We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A True Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Raleigh Miami Beach
Ranked #30 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York, United States
1 review
“A True Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

Spent hours researching the right place for me and my girlfriend to stay, and we both were beyond satisfied with our experience at the Raleigh. Stayed 3 nights at the Raleigh the 2nd weekend of June with my girlfriend - FANTASTIC hotel. Pictures do not do this place justice.

Service - We were greeted with smiles from the front desk to the pool bar. Pleasantly surprised by a bottle of wine when we checked into our room. Check-in and check-out was seamless. No issues, no hassles :)

Food & Drinks - I am a foodie, so this is probably what I was MOST excited about. I've tried Michael's in midtown on a previous trip and the cusine/style is exactly what I like. During our stay, we had lunch, dinner, bar bites, and a dozen or so cocktails, all tasty and memorable. Drinks i'd recommend the Steel Cup and Victoria. Too much good options on the food menu, but here's some favorites in no particular order: pork sliders (bar menu only), shrimp toast, lobster roll, burger, niscoise salad, tempura okra & peppers, and whole chicken (dinner menu).

The Pool & beach - Spent anywhere from 3~5 hours a day at the pool, and we'd do it again. It's beautiful. I'd recommend starting the day at the beach, enjoy a cocktail or two, get some sand and salt on your skin, have lunch at michaels, then cool down at the pool and cabanas until dinner time.

Thanks for a great vacay Raleigh. We'll be back!

Tips:
- Raleigh has their own bikes to rent ($10 for 8 hours) which is a better deal (and more comfortable) than the city/public bikes. I'd recommend taking advantage of this and going for a nice ride along the beach to start the day.
- Use the beach/pool bag they have in the room.
- Make sure you eat at least one meal at Michaels!!!

Room Tip: I paid a premium for an Ocean View room, and to be honest, I was a little dissappointed. I was expec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2013
Charles C,

Thank you so much for your review! What a vivid description of your stay here with us at Raleigh. Providing memorable experiences is our driving force amongst our team in ensuring that your stay is flawless and memorable!

Thank you so much for visiting our newest addition to our property Restaurant Michael Schwartz, we are elated that you enjoyed the meals and service provided. We must admit that the Shrimp Toast is one of our favorites as well.

Our world renowned pool is has certainly been a factor in creating memorable experiences and are proud that you have also shared in this as well.

We certainly would love to have you back in our home away from home. When you are ready to book, please feel free to contact me directly! We look forward to seeing you soon.

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    814
    428
    147
    60
    47
See reviews for
286
702
97
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
140 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

We stayed at the Raleigh at the end of May, 2013. We were drawn to this hotel by the reviews that we read on Tripadvisor and the pictures of the pool. We wanted to experience the art deco past of Miami. We were certainly not disappointed in the pool -- it is one of the most unique pool areas that we have seen in America. Yes, other hotels on that strip have interesting pools, but this one had the most character and ambiance. The food in the Restaurant Michael Schwartz was top notch. A definite benefit to staying in the hotel to have such a fine dining experience. Having breakfast and dinner outside was really amazing. The service was really first rate everywhere on the property. Especially in the restaurant: the servers were constantly anticipating our needs and went way out of their way to be personable and friendly. The bar is one of the most unique places I have ever seen. It definitely takes you back in time to a bygone era! The bartender there is a true mixologist and was making creations that were incredibly unique. I told him a few of the incredients that I liked and he mixed up a concoction that I will never forget or replicate. Now for the critique: I had to take one star off however, for the prices. It was not merely the cost of the room but the costs of the add ons as well. I understand that in South Beach you can't get a drink for less than $14, but do you really have to pay $25 just for them to set up an umbrella for you at the beach? That is a ripoff and the management should rethink their policy on this as it detracts from the experience a hotel guest has at the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mugro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for review, We are elated that you enjoyed your stay here with us! We are very proud of our world renowned pool area and always excited when our guests have a memorable experience there as well. Restaurant Michael Schwartz is our latest addition to the property and certainly one that has made a name for it self, we think the food is amazing as well! Martini Bar has certainly made a name for itself over the years, we are excited that you enjoyed your cocktails and certainly should come back for another! We have noted your concern regarding the pricing of the umbrellas and will handle accordingly. We would love to have you back with us, should you desire to do so, please feel free to contact me directly to book your next stay.

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2013

After having an unparalleled birthday yesterday at the Raleigh I thought it would only be fair to show my thanks. About 10 of my closets friend and I dined at the Restaurant Michael Schwartz for lunch, then relaxed in a cabana by the pool all day. Lunch was simply delectable and very moderately priced for South Beach. Everyone raved about how great their food was. After lunch, we headed over to our cabana to later find out that along with the purchase of lunch and the cabana we also get a magnum bottle of Rosé wine for us to enjoy free of charge. We relaxed at the amazing pool all day and sipped on refreshing cocktails. My only critique was that they kind of had "elevator music" playing through the speakers in the cabana but was a very minor flaw. Additionally, the service at the Pool Bar, the restaurant, and from the event coordinator were top notch and I even received a shot on the house because it was my birthday! Overall it was a very pleasant experience that I would highly recommend to anyone inquiring.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
ChrisM,

Thank you so much for your feedback! We are so excited that you enjoyed your special day here with us! We are honored that you selected us to spend the day at our newest addition is the Restaurant Michael Schwartz, we enjoy the food as well! We have noted your suggestion on the music and will be sure to handle accordingly! We would love to have you back relaxing with us at our “Oasis” and even stay the night! Should this be of any interest, please feel to contact me directly to book! We look forward to seeing you again!

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

While aware that the buildings in MB must be preserved the interior can be altered. The elevators and rooms are super dark. Very ominous feel. Felt like a motel and definitely not worth $200plus/night. The fine print on my voucher said $35 for parking and I was still charged $39 although I made them aware at check in. Something about the customers is not always right that rubs me the wrong way. Miami Beach is starting to feel less like a vacation spot & more like they're trying to suck every $ out at every turn. Do not see myself staying here again. I enjoyed the National and Royal Palm best.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cc055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We are disheartened to hear that you did not enjoy your stay here at the Raleigh. We have noted your many concerns regarding the halls and elevators, as we are an Art Deco building there are many areas of the hotel that we respectfully preserve as a part of Miami Beach history. In regards to the discrepancy with valet, we sincerely apologize that this was not taken care of and can certainly assure you that our guests satisfaction is our number one priority and strive daily to make our guests feel welcomed and at home. I would love to speak with you regarding your stay, please feel free to contact me directly.

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked this trip through expedia, (thankfully).
When we arrived at the hotel and gave them the booking reference they referred to us by name and then claimed they didn't have the booking. Well how did you know our Name?
The lady at the desk said they hadn't received the booking but could put us up at a sister hotel somewhere else and would we like a drink at the bar while we waited for confirmation.

It soon became clear they had taken the booking but bumped us in favour of guests offering full price. There was a polo event on and no doubt they needed the rooms. Thankfully a call to Expedia magically made a room appear.

You pretty much have to fight the porter for your bags, he's holding on to them and your not getting past him without yet another tip. It's pretty much the game here in town, everything has 18% gratuity on top of it.

What did we get for our money?
A really dated room, tiny bathroom, hallways that actually have external guttering trying to cover pipes, and total confusion about charges for everything, including the fact they charged us the price of the stay on the credit card given for 'incedentals', even though it had already been paid via expedia.
Two Cocktails at the bar = $43. but on the bright side they're never the same twice :)

True, the hotel has a nice pool which is why it's pretty much all you see in the promotions, but then all the hotels on the strip do.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ned m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 June 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate your feedback on your stay here with us at Raleigh. We sincerely apologize for the inconveniences experienced throughout your stay, it certainly is our goal and daily focus to provide the utmost positive experience for our guests. I would love to speak with you in further detail regarding your stay. Please contact me at your earliest convenience. I look forward to hearing from you.

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

Spent an amazing week at The Raleigh Hotel in Miami . Booked 5 rooms for a full week . The pool is fantastic , service is fantastic , front desk super helpful , valet parking boys impeccable , the car was brought almost immediately always . Thanks to The Raleigh Team !
The Hotel is elegant and relaxed , jazz was mostly played in the pool area, people quiet relaxing each to their own ...
Rooms with City View were more than ok , a good size .
Rooms with Partial Ocean View which were more expensive were a dissapointment . Size was considerably smaller , the Tv used part of the opening space to enter the tiny bathroom , that had no bathtub by the way .... And the partial ocean view was a joke ... You had to stand next to the window and look to the side to be able to see it ... View was not nice , much better in the city view rooms ... Guess next time I will book all city view ... maybe we were not lucky with the partial ocean view rooms , We were assigned and there are much better , or maybe they were all the same , don't know ...

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank c0nnieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 13 June 2013
Thank you so much for your review, We are elated that you and your party enjoyed your stay here with us at the Raleigh. We are glad that you were able to experience all that is the Raleigh Hotel from our world reknowned pool to the Restaurant Michael Schwartz which is newly opened at the property! We have noted that you enjoyed the Oasis that is what the Raleigh has been known for as we focus to maintain its charm and class. We have also noted your disappointment in the view of the rooms in which you were booked and reccomend trying our Ocean View rooms on your next stay. When you are ready please contact me directly to book and I will be sure to take care of you! We look forward to seeing you soon!


Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2013

I was surprised to read some of the other Trip Advisor comments about poor service. I only found the exact opposite experience.

We stayed at the Raleigh for a night to celebrate my wife's birthday. It was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in a long time.

We were greeted by the head of customer service, Tiffany Morris. She was friendly, polite, and listened as we told her about the terrible previous hotel experience we had at another Miami beach hotel. She was fantastic!

After we shared with Tiffany that it was my wife's big birthday, she not only gave us a great room but had room service deliver a happy birthday cake to our room as a surprise.

Every person we spoke with there was great and helpful, from the hostess that gave us a to go box for food we had gotten in another restaurant, to the hotel staff that opened every door for us while smiling and telling us to have a good day. Even the intercom person who buzzed us back in from the beach told us welcome back.

I would definitely recommend the Raleigh to anyone who wants a nice boutique hotel in south beach. The rooms are hip, they have great bathroom amenities, the pool is superb, and the location two blocks from Lincoln road can't be beat for restaurants and shops.

The only downsides to the hotel were the course sheets, the typical Miami hotel experience of hearing what's going on in the hallway, and the absolutely strange location of the toilet in the bathroom where your leg is right up against the wall and the door. The service, the location, the coolness of the hotel more than made up for these few deficiencies.

I'd have to say that was probably one of the best hotel experiences we've had and we've been all over the world.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelingTormans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 20 June 2013
Thank you for your review! We are so excited to hear that you had a great stay here with us. We are also happy that your wife was able to enjoy her special day as deserved! We are very proud of our home and want to ensure that every guest experiences are memorable. We have noted the not so pleasurable experiences while here and will certainly look into the sheets. It is humbling to hear despite these small deficiencies we were able to provide an experience fro you. We hope that you will visit with us again soon, please feel free to contact me directly when you are ready to book we would love to have you!

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,615 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#37 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,295 reviews
SLS South Beach
#36 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,146 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,128 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#60 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raleigh Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh Miami Beach

Property: The Raleigh Miami Beach
Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#21 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as a "grand dame" of South Beach Art Deco by Conde Nast Traveler, The Raleigh Miami Beach is a perfect blend of style and comfort. It's chic yet unpretentious, and historic while tastefully modern. The Raleigh offers guests world-class luxury hotel service at a prime oceanfront location on Collins Avenue with exclusive access to the award-winning sbe Miami Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Raleigh Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing