We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel except for the housekeeping!!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #121 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Newberg, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
“Great hotel except for the housekeeping!!”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Oh how I would like to give this place more stars. The location is fabulous (right on the beach). The pool is gorgeous! The front desk (especially Filberto) is wonder! The pool staff was great! However, house keeping SUCKS! One the dirtiest rooms EVER. Upon arrival there was hair in the bathroom sink, on the floor an towels, the carpet had not been vacuumed! The next day our room was not serviced until after 3:30pm and WE had to call and request it. I use the word service lightly too! The ONLY thing that the maids did was replace towels (no at towels either) and make the bed with a torn sheet. There was still garbage on the floor, dirty cups on the table, previous guest garbage under the bed. Disgusting!!!! This hotel could be FABULOUS with a complete revamping of the incompetent housekeeping staff, from the manager down to the maids!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnny S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Our housekeeping department does a great job, cleaning and maintaining the property. Obviously we fell short during your stay, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We have an excellent housekeeping staff, from the managers to the maids. I would appreciate the chance, to further discuss the issues you experienced during your stay. Please feel free to contact me via email.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
ismael@richmondhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,281 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    259
    463
    265
    147
    147
See reviews for
123
645
87
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Richmond hotel in May 2014 for our anniversary. It was a very nice place to stay .The staff was just wonderful. The pool area was beautiful it leads right out to the beach. Their also was a place to workout. The rooms were a bit outdated and small but they were clean . The location was just perfect . I will go back their and stay again in the future.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
Congratulations from the Richmond Hotel! We are happy, you have a great experience on you anniversary get away. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albany, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We stayed here for one night. The staff was very polite, helped you with your bags from the car to the room and back again. The best part about this hotel is the pool area. OMG!!!! yes I said OMG!!. Once you walk out to the pool area its like you are in an Oasis. It's beautiful and the best part about that is the beach is walking distance literally in the backyard. The pictures don't lie. This hotel is located on Collins ave in South Beach where all the shopping and partying is. Couples and friends can really enjoy this experience.

Room Tip: Getting the Valet for $35.00 is worth it, especially for one night. otherwise you will have to fight...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLamar81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your for your most excellent review. OMG! is right. Our pool area is truly a work of art, that must be experienced.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We have been going to South Beach for over 15 years and regularly stay at the Richmond. It surprises me that I see reviews that say “you get what you pay for”. Possibly the reviewers have never been to South Beach. When we go to SoBe we don't want a "convention hotel" experience like the Loews or Ritz ( you can get that anywhere) and I don’t like spending a small fortune for a room at the Delano, SLS, etc. It's just personal taste. That essentially leaves the historic Deco hotels. Now, you can stay in a Deco hotel that is dirty, smelly, in disrepair with an arrogant, uncaring staff (and there are many), or you can stay at a clean, well maintained hotel with a delightful staff. The Richmond certainly falls into the latter category. When we go to SoBe we want a pleasant SoBe experience and the Richmond always delivers with charm. It is our go-to hotel. I feel that we get what we pay for but more importantly we get the experience we want at the Richmond. R & C

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
What a great review! Thank you so much for you kind words. Please consider the Richmond hotel, your home away from home.
Best regards,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We found this hotel to be bargain due to its location and price. Our stay was for two days for $342 for both days, including taxes and fees. Although the hotel is a a bit of a long walk from the Ocean drive it is within walking distance. The rooms are accurately described and were nicely decorated and very clean. The hotel also has a nice good size pool and beach access from the rear. You also get two beach chairs and umbrellas for a bargain of $5, not including the tip. We found the staff to be very helpful and friendly. They also had parking for $35 a night, which we also consider a bargain in this area of south beach.

The hallways could use a rehab but they were not unsanitary or unsafe in anyway. If they maintain their cheap rates we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your review. We are happy you had a good experience. We do our best to provide the South Beach resort experience, but a more modest price.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Rating my experience in this hotel as one star. Reason for this low rating is the blatant lack of cleanliness and professionalism from the pool staff.

Late in the morning, I noticed animal feces on the side of the pool. All day, I observed the staff walking by with no one caring enough to pick it up.

After several hours, I asked one of the staff members if he could remove the excrement. He said he would.

After waiting for another 30 minutes, I proceeded to talk to a manager.

Person who came to remove the feces found nothing better than use the broom he was using to clean the deck. Then without ever wiping anything, he went on to pour clorox on the area - ALL of it going into the pool!

I am not the kind to post reviews, especially negative. However, this was just beyond unacceptable and other people should be aware.

NOTE: the rooms appeared clean and staff was otherwise friendly.

Michael C.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear guest,
We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. This situation was obviously not handled in the correct manner, and we apologize for the inconvenience. We have an excellent housekeeping staff, that strives to maintain a very clean property. I will bring this to the attention of hotel management, so something like this does not happen again. Apart from the incident on the pool deck, I'm happy you a good stay.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Stayed 5 nights for Easter and we loved it.
Pros: great location surrounded by cool fun hotels and restaurants; charming decor; lobby, restaurant and pool are all casual but very tastefully decorated; great food; great value; friendly, helpful staff. A housekeeper chased us down when we left some jewelry in a drawer at check-out. Loved the green policy of using your room key to shut down power when you leave. Also, there's a really cute iguana who hangs out by the pool.
Cons: Adjusting shower temperature while in bath mode doesn't work, you have to turn the shower on, then get the temp right before stepping into it. Also, you can hear the hallway outside your room fairly easily, but it's not a party hotel with late night noise, so no big deal.
Bottom line: Maybe you can find ritzier rooms and lobbies or a few more amenities by paying twice the price, but this was comfortable, clean, charming and friendly. Great place to relax, hit the beach, and as a home base for South Beach excursions. The staff really tries to make you feel at home. We definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: We were on the south side of the hotel. I know the Raleigh on the north is a bit of a party hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravelerbuck05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this review, 4 May 2014
Dear guest,
Thank you for your great review. Your comments are spot on! We offer the resort experience, but at a more modest price. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#107 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,553 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#80 of 208 in Miami Beach
461 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#34 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 208 in Miami Beach
3,452 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#42 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,298 reviews
Shelborne South Beach
#66 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Property: Richmond Hotel
Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#83 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing