We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Retro...Absolutely Fabulous!!!!”
Review of Richmond Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Richmond Hotel
Ranked #124 of 210 Hotels in Miami Beach
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Didn't know what to expect...booked by my partner in crime...couldn't have asked for anything better, from check in to check out. Felt like 1950's - 60's Rat-Pack/Dirty Dancing...If Only...Outstanding pool and pool side service. Cute retro room really takes you back in time. Steps from the Atlantic, great dining and Lincoln Mall (not so great..more on that next time..)... Back to The Richmond...Excellent...can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: No AAA or AARP Discount online, but room upgrade to oceanfront if you ask for discount. I'm sure...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
What an excellent review! Thank you so much! It sounds like you had the Classic South Beach experience. We can't wait have you back.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,293)
There are newer reviews for Richmond Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

429 - 435 of 1,293 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Me and my Sweetheart stayed here one night on our way back from the Florida Keys as it was closer to Fort Lauderdale airport. I was immediately impressed with the Porter as he had the door open and verbally welcomed us with a big smile on his face as we entered. Early check-in was not available, so our bags were carefully labeled and stored. The valet swiftly and professionally took our car and we went to the beach. At check in the porter was right there to load our bags on a dolly and bring them up to our room. The room was okay, the thermostat was broken but we played with the vents and were able to set a comfortable temperature.TV reception is terrible but unless it's raining, most folks don't go on vacation and sit in the room watching television. The pool and hot-tub were fabulous and the 5th floor open deck was lovely to watch the sunset! Go and see Gustavo at the bar; he makes great Mojitos and has a charming customer service personality. We engaged in some lively conversation and he received my trip adviser reviewer customer service pin of excellence!! In the morning the valet had our car to us in 10 minutes and check out was a breeze. All in all, it was a nice experience and every staff member we came in contact with were professional and polite! I would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper, be sure to ask for a room away from the ice machine.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you so much for your review. We apologize for the A/C and TV issues you experienced during your stay. Chef Gustavo had his pin on the very next day. What a wonderful gesture. It is the first Trip Advisor pin we have received, from a guest.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The hotel was location within walking distance from the concert we attended and this is what we were looking for but a few things you should know. Parking is a premium and at the hotel it was $35.00 plus $2.45 tax, a night ouch!! The hotel is somewhat outdated but comfortable and right on the beach. All in all, an OK place for an overnight.

Room Tip: Miami Beach is not cheap.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
We appreciate you posting you review. Our parking fee, is on average for Valet Parking service on the beach. We offer unlimited 24 hour a day access.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We we're told that this hotel accommodated ONLY king sized beds. When we came to the hotel the lobby was where we thought it seemed like a good choice , until we came into the room our king size were to beds out together to create one. The air conditioner wasn't working and there was a clog in our bathtub. Not to mention the housekeeping just did a 5 second sweep through where we had to bed for new towels, because of the backup up clog in the tub they didn't even clean the tub out. Mad to the Max.oh and management need to work better on their hospitality. The only kind person was the guy John or Jose I think his name was that fixed our ac & clogged drain. NYC native and a total professional he is. Never will I or my friends stay here again. Deception to the fullest

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank Classic_smile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is an older, art deco hotel. The rooms are small but adequate. Bathroom was nice. Bed was comfortable. You cannot beat the location - you can walk to Lincoln Road or Ocean Drive. Great pool area, and right on the beach. You will pay twice as much for a similar hotel in the same block.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diver1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for your great review. We strive to offer the full resort experience, but at a more modest rate. We hope to see you again soon!
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Very noisy and dirty rooms. Walls are thin and the room was generally noisy in many ways all night. Would not recommend this hotel to anyone even though it is on the beach. Bathroom had little cold water......really.....and was mouldy and dirty. Tv did not work properly either.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank canadawpg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. South Beach is know for the night life, and sometimes our guest's bring the party back to the hotel. We have staff on duty 24 hours a day to resolve these issues. It is true, that the walls are a bit on the thin side. We try and relocate out guest's to a more quiet part of the building whenever possible. It's unfortunate that we could not resolve your issues, during your stay. I would appreciate the chance to discuss this further. Please feel free to contact via email.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager
ismael@richmondhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We stayed one week in Richmond. Its reasonable priced and front desk is very friendly. Unfortunatly hotel rooms are not clean. Stanes on carpets, rusting door hinges and floor in bath dirty. Hairs in the bath tub. Also the garden is not kept very nice. ( all see pictures )

The worst is the Houskeeping; it is in hand of some Creole Clan, girl was asking already on first day for tip. Slow and lazy.
Rooms where made every day very late. ( after 4 pm)
Room was never clean - towel never delivered in one complet set for the whole week.

With little efford and good instructions of the staff hotel would make much better impression

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichmondManager, Front Office Manager at Richmond Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear guest,
It sounds like you have a very negative experience. We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced. We have a great housekeeping and maintenance department. Our housekeeping staff is professional and courteous, I am very surprised that they actually asked you for a tip on the first day?? I will definitely bring this to the attention of the Housekeeping Director. Our housekeeping department consists of wonderful people from many different countries. It's very unfortunate that you chose to speak so negatively about our Haitian staff??? Please be rest assured that none of our staff is slow and lazy, or members of any clan.
Thank you,
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
South Seas Hotel
#107 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,561 reviews
City Center
Marseilles Hotel
Marseilles Hotel
#82 of 210 in Miami Beach
473 reviews
City Center
The Raleigh Miami Beach
The Raleigh Miami Beach
#36 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shore Club South Beach Hotel
#55 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,460 reviews
National Hotel Miami Beach
#42 of 210 in Miami Beach
1,334 reviews
Kimpton Surfcomber Hotel
#43 of 210 in Miami Beach
3,483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richmond Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richmond Hotel

Address: 1757 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2003
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#84 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £87 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Richmond Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Oceanfront in the heart of Miami Beach’s Art Deco District and South Beach’s finest location. Authentic deco restoration, directed by our owners and embraced by our hand-selected staff providing cordial hospitality. Features 100 Guestrooms: offering all-white bedding, down comforters, Art Deco decor and unique 1930’s-inspired alarm clock with safes, bathrobe and iron/ironing board. Services include: heated swimming pool, Verandah Dining Terrace, WiFi, satellite television and Valet parking, rooftop Terrace and Solarium, business center and Fitness Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Richmond Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Richmond Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Richmond Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing