.

Aside from the the truly stellar interior architecture, the renovation extended to the pool area. Or, better put, the pool areas. Definitely the finest outdoor area of any hotel. Although the pool area does not have the Disneyesque activity of say the Mandalay Bay in Vegas, the Fontainebleau has a wonderfully sophisticated design. And invitingly comfortable lounges. And only a short walk to the adjacent beach.

The rooms are ample, but not huge. Very clean. Beautifully designed in keeping with the art deco style throughout the hotel.

My very favorite thing about this hotel is the computer supplied in the room. Not just because it is an Apple iMac, but because of the utility the computer gives each guest. Besides the usual internet service, the computer has a dedicated service to alert management to any problem. In the room I noticed some very minor discrepancies: the telephone was missing one underside rubber bumper, the door handle was slightly loose, and the tub drained slowly. Got on the computer and alerted management. Left for the pool. When I returned in 2 hours all problems were fixed. Now that's service!!

This is the coolest hotel in one of the hottest locales in the world. My favorite!!

The only downside was the unbelievably noisy restaurant. I found out the hotel leases this space so they cannot easily control that. By the way, the restaurant was a little pricey, but the food was very good. About on par with what you would pay for a similarly fine meal in New York City.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ALAN H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share this very important feedback regarding your stay at the Fontainebleau! Your admiration of our property, including the history and architectural designs, is highly valued. We are disappointed to hear of the minor inconveniences you experienced with appliances in the room. However, we are pleased to learn how much you enjoyed your iMac computer and that you were able to utilize it as tool to communicate the items to be fixed. We are also glad you had the opportunity to enjoy the gourmet cuisine at one of our restaurants. We hope to have you back soon for another fulfilling stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2012

The Fontainebleau is one on our favorite places to vacation...we just love everything about it!! Fantastic accomodations, beautiful scenery, great restaurants, helpful and friendly staff...the service is excellent. We especially enjoyed Miguel Zamora who made our stay even more enjoyable. He was always checking on us at the pool and did everything to make sure we were comfortable. I was over 5 month pregnant at the time so I was very appreciative. He was very personable and an all around nice guy.
We have been vacationing at the Fontainebleau for the past three years and will be back next year with our baby boy. Can't wait!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmyM1234508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 17 May 2012
We are beyond proud to be acknowledged as one of your favorite places to vacation! Thank you for this wonderful review regarding your overall enjoyment of the Fontainebleau! We are very pleased to hear of your appreciation of our property, offerings and accommodating team members. Miguel will definitely be recognized for going the extra mile in taking extra special care of you. We hope to see you in the very near future with your newest addition to the family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NiazaDG
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This was a girls trip for Cinco de Mayo weekend. Check in was very efficient - we wanted to upgrade to a balcony room in the central tower but this place was booked! We had to settle for the deluxe room in the Versailles tower which was a short walk to the lobby action. The room was nice, love the desktop provided but the bathroom configuration was a little difficult and no counter space, which is important for girls! But maybe the bigger rooms don't have this problem. We ate at Gotham Steakhouse and the meal was delicious - best asian glazed wings! Plus my friend claimed her lamb was the best hands down she's ever had. We didn't realize how crazy reservations were for cabanas - we tried 3 weeks in advance and closer to date but still couldn't get one and had to settle for a day bed. Our waitress was Teresa and she kept the service coming although there was definately lag time for the drinks and food to come out. THe crowd was mixed - there were young professionals but also the older crowd and families which is nice - it's was a good balance. Arkadia and LIV were amazing nights out and the music was on point! The lobby also had a nice scene every night. Overall our stay was relaxing and very enjoyable - we will be back!

Room Tip: Go for a room with the views - it's worth it! The deluxe rooms in the Versaille tower - the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NiazaDG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 14 May 2012
We sincerely appreciate the time you have taken to post this review. I am pleased to learn that your overall Fontainebleau experience was relaxing and enjoyable. I am confident that we can find a more suitable room for you and your friends during a future visit. Fontainebleau actually has over 25 spacious room types to choose from! I look forward to sharing your positive comments with our Team Member Teresa, as well as Gotham Steakhouse. We anticipate your return and in the meantime remain at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

Great food, excellent service. A little bit pricey, but it's worthed every penny!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ramona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
I am thrilled to learn that you enjoyed your experience at Scarpetta. We hope to have you dine with us again in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This was absolutely the worst resort experience I have ever had. From the time we checked in to the time we checked out, the service was terrible, the rooms were dirty, and the people were rude. It started with the front desk telling us that because we weren't important enough, our room was not available and that they would call us when it was. As if that wasn't enough, the luggage handlers lost our luggage and then yelled at us when we dared utter the words "lost". Finally, the room we were put in was dirty with items missing from the minibar that, when we confronted the front desk about it, they said they "cycle them out to make sure they are fresh" ( I didn't realize bottled water went bad...)

All in all a very disappointing stay at what was supposed to be one of the better hotels in Miami.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback from your recent stay with us. We aim to deliver an excellent service level and are disappointed to learn of your impression of Fontainebleau. I am pleased to see that Front Office Management assisted in finding you a suitable room during your stay with us. Regarding your luggage, as explained, your items were simply waiting in the original room prior to your requested room move. Your satisfaction is very important to us, and we hope to have another opportunity to serve you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2012

Stayed on business recently for four days. The hotel is much improved over that of the old days and the level and variety of restaurants and facilities is quite awesome. Nonetheless, I had the distinct feeling of being in a nonstop spring break event, with over crowded facilities brimming with twenty year old kids. This brought the expected swimming pool scenes of loud disc jockeys and drinks galore. The hallsways at night were full of screams and laughter at all hours of the night. Check in and out a nightmare, albeit with very helpful staff. I am sure that for this age group this hotel is marvelous…for all others buyer beware!! My experience with a dinner reservation at Hakasan was also deficient: my reservation was not registered and had to go to another restaurant outside the hotel since everything was booked; take away: make sure you get some code or at least the name of the person who took your reservation. In summary this is a tremendous hotel for young, not too sophisticated or educated twenty something’s probably trying to get as much of the Miami glamour in a too short stay. For those that prefer a more upscale relaxed atmosphere, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fernando B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Fontainebleau. We are saddened to learn of the challenges you encountered and would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly. Our management team has attempted to reach out to you personally via Trip Advisor. We look forward to speaking with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,751 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,268 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#58 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing