We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful 2-year Anniversary Thanks To Ms. Arias And Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Ranked #69 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful 2-year Anniversary Thanks To Ms. Arias And Staff”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

This is my second time in Miami, I stayed a the Betsy my first year. I never knew about this hotel before and I am glad I found it. My stay brings me down here for 3 days, I am currently here on my first day now. I love this hotel, the staff is the very best, my room was ready before check-in. If your room is not ready they will hold your luggage and call you when it is ready. The breakfast is excellent! The hotel is clean. All the staff is very friendly. I love my room, Ms. Arias was able to take good care of me and provide me a room to die for! I love my room. They have a business center with a MAC, my wife is using it as I am typing. The location of this hotel is flawless, its right on 14th. And truth be told, the rates for this hotel are 2nd to none. The roof deck is AMAZING, better then the Betsy, hands down. I have nothing bad to say about this hotel worth giving any consideration. I use to be a travel agent in my former life, and this hotel gets it right. Message to the GM: You got a good group, from the front desk, to the bar, to the young lady that was standing out front early AM to Late PM inviting guest to dine, please don't take them for granted :) See you again soon!!!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank william p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Dear William P,

WOW… Thank you for your excellent review!
Our roof deck does have a phenomenal view- the perfect spot for relaxation.

Nina Arias is a true super star; it is always refreshing to read when our staff makes the difference.

I will make sure to personally share your feedback with the entire team

The next time your travels bring you back to Miami Beach, please contact me directly and I will personally handle your reservation.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,347 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    472
    189
    80
    66
See reviews for
179
581
72
113
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I found out about Winter Haven through Groupon. I read the reviews first and then decided to purchase the deal. I'm glad I did.

First and foremost, the location was amazing. Away from the "craziness", but close enough to walk to it. My last visit to Miami, I stayed on 7th and Ocean and once we walked out of the hotel, we were in the mix of everything.

Upon my arrival, which wasn't until about 11pm, I was greeted by two friendly male employees. The guy checking me in made a face that made me nervous. I asked if I was getting a bad room and he said that I was actually getting one of the two rooms in the hotel that has a balcony, room 618. That news definitely kicked my stay off to a good start!

The room and bedroom were on the smaller side; perfect for my needs. It was perfectly air conditioned and there was a ceiling fan. The tv responded to the remote slowly and the service cut out one day when it rained for a bit.

The balcony was a great addition. I couldn't find the switch to turn on the light during the night; if the light was in fact functional. It was so peaceful that I fell asleep out there one night. The sunroof deck was nice as well. I noticed that it wasn't used very much; which was fine with me because it wasn't noisy when I was outside.

I did not eat at the restaurant nor did I get a drink from the bar.

I will definitely stay at this hotel again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngerraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlos_S185, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Angerrak,

Thank you for your recent visit and for sharing your review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and loved our location.

We hope to see you again on your return visit to Miami Beach.

Kind regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed here for my bday weekend from 8/8 - 8/11. As previous people have stated the rooms are small but the bed was comfortable and the room was clean. What more do you really need in Miami Beach anyway!?! We received a $50 credit when we checked in and used it for Breakfast, which was average and cost about us $47 for two people (typical for Miami). There's a Walgreen's right behind the hotel and you are in the center of it all (14th and Ocean). Beach is across the street and the hotel provides free beach towels. Cab ride to and from the airport is about a 20-30 minute drive ($32 cab fare). I would definitely recommend this hotel and plan to stay here again in the near future.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MzGrenada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mzgrenada,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read about the great experience you had during your visit with us. We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Warm wishes,
Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1,012 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 295 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights primarily on Rewards points. The hotel is yards away from the beach and close to the top end of Ocean Drive. We arrived and were directed to the valet location at the side of the hotel on 14th St. The lobby area is beautiful and you have to take your time to look at the work that has been done to restore it. The staff were very helpful and friendly. There is only one lift, but that tends not to be too much of an issue. The rooms are quite small and the beds are narrow too. We struggled to get all of our bags laid out and had to get quite inventive. Our room was at the side of the hotel with a partial view of the ocean. There was a good selection in the mini bar. There was no pool, but the roof was set aside for sunbathing. The second floor had free coffee 24 hours a day. Overall a great location and a stunning lobby area, maybe better for couples than families.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sdwoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Sdwoo,

Our goal is to make each and every guest feel they are at their home away from home. I am happy the read you had a lovely time and we look forward to your return visit.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Here for a birthday weekend, the staff is very friendly and the room is super clean and comfortable. The hotel is located in the perfect location in South Beach, close to everything.
Walgreens behind the hotel is perfect to stock the room with drinks and snacks.
I highly recommend this hotel and will stay here again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Skilled312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Skilled312,

Thank you so much for you kind review!

Our staff are indeed the key to our success - we are genuinely concerned about our Guests' needs and I was happy to read that you felt that.

We look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next.

Warm wishes,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Everglades City, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Winter Haven for a weekend after we found a special on TravelZoo. The location of this little gem was absolutely perfect... centrally located on Ocean Blvd, steps away from shopping on Collins, directly across from the Beach. From the moment we arrived the service was amazing from the Front Desk to the Bellman and Maintenance. The rooftop was a nice view and a pleasant place to enjoy our morning coffee while still in our bathrobes! Rooms were very small, but clean and we didnt plan our weekend to South Beach to spend in a room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bruzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Bruzki,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to read about the great experience you had during your visit with us. We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Best regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spanish Fort, Alabama
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very Nice Hotel. My husband and I stayed 3 nights, it was great! The staff was so pleasant. They supplied cold lemon/lime water in the lobby, which was very refreshing after coming in from the beach and hot sun. We had a king room, good size, the bathroom was a little small, but then, it was built in the late 1930's. We had a partial view of the ocean, lovely view with the sunset and when the sun came up. The lobby and mezzanine were decorated very nicely. We were able to walk everywhere. Had breakfast each morning at the restaurant. I highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MightyMight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John P, General Manager at Winter Haven, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Mighty Might,

Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to rate us. I am excited to read about your great stay and the difference my staff made.

We take pride in the history of the hotel and we look forward to you return visit!

Kind regards,

Carlos Sarmiento
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse, South Beach
Leslie Hotel
#43 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cavalier South Beach
#79 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
The Tides South Beach
#71 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,160 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#10 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winter Haven, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winter Haven, Autograph Collection

Property: Winter Haven, Autograph Collection
Address: 1400 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4108 (Formerly Winterhaven South Beach)
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#39 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#46 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#47 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#54 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Winter Haven, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection is a truly unique hotel, built from a renovated 1939 Art Deco property located in the heart of South Beach on Ocean Drive. Enjoy breathtaking ocean views from it's rooftop terrace offering sun loungers and full food and beverage services. Savor fresh Florida seafood and Italian cuisine on-site at Il Bolognese. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Winter Haven, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Winterhaven South Beach Hotel Miami Beach
Winterhaven South Beach Miami
Winter Haven, Autograph Collection Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing