We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classy and relaxing with excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Raleigh Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Raleigh Miami Beach
Ranked #31 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Classy and relaxing with excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

This was my and my husband's first time staying at the Raleigh after many years at another property. We had visited the property numerous times to visit their delightful Martini Bar (thank you Vanessa!) and always ogled the incredible swimming pool. Everything was top notch. The property is clean and well maintained, the food delicious and the service was really good. Despite all this, in my mind, it is the people who make me want to return to a place. That being said, I must first thank Bobby, Hillary, Stephanie, Ben, Anna Maria, and Daniel the life guard, for their wonderful service by the pool throughout my stay. Thank you Elkin, Kimberly and Fernando at the front desk for all their help. I cannot begin to thank Julio (assistant front desk manager) and Gabby (front desk manager) for their patience and assistance when I hit a bump during my stay. They were kind and caring and put the service in customer service. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for an oasis of relaxation in SoBe.

Room Tip: Cannot beat an ocean view room with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review! We are so excited that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are proud to call Raleigh our home away from home and always hope that our visitors feel welcomed during their stay. The Raleigh pool is a must see, an experience that all of our guests should enjoy its beauty is world renowned and happy to hear that you enjoyed it. We are certainly lucky to have the stars of the Raleigh, all mentioned are certainly special and an asset to each of their areas. We would love to have you back here with us. Please be sure to contact me directly when you are ready for your next trip to Miami Beach!

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    798
    422
    142
    56
    47
See reviews for
274
691
96
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

This was our first time in Miami and, truth be told, I'm not sure we're south beach people. We tend to like things a bit quieter than you'll find here, but we adored the Raleigh. Beautiful, quaint hotel with fantastic amenities, superb food, and lovely staff. A day at the pool was divine.

Room Tip: The rooms with balconies on the 2nd floor don't have much of a view, but the outdoor space is fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you so much for your review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay here with us. The pool is certainly the gem of what is the Raleigh. We hope that in the chaos of South Beach you were able to find an Oasis here at the Raleigh. We would love to have you back here with us, please contact me directly when you are ready to book.


Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

Just visited the Raleigh hotel for my bachelorette weekend. I love the old Art Deco style of the hotel, the beach and the pool were amazing!
Service left a lot to be desired- we waited almost 20 minutes to check in while there was hardly any line at the front desk. Then the front desk attendant asked my friends if they would like to give up their king rooms to share a suite. They went up to see the room and it was really small with one king bed and a daybed so they switched back.
Also the service at the pool was pretty bad. We had to flag our waitress down as she was by herself and or ordered directly from the bar and got some attitude actually from the bartender.
We had a suite and it was ok- bathroom was small and nothing special.
However the hotel is very cool- I really enjoyed the style of the hotel and I thought the food was very good. Beach was perfect and we enjoyed hanging out there. I would recommend- its not as posh as some nearby hotels but if you just want to hangout and be lowkey I think Raleigh is a great choice. I also loved the martini bar in the lobby!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dumbo84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 24 August 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you sharing your feedback with us from your last stay. We apologize that the service was not to your expectations as it is very important that each of our guests leave with lasting memorable experiences. We always try to offer the most comfortable room accommodations for our bachelorettes and apologize if this option was not best for your group at this time. Our Pool is world renowned and service is of the utmost importance as well as the maintenance of its beauty. The charm of the Raleigh paired with its history is what we are most proud of and work diligently to maintain and preserve for those who share in the love of the Art Deco era. We would love to have you back and experience us again and I will be more than happy to take care of you. Please feel free to contact me directly when you are ready to book. We hope to see you again at the Raleigh.

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2013

We´ve just arrived from a week at the hotel. The location is perfect: just a few blocks from Lincoln Street and the famous Española Way. It is located in the perfect spot were everithing is close, but with enough distance to make the hotel rooms really quiet. (Ocean drive is just ten blocks away). The hotel is being remodelated by sectors. The lobby an pool are really beautiful, decorated with very good taste. A remarcable thing is the size of the pool area, almost twice y size than bigger hotels. All the people working there was wonderful. A bad thing of most hotels of the area is the parking charge...its about USD 39!!! But, the really weak point in this hotel are the rooms. They are really old and the size of de bed doesn´t match the size of the bedroom! The manager told me that next year they will be solving that issue. If they keep their promise this hotel will be perfect.

Room Tip: Be sure they don´t put you near the place were the cleaning team puts their stuff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pablo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay here with us. We are in a prime location for our guests to enjoy the beauty of our pool and beach as well as the luxury of being just a few steps away from the additional dining and shopping that is available on Lincoln Road. Being an Art Deco property the history and charm of the property is our biggest focus to maintain its integrity. We do anticipate to see continuous upgrades throughout the property with preserving everything that is the Raleigh. We are happy that you enjoyed the pool area and hope that you will visit us again soon!


Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastcote
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

This was our last place to stay after doing a 3 week tour around the south east. So we booked this thinking it would be a lovely luxury hotel going by the website and the price. Dont get me wrong the hotel is very nice but I did expect more. I know everywhere in south beach is expensive, but expect to pay $18 for a small BLT, or $16 for a cocktail. The pool is the centre piece of the hotel and is very nice but I think they have some maintenance to do on it. There is a small moat that goes round the edge of the main pool, the paint from this was peeling off and then floating around in the pool with the other leaves etc which I never saw anyone net out. Also if touched the side the paint would come off on your hands like if it was wet.

Also buyer beware If you book through expedia or similar site they dont make it clear nor do the hotel that there is an extra resort fee of $23 a day. Which I was told was for the use of towels and wifi!?

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tucker121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your last stay with us. I understand how the pricing can be a bit of a shock and can assure you that the pricing is competitive with our neighbors and average for South Beach resorts. We hope that the pricing aligned with the service and quality of the food and Restaurant Michael Schwartz is a shining jewel on the property. We appreciate the feedback regarding the pool and will certainly address the concerns, as The Raleigh pool is famous and want to maintain its beauty. We hope that we are able to have you back with us and try the service again, I would love to personally handle you reservation. If you are interested, please feel free to contact me directly to book.

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is beginning to look like the Raleigh Chronicles. I keep coming back and talking about it.
Since my last stay at the Raleigh in April, there have been a few noticeable changes and there are more coming.
My check in hit a little snag. I do not expect, nor may I demand that the room be ready. I'd rather drop off my bag and jump in the ocean. I do appreciate the fact that I was given a room, however wrong and, perhaps, misguided it was, at the very unreasonable hour before the official 3 pm. Later on, the very pleasant Tiffany, the Guest Services Manager, was able to resolve the issue rather quickly. It really made a difference. I come from a noisy city, and I'd rather have a quieter room. Soundproofing at the Raleigh is an inherent issue. I believe they are looking at addressing it as they begin to refit the rooms, floor by floor, from the top down, next year. As I mentioned before, I hope the fix-up does not eliminate the vintage appeal of this landmark. No beige drapery and furniture, no Fornasetti commonplace, please.
My room wasn't the most desirable (next to the elevator) but it had a small entry way, unlike garden view rooms, where you literally walk into your bed. Tiffany told me that SBE bought the property across Collins Ave. Curious to see how that is developed. I am quite sure it won't have the iconic deco pool. Word to the wise: The Shelborne Hotel next door is being remodeled. It is noisy by the pool.
The restaurant is fully rebranded and it is good (Michael Schwartz is the chef). The Food and Beverage Manager Daniel (?) is out chatting with the guests and buying them drinks (I wasn't that lucky though) and talking about the impending changes, like upgrading the pool furnishings, extending the cabanas, etc.
The menu is great. I had the excellent fish stew, the kale salad, the awesome thin sliced chips, the fish tacos and just about every desert on the menu. Do try the prix fixe in the evening!
The umbrellas at the beach still cost you the tacky $15. Really?? Even with the resort fee??
Lastly, three words: Hillary, Robert and Joan. There's something to be said about seeing familiar faces and being welcomed back. Surprisingly, at the room, I didn't get the always nice handwritten note, nor fruit, nor water this time. Oh, well!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelOnceMonthly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback with us! We certainly are happy that you have decided to continue to visit us and work diligently to provide you with the best service. I apologize that you had a little snag in your arrival but as always we ensure to make each of our guests comfortable and happy that we were able to move you to a more comfortable accommodation for the remainder of your stay. Restaurant Michael Schwartz is our jewel and proud that you enjoyed the food as well as the great service that Daniel provides to all of our guests. Our Pool staff is certainly stars and almost compliment the beauty of the pool, happy to hear that you felt welcomed home. We look forward to seeing you again and please feel free to contact me directly when you are ready to book. I look forward to hearing from you!

Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

What a wonderful stay my wife and I had at this unique hotel. From the moment we arrived we were extremely satisfied with the service and amenities . Our room had a perfect view of the historic pool and of the ocean. The room was wonderful and quiet. Complimentary champagne was delivered for our anniversary. The whole property was spotless and quiet while being in a perfect location in South Beach. The shower was the best shower of any place we have ever stayed. This was our 3rd visit to South Beach and we will never stay anywhere else but the Raleigh.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Guest Relations Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 13 August 2013
Awesome review! Always proud to have another satisfied guest to leave with positive memorable experiences and what a better time than your Anniversary for a celebration of love. The best news is you are coming back and we cant wait to have you! Please be sure to contact me directly when you are ready to book.


Best,
Tiffany Morris
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#20 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,566 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#38 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,259 reviews
SLS South Beach
#39 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
National Hotel Miami Beach
#40 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#12 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#58 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raleigh Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh Miami Beach

Property: The Raleigh Miami Beach
Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#22 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as a "grand dame" of South Beach Art Deco by Conde Nast Traveler, The Raleigh Miami Beach is a perfect blend of style and comfort. It's chic yet unpretentious, and historic while tastefully modern. The Raleigh offers guests world-class luxury hotel service at a prime oceanfront location on Collins Avenue with exclusive access to the award-winning sbe Miami Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your The Raleigh Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing