We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel for the Price and Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #69 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for the Price and Location”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Hotel was clean and a great location on Ocean Drive. It's not located next to all of the happening spots, which is great because it keeps the noise and traffic down at night. The rooms are small but for the price, you can't beat it. I will definitely consider staying here again.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Kiana B ,

Our goal is to make each and every guest feel they are at their home away from home. I am happy the read you had a lovely time and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    472
    189
    80
    66
See reviews for
179
581
72
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Lots of good things about this hotel, front desk and concierge very helpful gave some excellent recommendations for local restaurants. Good access to the beach and busy Collins avenue and Espanola Way which is where we went to eat most nights. You need to ask for ice which isn't an issue and fresh water, coffee is available 24hrs in reception.

Where I feel this hotel could improve the guest experience is with the restaurant. The breakfast voucher given is for continental however the restaurant allows you to select other items at a reduced rate which is oddly calculated and never the same from one day to the next. Our experience of the restaurant service was very poor and they expected an 18% tip which was calculated on the complimentary breakfast value. After the first 4 days of this we decided to have breakfast elsewhere. This is no way a reflection of our stay however it is something that I feel the hotel should address.

Parking at the hotel is $25 for 24hrs. You can however park for $20 for 24 hrs one block up at 13th and Collins, only thing to note is at the weekend this garage can get extremely busy so you may not be able to get your car back in the garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Kirsty F ,


Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read you did not have the upmost guest experience with our restaurant .

It isFeedback like your makes a difference and allows us to personalize guest experience. In the future if your travels bring you Miami Beach, please feel free to contact directly and I will ensure you have a perfect stay.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed there for two nights during a hot and humid July 4th holiday. In short, a very mediocre stay. May or may not stay there again.

Positives:
Looks like the hotel went through a big renovation lately - so all furnitures seem pretty new and modern - does fit the Autograph Collection profile. Upgraded to a oceanfront room due to my status with Marriott - so parking lot or alley view. Service from the the staff varies (but still above average) - most front desk staff are very nice and accommodating, some housekeepers are, but some are not so. Very easy access to the beach and offers towel service. The hotel also has a small terrance and a relaxing mezzanine level. The hotel also offers amenity from L'Occitane - but the housekeeper didn't replenish them on my second day. There are pleasant small touches - umbrella in room, 24-hr coffee, etc. The overall value is okay for a hotel on South Beach and right situated on Ocean Drive.

Negatives:
Kinda surprised at first to see this hotel is branded as a Autograph Collection hotel. There is a restaurant in the front and occupies part of the lobby. The waitresses can be really pushy sometimes. Elite breakfast are offered there - but continental only (- they have a weird math in calculating how much a "free" continental breakfast voucher worth and could be applied towards ordering other menu items). As an Autograph Collection, it is sad to see they did not take an extra step to offer something better than just a plain continental breakfast. As an Art Deco hotel, room size is on the small side. They try so hard to cram as many rooms as possible into this tiny hotel - rooms even have entrances in the stairwell and next the elevator door. Choose another hotel if you want a quiet room: constant noise from the street + you can also hear your neighbors. There is only one elevator - so expect some lines.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xavierkuai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 3 midweek nights, found the staff friendly and helpful both on arrival and throughout, including at the bar and restaurant. Ocean view room on 4th floor was clean and spacious with all facilities (safe, tv etc) in working order. Given the room fronted onto the the busy road and was also over the restaurant it was not too loud, which was pleasing. I found it to have an impressive deco reception and bar area when viewed from the gallery, where free coffee is available. Overall I had an enjoyable experience at Winterhaven.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TadaTalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Imren A,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I recently stayed, during the NBA finals and had a wonderful experience (even being a Spurs fan.) The staff was very friendly and willing to engage in conversation with its guests. I was nervous about staying smack in the middle of south beach with a child but the hotel provided a very family friendly atmosphere. The rooms and bathroom are small but even with a family of 3, it didnt seem too overcrowded. Even for being on Ocean Drive, it was quiet enough to get a good nights rest and convienent enough to enjoy all the attractions south beach has to offer. Interstingly we had come to Miami from Disney World and my 5 year old sons favorite part of the trip was our time in Miami. Thank you for providing us with a wonderful visit and I will definitely be looking to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prezstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear prezstat ,

It was an absolute delight to read about your great experience during your recent stay with us. My staff and I strive for 100% guest satiation and take great pride in our guest and service.

We are looking forward to seeing you again at your home away from home!

Warm regards,
Carlos Samiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014 via mobile

Very cute boutique hotel right on Ocean Drive! Room and bathroom were small, so they should have been cleaned perfectly. Quaint rooftop area but no pool. Staff are friendly. Actually pretty quiet even for being on the street side.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coastieswife926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Coastieswife926,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review! We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I gotta good deal off Travelzoo in the Spring and stayed for a short vacation. The world cup was going on, so Miami(south beach) was packed. Overall, the location is great, close enough to all the hot spots on Ocean Drive, yet far away so that you can get a decent night sleep.

My only issue was that it was too packed, which caused room service and check in/check out to be delayed.

After check out, the front desk also made an error, and forgot that we used our vouchers for the travel zoo deal, and ran my card for the room twice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheSalesGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear the salesguys,
Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us.
Yes- during special events such as the World Cup, the South Beach area can be congested.
I sincerely apologize for credit card description during your stay. Your comments and feedback has been shared with the team to ensure this does not happen to our future guest.

The next time your travels bring you to Miami Beach, please feel free to contact me directly at carlos.sarmiento@bluemoonhotel.com and I will personally handle your reservation.



Kind regards,
Carlos Sarmiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#79 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,876 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Property: Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel, built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Florida seafood and Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing