We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel, expensive, busy and fun”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #45 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We spent New Years at FB and it was an experience. The party was loud, packed and did I say loud?

Our room was very pleasant. Check-in and check-out was efficient. The pool was awesome. The beachfront is clean and well staffed. The restaurants were all great.

Valet parking was a bit hit and miss regarding rapidity of service, some times the call done service worked, some times it did not. Some times the car would be available in five minutes. 1-2 it took 30 minutes.

The only small down side I have is that the room includes only a single wireless device. My wife and I each have laptop, iPads and smart phones. We need 6 connections. FB needs to upgrade this!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Keith S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (13,339)
There are newer reviews for Fontainebleau Miami Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8,473 - 8,479 of 13,339 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

I have previously written a review about this property. Although the first time we stayed here was not positive, this second time around made up for it.

We arrived Friday afternoon and we were immediately greeted by the valet staff who were very friendly. Although there was a wait at the outside check-in area we were directed to the desk inside the hotel. At the front desk was this very delightful gentleman at around 2pm-4pm who was very nice in cheking us in. He gave us a nice room with a spectacular ocean view. He also sent the valet to take our luggage to our room.

The luggage was sent quickly. Our room was well appointed, more spacious than the last room we stayed at. We ended up in the main building which was conveniently located for parking and common areas. I recommend the main building for your booking,

We ordered breakfast for our second day. The staff was very friendly and delivered breakfast on time to our room. The food was warm and tasty. I recommend the eggs over the pancakes. That same day we decided to use the Lapis spa all day. We wanted to schedule our treatments within a certain period of time so we could enjoy dinner and the spa accomodated our needs.

The spa was just amazing, we recommend the water journeys. It was a nice relaxing day. The staff at the spa was professional and very much patient and understading of our needs. The treatments were amazing and we recommend you to consider their spa. It was private and relaxing.

That night we had trouble with our rooms power system but they sent an engineer very quickly to fix the problem. The valet staff was on top of it and got our car in a promtly manner, although I wished there was a luggage service on the entrance near the check-in desk as there are just steps and no ramps to carry luggage.

So if you plan to carry luggage avoid the entrance by the check in desk and use the main entrance. Also plan to cheak-out in your room rather that at the front desk as there were long lines. The TV check out is easy and hassle free. The valet staff was great and they even knew who we were as we came in.

We enjoyed our stay at this property and the staff was extremely friendly and I would recommend for anyone to stay here.

Room Tip: Main building rooms
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank favioladg31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We loved our stay at this historic Miami hotel. The service was lacking but the atmosphere made up for it. The lobby almost turns into nightclub in the evenings. I would say that it isn't a relaxing venue.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plackstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

Stayed there the first week of January 2013. Service was excellent. Amenities were excellent. Pool was awesome. Food was great. But it is very costly. For example, we ordered two drinks at the bar and it was $38 dollars. You cannot have breakfast for four for under $120. Maybe all the hotels there are this way, I'm not sure.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

As a guest at the hotel and seasonal member of the Orange Bowl Committee my experience has been marked with great service and dedicated staff, most of which have been very friendly and accommodating. Parking at hotels can often be hectic and time consuming. Working with the Fontainebleau and their valet staff has however proven to be a successful feat. Dale has provided one of the best examples of values customer service that I have seen in a while and is a definite benefit to the hotel's transportation and valet services. The staff in general is great but the simple things matter and this is a concept that Dale and the Town Park valet has mastered

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrimaineS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

This was our second stay at the Fontainebleau and I have to agree with some of the other reviews about the front desk/check-in. I found the people at the front desk in the Tresor building to be difficult, and at times insulting. HOWEVER, the exception was Candace - a very sweet young woman who happened to be on duty the evening my daughter lost her first tooth. When I showed up in a panic trying to figure out my plan for the Tooth Fairy, she was very accommodating. She clearly went out of her way to help me, and for that I'm very grateful.

Putting that aside, the rest of our experience at the Fontainebleau was excellent. During our stay last year, our daughters (7 and 5 years old) were enamored with the lifeguards Josue and Julio. The gentlemen were kind to the kids and made sure that everyone had a great time while making sure they were also safe. It was because of this experience last year that we chose to go back. We were thrilled to see that Josue and Julio are still at the FB and have moved on to other positions in the pool area.

While walking around the hotel I recognized another staff member - Richie (Richard), one of the pool area mangers. As it turns out, Richie was previously at Club Med Sandpiper - where we had vacationed in July. Richie is a great addition to the staff at FB. He's organized, attentive and motivated. He's focused on his work and making sure that everyone is happy. And given that our visit was over Christmas, making sure everyone was happy is no small feat. Richie did a phenomenal job managing a huge space and ensuring the guests were well taken care of.

As for our room - we stayed in the Tresor Tower in a junior suite. There was plenty of room for all four us. Our bed was comfortable and clean, and the sofa bed was fine for the kids. The junior suite also has a small, yet efficient kitchenette - which is ideal when traveling with kids. There was a mini fridge, microwave and 2-burner cook top.

All in all a great holiday vacation. We're looking forward to going back next December.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JordanAndRileysMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Recently, a group of friends and I stayed at the Fontainebleau for the Orange Bowl and had an overall good experience. Our front desk service was excellent (thank you Sholom Neistein) when we first arrived, and any other interaction we had with the staff or concierge desk was pleasant. We were upgraded to an ocean-view suite with a balcony, and the view was beautiful. The room was very clean, and we only had two issues with it. One, the bathroom situation was a little awkward since the door and a window (?) to the bathroom had frosted glass, so we had to be careful getting ready. Also, the bathroom (toilet, shower, sink, etc.) had no separation, so multiple people in our group were unable to get ready at the same time. The second issue we had with the room is our second "bed" was an uncomfortable pull-out couch. This room would have been perfect if it were just a couple staying in it.

The resort itself was in a perfect location with easy access to pools and the beach. We stayed in the Sorrento Tower, which really wasn't that far from anything, making travel around the resort convenient. The only issue we ran into from a resort perspective was the price of food and drinks. Be prepared to spend some money if you are eating at the resort.

Staying here was a nice one-time experience, but I don't think I would make it a priority if going back to Miami Beach. While walking the boardwalk, there looked to be many nice hotel options with pool and beach access that I'm sure were less costly than the Fountainebleau. My recommendation would be to enjoy it once if you have the money and find other options for future visits if you are trying to save some money.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,179 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#54 of 210 in Miami Beach
6,803 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,602 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
The Ritz-Carlton, South Beach
#31 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,185 reviews
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#14 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,588 reviews
Hilton Cabana Miami Beach
#88 of 210 in Miami Beach
2,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#20 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £210 - £472 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing