We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recent Stay”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I came here to celebrate my bday after a cruise from West Palm. The hospitality was awesome. I got there early and had to wait on my room but they got me in a room within the hour. They also gave me a voucher for breakfast for the wait. It is in a perfect location on south beach. Very clean, comfortable and cozy. The staff was awesome.

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Vanessa V,

Thank you for your recent stay and taking the time to write your review!

We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Miami Beach.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    562
    482
    191
    80
    66
See reviews for
184
596
73
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (198)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Meridian, MS
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My husband and I travel all the time. Until this stay, we have never deemed it necessary to write a review for any of our accommodations. The staff at the Winter Haven was over accommodating. They responded immediately to any and all requests and did everything possible to make our stay as pleasant as possible. The location was awesome too. We have traveled to Miami many, many times and this was our first time staying right in the thick of things in South Beach. We highly recommend staying here if you enjoy being right at the beach, being convenient to everything on Ocean Drive and South Beach, and if you like excellent hospitality, food, drinks, and deco.
Doug & Shonda
Meridian, MS

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug-Shon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Doug-Shon,

Thank you for your visit and for writing your review! I am happy to read that you had such an enjoyable time - our goal is to exceed expectations whenever we can.

We look forward to your return stay!

Kind regards,

Carlos Sarmiento

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Located literally right across the street from the beach on Ocean Dr, this place is a charming little boutique hotel that you wouldn't peg as a Marriott. Built in the 1930s but obviously renovated in the past few years, it is right in the middle of the Art Deco district. The public access beach is directly across the street. The rooms are nice and comfortable. We stayed in room 401 with a nice view of the beach/ocean but the world's smallest bathroom. Our kids were in 405 which didn't have our view, but had a normal sized bathroom - trade offs ;) The staff was super friendly an accommodating. The lobby bar was small but nice. There is a wrap around lounge on the second floor where there are a couple of computers (we didn't use them) and seating looking down into the lobby, There is a rooftop patio that is clean but nothing special. They also supply you with beach towels in the lobby. Definitely worth staying at!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VinoTinto65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear ViniTinto65-

Thank you for your kind review!

We take great pride in the history of our hotel. The hotel went under a complete renovation in 2012 when it became an Autograph Collection by Marriott. Within the coming weeks we will be adding extra amities to our rooms (mini refrigerators and coffee makers).

It is always great to read the staff made a difference during your visit.

We look forward to welcoming you again at your home away from home.

Best,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Nice hotel situated on the promenade. We were in one of the busiest weekends of the year (4th of July) and still the staff had time enough to help all the guests. The breakfast at the restaurant was very good, don't try the diner.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaViper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear The Viper,

Thank you for the 5 stars!

It is always great to ready our team was able to provide personalized service during the busy time.

It is feedback like yours which allow us to create sincere, unique and memorable experiences.


Best,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

The hotel staff are very friendly and yes it is a small hotel. The rooms ending in 01 and 02 are with a view of the beach across the street. There is one small elevator serving the hotel, so the stairs became quite useful. The rooms are tiny as are the bathrooms, but clean. The art deco style is charming, and steps to all the main attractions in south beach, including Lincoln and Esponala Way. 24 hour parking is available at a public garage steps from the hotel, about $20...slightly cheaper than Valet. Also, there is a great sandwich shop around the corner where the locals go...ask the staff, La Sandwicherie. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Choose rooms ending in 01 or 02...these are ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PJG2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear PJG2224

Thank you for you recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I was pleased to read about your great experience you received and the difference my staff made.

Warm regards,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

A friend and I spent 3 nights at the Winter Haven in July. We selected the Winter Haven on the basis of wanting to stay in an Art Deco property in South Beach and a great deal offered by a travel discount site. The hotel was a reasonable choice at the heavily discounted price we paid but would have been a questionable choice at the $350+ rack rate quoted on the reservation paperwork.

Our room was very, very small - possibly appearing more so because we asked for a room with 2 beds. There was hardly enough floor room for suitcases laying flat. There was also no refrigerator or coffee-making appliance and the only desk-like space was very small and covered with the mini bar stuff - there wasn't any other space for a mini bar which explains why it was on the tiny (Art Deco) desk/table thing. The bathroom was new, modern and small but adequate.

The hotel itself has lots of original features, or close enough to seem original, including a terrazzo floor in the lobby and interesting light fittings. It also has a mezzanine sitting area with coffee, a guest computer and nice view out to the sea. The free wifi worked very well and I spent quite a bit of time in the mezzanine working in lieu of working in the bedroom.

Our tariff included a continental breakfast consisting of several small pastries but the restaurant had a good al la carte breakfast as well and also pretty good food at other meals. The little lobby bar made very good cocktails. The staff were welcoming and helpful. The hotel has no pool but provides towels for guests to use at the beach which is, after all, just across the road. There is also no on-site parking but valet parking is available for $25/night which is about average for Miami hotels.

Overall, the Winter Haven was a reasonable choice for us and very well placed on Ocean Drive. I would consider it for a return visit especially at something close to the very good discount rate we found.

Room Tip: The room with 2 beds was very, very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Jane E,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We are delighted that your stay with the Winter Haven, Autograph Collection!

Within the coming weeks we will be adding refrigerators and coffeemakers to all our guest rooms.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We came to stay at this hotel in mid July for a Girls weekend. From even before our arrival. the hotel staff was excellent to work with! Nina was so great with our requests to accommodate our group and Lissette was excellent as well through the entire check-in process with such a large group of girls. We had 3 rooms on the 5th floor and it was perfect! The walls were thick so we couldn't hear anything from the other rooms. The beds were super comfortable and the bathrooms were just what we needed for a group of girls. The restaurant at the hotel was also very delicious - which is where we had breakfast each of the mornings. In addition - the location of the hotel was perfect for getting around to the nightlife, restaurants, and of course, being right on the beach is perfect. There was no pool, but there is a gorgeous rooftop deck that you can mingle at. The staff here was so so excellent, they truly made our stay perfect and so memorable. I've already recommended this hotel to many more of my girlfriends.

Be sure to grab beach towels early in the morning as they go quickly! Also - the elevator can be a little slow so be patient :) The beds are super comfortable and the closets in the rooms are super spacious. Thanks so much Winter Haven for making this such a memorable and wonderful stay! We'll be back again soon :)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ComeAwaywithZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Zworldtraveler55 ,

We are very happy you had a pleasant stay. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Warm regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#47 of 208 in Miami Beach
544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#73 of 208 in Miami Beach
153 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#66 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,176 reviews
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Property: Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel in Miami Beach, Florida - built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing