We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing--gone downhill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Ranked #79 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 April 2014

This is our 2nd stay at the Bentley on 5th and Ocean Drive. We stayed here in 2009 and were blown away by the service and character of this boutique hotel. The location is fantastic, but we returned despite the high prices (we booked on Expedia for over $200/night, but I now realize you can now rent rooms directly from owners for less in a much nicer suite I feel ripped off).

Our room is tiny (320), and does not even have a place to sit other than one little chair and night table. There is NO safe (I asked, and only some rooms have them--really??!!). The bathroom is half decent with nice Kohler fixtures, but that's it. Beds are a nice firmness.

There is a $25/night plus tax resort fee, but the pool is still under construction (yes you can use the one next door, but it doesn't look nice). We utilized the beach club at the Hilton Bentley once--nice service, but quite a walk down. Also there is continental breakfast (cereal, pastries, apples, granola bars, and a waffle machine was empty when we tried to use it). There is wifi included, too. It is not hard to find this hotel (right above TGIFridays and the Bellini restaurant, where you will be hounded constantly by the Bellini staff to have a meal there--I never eat at a place where I am hounded)

We are a young, professional couple who travel extensively (at least 3x/year) for pleasure, and we are willing to spend money, but we expect a good experience for our money. I feel our experience fell short, and based on the replies from the hotel management and the declining reviews, it looks like they still don't get it. On our next stay on South Beach (we came all the way from Vancouver, BC Canada btw--we obviously love Miami), we will be exploring other options. Management--don't even bother giving us the standard reply here--you had your chance to "wow" us, and it was barely mediocre. Perhaps it was harder for us to stomach since we stayed here previously and it was definitely worth talking about. I echo the reviews below in that this is no longer the place to stay on SoBe.

Extra tips: you can take the Miami Flyer Bus 150 to/from the airport (stops nearby on Washington & 5th) for only $2.60/person (there are luggage racks). The SoBe local bus is only 25cents and loops around Miami Beach up to Lincoln Road and back down. You have to try cuban coffee and food--recommend Los Olas Cafe on 6th. Hiro Sushi Express is great also, and they deliver. My Cervice is another good place to try (you can order online and pickup--it is a hole-in-the-wall. Hope my review was helpful!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lilsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your review.

Your request for a non-generic answer is noted and I assure you, you will not get one. I try very hard to touch on, explain, apologize for, and give recognition where it is due in our reviews here. I've read, and re-read your review. Other than a couple of easily fixable mentions, I'm having trouble extrapolating, based on the facts the you have provided, what made your last stay so poor and what makes you certain that based on this last experieince that your next stay (if you would allow me to invite you back) would be just as bad...

I would like to fix this. We are clearly undergoing an enhancement project at Bentley. This project will enhance the stay of all of our future guests. I would like for you to enjoy that experience in the future as well.

I'm available to you any time. lgreenspan@meninhospitality.com

Many Thanks,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,513)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,067 - 1,073 of 1,513 reviews

Reviewed 7 April 2014

So I read the reviews and picked this place because the reviews sounded good. I am not sure if the hotel just went way down hill... Or if it was always poor. The location is great. Other than that we were just disappointed. The bell boy had no idea where our room was and dragged us with our luggage around the hotel searching for it. The rooms are adversitied as suites but they are not big. The hotel is run down. The service has been poor. We are here for two more days.... So hopefully our experience will improve

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sarakwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Sarakwan,

Thank you for your review. Unfortunately, it takes a couple of days for reviews to post on Trip Advisor. I would have liked the chance to meet you before check out. Of course I hope things did improve based on your initial experience.
We are undergoing an enhancement project and some areas are more affected than others aesthetically. I apologize if this had a negative impact on your impression of our appearance.

I am available to you if you would like to discuss your experience further. I am interested to know how the remainder of your stay went. Please feel free to contact me directly at lgreenspan@meninhospitality.com

Thank You,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Bentley Hotel following Ultra. The hotel was great for relaxation, the room are great, the staff is excellent. There was a lot of construction but it did not get in our way. The staff takes care of your every need, the continental breakfat is great. The beach club is amazing you have to check it out , it is nice to get away from the 'sobe' crazies . Definitely coming back

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benfrnkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

I started visiting SoBe in 2005 and have always stayed at the Bentley. Even as the prices went up, I returned for the great staff and fabulous pool. They always went out of their way to accommodate early check-ins due to flight arrivals and their used to be a waiter that came to the pool. The last time visited was after our honeymoon in 2009 and it was everything I remembered. We recently went back to stay before a cruise the end of February. I had been emailing with the manager Ignacio. He never mentioned the pool renovation or the hotel overhaul. We knew we would get there early and informed them of this. We got there at about 10am. No worries, our plan was to change and head to the pool. Well the pool was being refurbished and they sent us next door to the Fritz pool. Not the same, not even close. The lounge chairs were stained and they didn't give us towels so I had to go back to the Bentley to get them. We tried to relax in the sun, the pool was more like a hot tub it was so warm. They finally got us in our room at 4:10pm! When we got to the room I noticed that the remodel must have made the rooms SMALLER. Visiting as often as I used to, I have stayed in most of the rooms in the hotel. You could still smell paint and it was gritty on the floor from the grout. There was NO running water. We just wanted to take a shower and a nap being that we had taken a red-eye flight and had been up for a day and a half. We called the desk and they moved us to a different room. We only stayed for the night and I can say that it was too spendy to think of returning. Not sure what it will be like after the remodel, but I was disappointed in what I saw and was upset no one informed us of the pool being out of service. Their continental breakfast was new to us, but not something that should be bragged about. Poor placement and awkward seating. It worked fine to grab something if you were heading out for the day though. With the many choices travelers have, the Bentley should rethink their new overhaul if their property is suffering this much. I miss the old staff and great service and most of all the rooftop pool. I'm sorry I cannot recommend the Bentley any longer.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank effintravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Thank you very much for your feedback.

I apologize for what seems to be several unfortunate and inconvenient situations that occurred during your stay. Clearly we missed the mark with you and this was more dissapointing for you because you have had great experiences here in the past and were excited to return. Your concerns are valid and are being addressed. Bentley is ungoing a thorough refurbishment \ enhancement that will bring the property to it's highest level to date, however, none of this project should affect our current guests.

I will further look into some of what you have detailed, but beyond that, I would like to make it up to you.

If you would consider changing your position and would like to take me on my word that we will deliver next time around, please contact me personally. lgreenspan@meninhospitality.com

I will look forward to hearing from you and am happy to handle all of your arrangements.

Best,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We stayed here March 12 - 17 and found the Bentley to perfect for us, OMG you had to walk through a 20 foot pathway off the pavement to the door (get over it)
On Saturday afternoon I had trouble with my phone so I spoke to the chap at reception who was on the phone at the time so kindly let me use his cell phone to make a call (above and beyond)
Breakfast was fine and dandy, had no problem getting a seat for two on the balcony and the view was cool. Also having to use next doors swimming pool was no biggy,I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, refurb or no refurb. I plan to return next may and look forward to it.
Thanks to Maria also for her help and assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Minty9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, General Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Hello Minty9,

Thank you for the excellent review! I'm so glad to hear that you had a wonderful time with us. Yes, we are completing an enhancement project on our pool. It will be finished shortly and we do provide access to our neighboring hotel's rooftop pool facilities. We know that this can be a bit inconvenient. The action plan here is to provide over the top service in order to help make up for any dissapointment regarding our property improvement efforts. Our work is coming to a close and the end result will be well worth any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for visiting and please allow me to handle your next stay. Feel free to contact me directly. lgreenspan@meninhospitality.com

All The Best,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed at the Bentley, although we booked through VRBO, as the suite we stayed in was privately owned within the hotel. We had a 5th floor, 1 bedroom with a balcony and ocean view overlooking Ocean Drive. There may have been a few minor cosmetic issues and a minor issue with some furnishings, but this is not the forum for that, as it's privately owned. However, I can attest to the great customer service provided by the staff at the front desk, most notably Louis. He was very personable, and quite accommodating as well. Every evening it was a pleasure to stop by and visit. He went out of his way to ensure my family (wife and 19 yo daughter) were enjoying our stay. Likewise, Maria was quite helpful too. The maintenance staff and others were always very pleasant and outgoing. This includes the valet staff as well. That service is an extra cost, a necessary evil if you will, for staying on Ocean Drive. The food and drinks at the attached restaurant were good as well, and that's not just the martinis that were in me talking. They offered 2 for 1 drinks well beyond happy hour. The location of this property is right at the very beginning of the Art Deco hotels on Ocean Drive (5th Street) and is a relatively quite section to stay. This is nice, as you can walk a few short blocks and be at the more "party going" section, think Clevelander's. But this is far enough removed that when you went to crash, you can do so with out having to hear constant bass and yelling from spring breakers. The only downside was that the pool and rooftop veranda is under construction, which was a letdown. We were told this would be completed before we made our reservations, but when it came time for the trip, it had still not been finished. I can say without a doubt though that it ended up not being a huge deal. As a side note, the construction crew did not start abnormally early, which was quite nice as we were located right next to the would be pool. Check out went very smooth, at a very early hour 4:45 am, and again the clerk (sorry I didn't get his name) was quite helpful and polite. This after quite and obviously trying night, which we discussed. He called for my cab, which was arranged the night before by Louis and that went like clockwork. As a last note, if you are looking to stay on South Beach and want to avoid hassle of parking and dealing with heavy traffic, you definitely don't need a car is you stay here. That should factor in as well when choosing to stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uscg1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Hotel Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Hello uscg1967,

Thank you for the glowing review. You mentioned everything from staff to locations in the area to the restaurants, beaches..etc. You also mentioned a couple of items that weren't the highlight of your stay but quickly minimized them as the rest of everything that you experienced completely overshadowed them.I appreciated you mentioning them, regardless of the forum. The reality is, all travellors should recognize that there is no single hotel that will suit all needs and desires.... but. I will tell you this: When you come to Bentley, you can rest assured that we will try.
Some of the superficial shortcomings that you mentioned regarding decor, furniture, etc. are a concern for us and I assure you,they will be very short lived. We are undergoing a thorough and comprehensive restructuring and enhancement project that will effectively place Bentley in a position to fulfill the needs of the most discriminating travellers. While cauteous not to disrupt our current guests, I assure you that we are working as quietly, quickly and efficiently as possible to make this the most repeatedly visited destination in South Beach.
We can't wait to have you back to see you reaction and to get your feedback. By the end of summer 2014, Bentley Hotel will be a premier property in the world's premier vacation destination... and we couldn't do it without the incredible staff.. some of which you mentioned above.
Please feel free to reach out to me in the future. I'm happy to handle everything for you. lgreenspan@meninhospitality.com

Many Thanks, and until next time!

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently traveled to the Bentley Hotel South Beach for my Bachelorette Party. It was myself plus 4 other girls. We had the Two Bedroom Suite + 1 Other Room booked for our stay. Our second room was not ready until 4:45pm (check in was at 4pm) But we were mostly disappointed that we were never notified about our rooftop pool that was closed due to renovations. This was a key reason why we chose this hotel in the first place. They offered us the use of the Fritz Hotel's pool, which was not good, the water was as hot as soup!

Location of the hotel was great, breakfast is included every morning, but it is very awkwardly set up. The reception area where you check in gets converted to breakfast, so you are practically eating on someone's desk (only 4 small tables to sit on outside) They charge you $25.00 a day for beach passes, lounge chairs, towels, pool access, and breakfast. So you can see why I had an issue at check out about the $25.00/day since we did not have a pool and it was challenging to eat our breakfast on a concierge desk.
Also our Two Bedroom suite sleeps 6 yet we were only allowed 2 lounge chairs and 2 towels a day. How is it that the person who pays the most, gets the least? That being said do you know why I never complained while I was there? Maybe because the GM was never present, actually not true I did see him one day (Monday), but do you know why I never complained? Maria! Maria was the nicest person to work with. She helped us with restaurant recommendations, club recommendations, what to do, and what NOT to do. If she was working at the desk everything was fine, we received extra lounges/towels at the beach, a table to eat breakfast, anything we needed. She deserves a raise! The GM Ignasio (sp?) should really look at how helpful both Maria and Jonathan are to their guests, and really see that they do all the dirty work when a hotel is under construction as they were just last week! GM! Stop trying to be David Beckham and start leading your team to be best Hotel in South Beach. Start with Maria, make her assistant GM because she deserves it! My best advice, call all your booked guests and let them know the pool is closed, offer them discounts, because what you claim you have you temporarily do not ! Maria you made the best out of our trip & I thank you sincerely!

Room Tip: Room 300 for a 2 Bedroom Suit or 310 for a Single Bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_CE3066CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee G, Hotel Manager at Bentley Hotel South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear Lisa_ CE3066CS,

Thank you very much for such an informative review. My name is Lee Greenspan and I recently came on board as the GM \ Hotel Manager at the Bentley. I'd like to just touch on a couple of points that you mentioned as they are very valid:
You mentioned check in time. You should have been able to check in at 4pm without exception. There is no excuse for this and I apologize that you were inconvenienced immediately upon arrival. I can tell you, however, that I had addressed this previous to your review and made some changes to the housekeeping procedures that should eliminate this issue moving forward.
You also mentioned the resort fee. The resort fee, as you are aware, does cover the continental breakfast, wifi and beach club access with two chairs, towels and an umbrella daily. With that being said, there are occasions where some exceptions may need to be made in light of certain circumstances. You should have been given extra beach club passes without question for the extra 4 people in your party and you should not have had to wait for Maria... especially since our pool is closed for an enhancement project and you booked a room that sleeps 6 people. Again, my apologies, this was another completely avoidable inconvenience and we would love the opportunity to make it up to you.
You also mentioned the breakfast selection and set up. While at the moment we have a smaller space to work with while in the midst of our enhancement project, we have decided to make some significant changes regardless. We have added a larger selection of cereals and fruits as well as greek yogurts, pastries and waffles. We'll also be reconfiguring the furniture setup so as to provide a more comfortable dining experience.
Feedback like yours is invaluable to improving customer service. In addition, it highlights individuals that provide amazing service. I have printed this and given it to Maria, and I have to agree with you, she certainly deserves the recognition.
As I mentioned, I am the Hotel Manager at Bentley now and I am always available to you. Please contact me directly in the future. I would be grateful for the opportunity to host you once more in order to provide a true Bentley experience for you and yours.

All The Best,

Lee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
Beacon South Beach Hotel
#59 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,423 reviews
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Royal Palm South Beach Miami, A Tribute Portfolio Resort
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#12 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bentley Hotel South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bentley Hotel South Beach

Address: 510 Ocean Dr, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6616
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#41 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#49 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#50 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#52 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#63 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £118 - £389 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bentley Hotel South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recognized by Official Best of Florida, as "2010 Best Boutique Hotel in Florida", the Bentley South Beach's prime location on Ocean Drive is only a half mile away from Lincoln Road Mall and the Miami Beach Convention Center, and five miles away from the Port of Miami, making it a convenient overnight pit stop. Bentley South Beach's all-suite hotel offers a variety of room categories including large balconies with stunning views of the Atlantic Ocean and the city of Miami Beach. Guests can choose from a Junior Suite, One Bedroom Suite or Two Bedroom Suite, all featuring a kitchenette, wet bar, Italian marble bathroom, plush terry bathrobes, a fully stocked minibar and room service. The accommodating and personable staff strives to make your stay at Bentley South Beach both memorable and effortless. Located along Ocean Drive, guests of Bentley South Beach have the luxury of enjoying our rooftop with a pool and Jacuzzi overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, or venturing across the street to our exclusive private beach club, featuring beach access, lounge chairs and towels. Located on the ground level of the hotel, Picciolo Italian Bistro showcases flavors of Italy for breakfast, lunch and dinner and offers great people watching along the bustling street of Miami’s famous Ocean Drive. Menin Hospitality Perks program is available to all guests, which offers up to $100 in food and beverage savings to the restaurants and bars in the Menin Hospitality collection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bentley Hotel South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bentley Hotel Miami Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing