We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Ranked #44 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Presentation of this hotel is great. On the other hand, I have never seen such incompetence staff like here. Starting from reservation. Front Office, Back Office - simply a nightmare.
If you are looking for a nice property, Fontainebleau Miami is the right place. If you need more than a bed and you have ever stay in "normal" hotel, do not risk. They have no idea what customer care means. Does not matter if you call them or speak personally. I can do only one suggestion to the hotel managment - please offer your posts to competence staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I truly apologize for your unsatisfying experience. Your comments will be shared with our team. We hope to have another opportunity to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,828 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7,749
    2,529
    1,197
    679
    674
See reviews for
2,999
3,081
350
2,201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yonkers, New York
1 review
Reviewed 16 May 2014

I was down in Miami for a bachelor party last weekend and although we didn't stay at the Fountainebleau, I made it a point to take the bachelor there because of awesome previous experiences. Needless to say, he LOVED it. We spent the day at their beach and the exceptional service and attention provided by staff members Nekane, Charlotte and Edwin made us feel like kings! Of all of the things we crammed into the weekend, the bachelor could not stop talking about our day at the Fountainebleau. I look forward to my next visit and recommend it to anyone looking for the best Miami has to offer.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rauly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am happy you and your friends were able to enjoy a day with us. Charlotte and Edwin will certainly be recognized for their amazing service. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

The Fontainbleau was very run down years ago and it's headed there again. Two words: customer service. We stayed in the Tresor tower and even a welcoming smile is hard to find. The level of incompetence within each department is astounding. (And I mean every department- valet to in-room dining to wait-staff etc) The Fontainbleau is WAY too big for their staff to handle and they prove that every single day. Yes, they are quick to charge a ridiculous price for everything but is it warrented with the quality and service? NO. We stay at the best places in New York City and Beverly Hills. There is a MAJOR difference between 4 diamonds and 5 diamonds and Fontainbleau will be VERY lucky to remain with 4. Management, take note.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NYCandBeyond1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am disappointed to learn of your unsatisfying experience with us. Your comments will be shared with our team. We apologize for your troubles and hope to exceed your expectations in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed last week. Check in was pretty quick and efficient. Room has a beautiful view on the Atlantic!! Dinner first night at Mina was superb!! Next day hit the beach. Had amazing lunch at our lounge chairs with great care from our server Pablo. All in all an amazing stay. Hope to return soon!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iluvtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to learn of your spectacular stay with us. Pablo will certainly be recognized for his amazing service. We remain at your service and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
curitiba
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

The hotel is great. Nice rooms, amazing restaurants with fair relation between price and quality. The crab eggs benedit are a amazing way to start the day. I recommend go for the menu instead of the breakfast buffet.
The pool service is quite snob as the night club, however always crowed with pretty people.
The check in is very fast and the receptionists very helpful, the rooms are very clean. The location is not the best however any minute you can grab a cab and go away. The beach in front is really nice and the beach service is great.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DIEGO A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for reviewing Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am so happy to hear you especially enjoyed our beaches. We appreciate your recommendations and look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, OK
Level Contributor
138 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

Stayed here May 2014 for a conference & for a few extra days vacation. This is a large property (over 1500 rooms), which strives to be "high end." We found the restaurants to be uniformly excellent, wtih excellent service (will review those separately).

The pool scene is loud & vibrant. Loungers at the beach or pool are included with your room (if you want an umbrella at the beach, though, it's $25 more). The beach is a little quieter than the pool scene.

Drinks are very expensive. Service is a bit impersonal but uniformly good. All bar & restaurant tabs have 18% gratuity added, and they are very good about reminding you of that so you don't accidently double-tip.

The gym facility is large & very nice, included in your room rate. They offer a daily class at 9:00 am, with very good instructors.

There are 10 swimming pools on the property, plus the beach. Some pools are quieter than the rest, so you can find a noise level to your liking. There is a large kids pool & surrounding area for mom's & dad's, with some activities going on for children.

The property is located just North of South Beach, on the boardwalk. There is a Walgreens, a convenience store and a liquor store all within 3 or 4 blocks walk.

We had a room in the Tresor Tower. Because we were staying a week, we were upgraded to a suite which included a kitchenette area and small refrigerator; we were high up (28th floor) with a city/bay view, which allowed us to view the sunset. We heard very little noise, either from traffic or SOBE revelers. Room had good blackout curtains if you wish to sleep late.

I travel to South Beach with some frequency. While I'm glad I stayed here (my conference was held here, the conference facilities are excellent) I think for my next trip I'd stay someplace a bit more intimate.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Beach. I am delighted to hear you were able to experience our hotel for both work and pleasure. We appreciate your recommendations and welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaysville, Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I arrived late at the hotel after loosing a debt card and missing a flight in the morning. Ligia at check-in was great! She upgraded my room to an AMAZING ocean-front suite and let me give a small cash deposit since I didn't have my card.

The room was very nice and the view was unbeatable. All the staff were very polite and helpful.

Room Tip: If you can get into a suite, it is worth it. A colleague of mine did not get upgraded and had a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FBHotelManager, Manager at Fontainebleau Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Fontainebleau Miami Bech. I am so happy to hear our team members made your stay more enjoyable. Ligia will certainly be recognized for her amazing service. We look forward to having you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Loews Miami Beach Hotel
#62 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,265 reviews
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
W South Beach
W South Beach
#11 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,447 reviews
Grand Beach Hotel
#57 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,017 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#22 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fontainebleau Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fontainebleau Miami Beach

Property: Fontainebleau Miami Beach
Address: 4441 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33140-3227
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Miami Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#18 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Fontainebleau Miami Beach 4.5*
Number of rooms: 1504
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A spectacular blend of Golden Era glamour and modern luxury, Fontainebleau today reinvents the original vision of legendary architect Morris Lapidus – a stage where everyone plays their unique part. At Fontainebleau, striking design, contemporary art, music, fashion and technology merge into a vibrant new kind of guest experience. We invite you to enter a world where you are free to play, shop, dine, spa, meet or simply relax – however you define your perfect day. Express yourself in an environment that surrounds you with every kind of pleasure and invites every sort of adventure. Following a $1 billion renovation, the 22-acre oceanfront hotel features signature restaurants by award-winning chefs; two chic nightlife venues; a two-story, 40,000-square-foot spa, expansive poolscape, a pristine Atlantic Ocean beach and state-of-the-art conference and event facilities. A landmark since its debut in 1954, Fontainebleau has been restored and transformed by a team of renowned architects and designers to create the most dynamic destination resort on the eastern seaboard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fontainebleau Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Hotel Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Resort Miami Beach
Fontainebleau Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing