We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Raleigh Miami Beach
Ranked #36 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A gem!!!!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 via mobile

Just home from my 2 weeks stay at the Raleigh.
Omg I love that place.
I fell in love with Miami but the Raleigh is the reason why i keep returning to Sobe.
The hotel is a real Art Deco gem right on the beach close to all main attractions.
The rooms are nice( some of them offer a magnificent view of the pool and the beach) though "basic": but that is probably the reason why people keep year after year returning to the Raleigh. It kept during all those years the authenticity of the building and not cheap make overs like some of it neighbor hotels.
Expect an Art Deco room and an Art Deco bathroom.
If you are not sensitive to "authenticity" you won't be pleased with the decoration and amenities.
The penthouse is amazing: it has been used over to years to host private events and numerous fashion
shoots.
If you want to watch lots of fake boobs, lamborghinis and extremely loud music you will be disappointed.
If you want to chill in a relaxed environment and be surrounded by a hip/ lay back crowd this is the place.
Don't be surprised to bump into a famous star or that fashion photographer you always admired...
The pool is just awesome. Probably one of the most iconic pools ever!
The oasis and it's cabanas behind the pool allow you to chill during the day.
The restaurant serves great food but I would recommend the outdoor seating- absolutely magical to have dinner there at night...
The personnel is absolutely adorable and helpful.
Jasmel at the front desc is beside funny extremely helpful. ( ask him to explain you the funny anecdote about his famous grandmother), Fernando is the best and sweetest concierge ever and Tiffany , the front office manager is always around to please and help and keeps a great eye on her team.
A special thanks to Kim who is a real ray of light and her mother Olga whom is head of the housekeeping.
They are doing a great Job!
The ladies at the coffee bar are always there to make your favourite drinks and serve the most delicious cookies and pastries.
The only person whom
I seriously missed is Bobby at the pool. Bobby was the guy who made you come to the bar just for a chat.
He was a great bartender, a perfect "host" of the pool area.
He "understood" the Raleigh, it's guests and he was devoted to his job. He just had that glamour in him... That little something others just don't have...
I do believe the usual crowd of the pool will miss him and I do hope the management will realize that as a returning guest after all these years some things just cannot be changed...
The hotel has been sold to Tommy Hilfiger and we can't wait to see what will come next.
But remember the Raleigh should be treated as a lady... With care.
Un unconditional fan of this sobe gem

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GenevaDoudounette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us. We love that you have adopted the Raleigh as your own special spot in Miami Beach. I can't tell you how thrilled we are that the Raleigh has become part of your history and that you're able to recall so many fond memories year after year of your time here, it certainly speaks a lot of our culture. The way you described this "classic gem" of a hotel couldn't be more personable and fitting. Above all we're happy that it is our staff, namely Fernando, Jasmel, Kim, Olga,( and I'm glad and honored to be included in this list as well) that has made the most lasting impression of the Raleigh for you. I certainly agree that Bobby will be missed by many of our guests and staff. We can't wait to welcome you back and we look forward to continue to be worthy of being you "gem" in Miami Beach.

Warm regards,

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,592 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    866
    456
    152
    68
    50
See reviews for
299
748
106
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Outstanding employees:
Fernando (Best and most willing to help concierge ever. Whatever you need, ask Fernando. He his not only kind, but also super efficient. Bring Fernando your issues, he will fix the points for you on a timely and efficient maneer)
Jasmel (Front desk officer. You can ask him anything at any time. Jasmel will provide you all the support you need. Should Fernando be away, ask Jasmel. He's the man)
Olga (housekeeping). Nothing to say, but the rooms are always very well serviced.
Tifanny (Front desk). If Fernando and Jasmel were angels, Tifanny would be Charlie. She's service oriented, client satisafction oriented, efficient in evereything she does, has a charming smile and is always very chic. What a pleasure to pass by the front desk.
The girls at the coffee shop are absolutely fab'. Try their ginger shots. The best ever.
Moukoul is not only chic but also willing to help. He is a valet but deserves to run his own hotel.
Miguel acts as a server at the beach/pool/restaurant. There was a problem when casting him. He was actually a trainee, but he would deserve to be a team leader. He is service oriented and would be a perfect Client Relationship Manager.

BUT Hire back Bobby (Pool bar).
For some reasons, Bobby stopped working at the Raleigh during our stay. Bobby was not only a visible figure of the Raleigh, but he was also an outstanding barman whith the unique ability to keep a trackrecord of all guests within the years.
Bobby could welcome us by our names after months of absence, and he was able to prepare our favorite beverages without having us to remind him on what we liked.
Whatever his personality, Bobby is probably the best barman I have ever met during my very numerous trips around the world.
I doubt any newcomer(s) may ever be able to replace him, and I would not be surprised to see loyal customers go and get daypasses at his new employer's place to enjoy Bobby's fab cocktails.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OlivierUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are thrilled that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay and particularly that Fernando, Jasmel, Mukhul and myself have been an important part of that experience for you. As for Bobby, it is always hard to see someone go when they have been part of our team for so long but we certainly wish him all the best. We love that Raleigh is a part of your story and your home away from home in Miami. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.


Best,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weston, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We stayed here in August 2014 for a weekend getaway so we didn't have a lot of time to explore the hotel, but we found it to be a very nice little hotel in a quieter stretch of South Beach. Located at 18th and Collins, it's north enough of Ocean Drive to not hear the nightlife once you're ready to call it a night, but close enough you can still walk home. The hotel has a valet, restaurant, and bar (which we didn't sample) as well as a large pool area with two bars and plenty of space. Check-in and check-out were very easy and the rooms come with free wi-fi and two complimentary beach chairs (umbrellas unfortunately are extra, around $19). Everything was clean and sophisticated looking with a mini-bar and fridge in our room which was restocked after our first night.

The only slight negative was our room, which was actually located in a stairwell, and was smaller than most other rooms we've stayed at in SoBe. The bathroom was particularly small with not enough space for the two of us to lay out everything. This is probably due to the hotel being older (all doors have actual keys), and while it didn't stop us from enjoying ourselves, if you are staying for a while and have a lot of baggage, you may find a standard room to be too small.

For a weekend of fun in South Beach where you want some down time in between going out, I'd certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 417 is actually in a stairwell behind a fire door. Not the most impressive of locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perkeo73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 1 September 2014
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the pool, outlets and hotel amenities were to your liking . I'm sorry to hear that you were not too pleased with the room that you stayed in (although the '17 series are corner rooms with much more window space and more of a view they are also at the end of the hallway, adjacent to stairwell exit, which is actually a preference for some of our guests.) It is very important for us to make sure that you have the room that is right for you, based on your preferences, hence we will do our best to honor these for your return stay. We would love to welcome you back soon.


Best,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My husband and I spent(sadly)only 2 nights here celebrating our babymoon and wedding anniversary. It was the perfect spot. When we arrived the friendly woman at the front desk let us know that we had been upgraded and that our room was ready(early). The room itself was very good(just felt that the bed could have been a little more luxurious) but completely comfortable and nice enough.The pool area is awesome and we immediately went out there to relax. I couldn't drink because I am expecting but the two different bartenders that worked there during our stay made some delicious non-alcoholic alternatives for me that were't too sweet :) We were there during the week so it was quiet with some occasional noise from the construction next door(it is supposed to be finished very soon). We prefer a little more chill vibe then some of the hotels on South Beach and this Hotel fit the bill perfectly. The music was subtle and appropriate for relaxing. Some of the other nearby hotels play louder party type music during the day which is not good if you want to unwind.The food here is excellent. The cuban sandwich we ordered at the pool was delicious and the french fries were amazing :). When it started to rain we headed up to our room and while we were there we had a knock at our door. One of the staff members came in with 2 desserts and a bowl of fruit for us. It was such a nice touch. Not to mention the chocolate/caramel dessert was so good! Dinner at the restaurant under the big beautiful tree with hanging lights was another terrific part of our stay. Dinner was excellent and they brought us two complimentary glasses of champagne...apparently they only got the memo about the anniversary so I took a couple of sips and my husband finished my glass :) At the end of our meal we also got a complimentary dessert! Unfortunately it was the same that we had had that afternoon but it was so good we weren't complaining. The next day we went out to the beach for the first half of the day. It was nice out there as well but I preferred the pool. Because the Raleigh is a smaller hotel it was less crowded in our section of the beach then the other nearby hotels where chairs were crammed in next to each other. The service at the hotel was outstanding. Everyone there was friendly and went above and beyond. We will definitely go back there again!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bloomfieldoenophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We are thrilled that you celebrated two very special and momentous occassions with us as are both your Anniversary and the upcoming arrival or your child. The Raleigh does offer more of a relaxing atmosphere and quaint venue in which to kick back and celebrate in old school charm. We're thrilled in particular that the service is what stood out the most during your stay, and our own Resaturant Michael Schwartz and made the most of all the amenities and services the Raleigh has to offer. We would love to welcome you back with the new addition to your family or for your next anniversary. Please contact me directly to assist you with any arrangements for your future travel plans.

Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nashville
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

For so many reasons we love to visit this hotel but the biggest is to relax by the pool. For the minute we arrive all we want to do is relax and unwind and the pool creates the perfect environment for just that. The team makes it easy to enjoy all of the amenities of the pool while we let the world outside slip away.

The rest of the hotel is great. We heard the hotel will be renovated soon which is exciting. We can't wait to see what is in store for The Raleigh.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janet0446
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We agree that the pool is the hallmark of the Raleigh experience and the perfect spot to really enjoy, relax and kick back. We're glad that you were able to make the most out of your stay and make of the Raleigh your little tropical haven amid the South Beach hustle. We cant wait to welcome you back!

Best Regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level 6 Contributor
246 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

99 % of the staff was truly friendly and helpful, great food, excellent wi-fi. Beautiful pool area with outdoor beds, trees and lots of places to find shade.

This hotel has put a lot of effort into small details that made us pleasantly surprised throughout our stay (such as the fact that our room hade a huge walk-in closet, umbrellas to borrow free of charge (the umbrella actually matched the hotels colors) and real keys, no plastic cards). The only downside was our old bed. Comfy yes, but it made a lot of noise.

Great location in South Beach, close to restaurants, bars and shopping but still in a quiet area. The hotel is just a minute away from the beach and offer sun beds there (there's a mandatory daily fee added to your hotel bill for this - so make sure you use them!).

The hotel strives to achieve a feeling of 1940s luxury and decadence. And they do it well.

We stayed 4 nights at this hotel and simply loved it. We will definitely return to The Raleigh!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you for your sharing your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us. We're so happy that you enjoyed a wonderful and memorable experience. Certainly the charm and history of the Raleigh come to life through its details and artefacts such as the pool, martini and coffee bar and vintage style key chains, among other things. The amenities, location and especially the staff make for a distinctive and special experience. We are sorry to hear that your bed was somewhat squeaky; we will defniitely look into addressing this. We would love to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas, United States
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Cool hotel with a beautiful pool and surprisingly comfortable rooms. People watching prime location. If traveling to South Beach again, I would definitely choose to stay at the Raleigh again. The only issue was with the poor valet service, but that could have been a one time occurrence.

Room Tip: Elevators are old and slow so lower floor may be better if riding in elevators isn't your thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rehf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany M, Front Office Manager at The Raleigh Miami Beach, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience with us. We are delighted that you had a great stay and that you found our rooms to be comfortable and our location to be prime. We're terribly sorry that you found our valet service to be lacking but we will definitely look into this. We would love to welcome you back soon.

Best regards,
Tiffany Morris
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#25 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,812 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,412 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SLS South Beach
#35 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,135 reviews
City Center
The Redbury South Beach
The Redbury South Beach
#17 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,191 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#15 of 208 in Miami Beach
2,529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Raleigh Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Raleigh Miami Beach

Property: The Raleigh Miami Beach
Address: 1775 Collins Avenue, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#16 Spa Hotel in Miami Beach
#25 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
#31 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#34 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Raleigh Miami Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hailed as a "grand dame" of South Beach Art Deco by Conde Nast Traveler, The Raleigh Miami Beach is a perfect blend of style and comfort. It's chic yet unpretentious, and historic while tastefully modern. The Raleigh offers guests world-class luxury hotel service at a prime oceanfront location on Collins Avenue with exclusive access to the award-winning sbe Miami Collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Preferred Hotels, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Raleigh Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Raleigh Hotel Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing