We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another Great Stay”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #128 of 214 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have been going to South Beach for over 15 years and regularly stay at the Richmond. It surprises me that I see reviews that say “you get what you pay for”. Possibly the reviewers have never been to South Beach. When we go to SoBe we don't want a "convention hotel" experience like the Loews or Ritz ( you can get that anywhere) and I don’t like spending a small fortune for a room at the Delano, SLS, etc. It's just personal taste. That essentially leaves the historic Deco hotels. Now, you can stay in a Deco hotel that is dirty, smelly, in disrepair with an arrogant, uncaring staff (and there are many), or you can stay at a clean, well maintained hotel with a delightful staff. The Richmond certainly falls into the latter category. When we go to SoBe we want a pleasant SoBe experience and the Richmond always delivers with charm. It is our go-to hotel. I feel that we get what we pay for but more importantly we get the experience we want at the Richmond. R & C

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank 866russd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,
What a great review! Thank you so much for you kind words. Please consider the Richmond hotel, your home away from home.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

485 - 491 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2014

We found this hotel to be bargain due to its location and price. Our stay was for two days for $342 for both days, including taxes and fees. Although the hotel is a a bit of a long walk from the Ocean drive it is within walking distance. The rooms are accurately described and were nicely decorated and very clean. The hotel also has a nice good size pool and beach access from the rear. You also get two beach chairs and umbrellas for a bargain of $5, not including the tip. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. They also had parking for $35 a night, which we also consider a bargain in this area of south beach.

The hallways could use a rehab but they were not unsanitary or unsafe in anyway. If they maintain their cheap rates we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a good experience. We do our best to provide the South Beach resort experience, but a more modest price.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rating my experience in this hotel as one star. Reason for this low rating is the blatant lack of cleanliness and professionalism from the pool staff.

Late in the morning, I noticed animal feces on the side of the pool. All day, I observed the staff walking by with no one caring enough to pick it up.

After several hours, I asked one of the staff members if he could remove the excrement. He said he would.

After waiting for another 30 minutes, I proceeded to talk to a manager.

Person who came to remove the feces found nothing better than use the broom he was using to clean the deck. Then without ever wiping anything, he went on to pour clorox on the area - ALL of it going into the pool!

I am not the kind to post reviews, especially negative. However, this was just beyond unacceptable and other people should be aware.

NOTE: the rooms appeared clean and staff was otherwise friendly.

Michael C.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. This situation was obviously not handled in the correct manner, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We have an excellent housekeeping staff, that strives to maintain a very clean property. I will bring this to the attention of hotel management, so something like this does not happen again. Apart from the incident on the pool deck, I'm happy you a good stay.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights for Easter and we loved it.
Pros: great location surrounded by cool fun hotels and restaurants; charming decor; lobby, restaurant and pool are all casual but very tastefully decorated; great food; great value; friendly, helpful staff. A housekeeper chased us down when we left some jewelry in a drawer at check-out. Loved the green policy of using your room key to shut down power when you leave. Also, there's a really cute iguana who hangs out by the pool.
Cons: Adjusting shower temperature while in bath mode doesn't work, you have to turn the shower on, then get the temp right before stepping into it. Also, you can hear the hallway outside your room fairly easily, but it's not a party hotel with late night noise, so no big deal.
Bottom line: Maybe you can find ritzier rooms and lobbies or a few more amenities by paying twice the price, but this was comfortable, clean, charming and friendly. Great place to relax, hit the beach, and as a home base for South Beach excursions. The staff really tries to make you feel at home. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: We were on the south side of the hotel. I know the Raleigh on the north is a bit of a party hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelerbuck05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your great review. Your comments are spot on! We offer the resort experience, but at a more modest price. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Situated on Collins, backing onto the beach and within easy walking distance of ocean drive and south beach, a fantastic location.
The hotel is a little tired but still of decent order for the price in Miami South beach!! The staff are courteous and helpful and the pool area is lovely and you walk through this to directly access the beach
A really good base to sample the high life of south beach from

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest,
Quick, and to the point was your review. We appreciate your great review, and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

OMG - this was possibly our best visit EVER! Having stayed at the Richmond two times in the last three years we knew exactly what we were getting, and it is exactly what they advertise; super clean, quiet, art-deco hotel with direct beach access, lush, manicured property, and staff that will blow your socks off. The location is perfect; steps away from the hot spots but far away from the noise and hustle and bustle.

Our stay began with a wonderful check in by Julietta, professional with a smile for two - with that friendliness so lacking in large hotel chains. Next, Manuel gathered all our bags and brought us to our room, offering to let him know if we need anything throughout our stay. The room was perfect; a view on the palm trees and a slight glimpse of Collins and the Boustan rooftop terrace. We checked out the 5th floor terrace this time - a cute spot with tables and lounge chairs open to all guests, accessed by the elevator at the back of the property.

Next, we made our way down to the resto/bar to meet Martha and Gustavo where, IMHO, the best drinks are made in SoBe. Such a warm welcome from each of them and great service each time we stopped by. Gustavo is very keen on what's going on in South Beach so don't hesitate to ask him for suggestions on what to see or do. The snack menu is just what you need before or after spending a day in the sand and I recommend the Chicken Quesadillas which are perfect for sharing and VERY tasty - the fries are to die for! Thanks for filling our tummies go to JR - the one with the chef's hat on and who takes pride in what he cooks! Paul our waiter is quite the knowledgable gentleman who shared some interesting facts about his native Bolivia and who tended to us wonderfully :-)

We didn't ask to have our room cleaned or towels washed that often but whenever we did Hayder was there to help us out, and with a smile to end all smiles - what a wonderful lady.

The week went by without a hitch and before we knew it it was the day of our departure. I had been told by Julietta at our check in to verify if a late check out was possible the morning of, so I dropped by reception to see. I was greeted by Julietta's as well as Mariano - another person who needs to be mentioned due to his great degree of professionalism and wonderful customer service. Mariano arranged for a late check out as inventory permitted it and he assured us that it would be no problem hanging around to hotel to enjoy the last few moments of our trip even after we checked out of our room. With our keys reprogrammed we made it back to our room and the telephone rang; it was Mariano. He called to let us know that there had been a cancellation and that he was extending our late check out a little while longer. That to me is a sign of genuine leadership and power to please - a huge thank you again - this kind gesture was GREATLY appreciated!

We soaked up a few more rays around the pool and had our last chicken quesadillas and a glass of red wine at the bar where we also had the chance to meet the General Manager, Stuart Weintraub. We chatted briefly and it shows he is a genuine people person, there to listen and to make sure everything is fine during your stay. It was a pleasure meeting you Stuart - hats off to you for having such a dedicated and professional team.

I would give this enchanting establishment 6 stars, but TripAdvisor won't let me lol. Thank you again to EVERYONE for all your work in keeping alive the reputation of such a wonderful place!

We'll be back - maybe next time on our honeymoon!

Best wishes,

Darrin & Pierre

Room Tip: Rooms on third floor or higher as the second floor is same as the hallway to get to the pool - it co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank darrinandrewburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest,
OMG! indeed. Thank you so much for most excellent review. I have shared it with all departments. Please consider yourself part of the Richmond family.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I just returned from a long weekend in South Beach. We did not have high expectations based on the price of these rooms and based on reviews. In January, we stayed at the Loews, but did not want to spend $650/night on a room this time, but we did still want an oceanfront hotel. This hotel was a great option for a much cheaper price. With the lower price, we totally expected to make compromises. Our room faced the street....I would definitely ask to not have that room again....street noise is one thing, but South Beach street noise is a whole different issue. Also, many of the doors on the rooms don't seem to seal well...we had a lot of noise from the hallways at all hours of the night as well. I suppose ear plugs would have solved this issue...put that on the list for next time. Yes, the building is a bit run down...a bit of maintenance could make a world of difference. We also had no cold water. Even the toilet had nice steamy water. Not a big deal...we laughed it off even though a cool shower would have felt much better on sunburnt skin than a hot one. The beds and the pillows are pretty fantastic, though. The pool area is quite nice and was fairly calm and quiet. The maid service did a great job (except for slow delivery on my request for additional toilet paper to be brought to the room, but hey, tissues are basically toilet paper in box form, right?).

If you're going to South Beach to have a good time on the beach and to go have fun, this hotel offers an inexpensive option. If you're planning on spending a ton of time in your room, maybe try another hotel with upgrades and additional amenities. Hotels in South Beach are the same as the restaurants in South Beach.....if you don't want to spend a lot of money, go to Sbarro for dinner, but don't expect a fantastic culinary experience. My husband and I went into it with an open mind and we were rewarded with a great vacation.

Room Tip: Stay away from street facing rooms, although, I have a feeling that most rooms are not "sound p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrea N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. I'm glad you guys a good experience. I will share the cold water issue with our head of engineering. As we are a older property, the walls are a bit thin, but we do our best to relocate our guest's to a more quiet part of the building. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#79 of 214 in Miami Beach
548 reviews
South Seas Hotel
#121 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,614 reviews
Catalina Hotel & Beach Club
#90 of 214 in Miami Beach
4,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Albion South Beach
Albion South Beach
#68 of 214 in Miami Beach
879 reviews
Hotel Ocean
#173 of 214 in Miami Beach
559 reviews
Townhouse Hotel
#125 of 214 in Miami Beach
1,088 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £102 - £313 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing