We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and great room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel St. Augustine
Ranked #99 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Our flight came in early and we were at the hotel at about 9 am to drop off our luggage while we figured out something to do until we could get a room and the hotel staff was amazing! They gave us a room right away. We were VERY happy about that.

The hotel is a small boutique place, it probably has about 20 rooms total. The room is beautiful with some pretty awesome AC. I absolutely loved the bathroom. It had a steam bath and a speaker in the stand up shower as well as multiple water nozzles. The only complaints I could make is the TV is a tube TV (but who's watching TV on vacation anyway right?) and that you can hear the water running through the tubing so it can get a little annoying.

The complimentary breakfast is just cereal, danishes, yogurt with milk, orange juice and coffee as drink options. The staff is friendly.

You can borrow beach towels from the front desk. It rained a little and they also let us check out rain umbrellas which was really nice. One front office staff even let us borrow a beach umbrella that someone had left behind in their room (it was a little broken but still WAY better than not having anything) as well as helped us load our car with our luggage (super nice guy!).

The hotel is just a quick walk to the beach walking distance from all the fun off of Ocean Dr and Collins and Washington. You can also jump on the city bus for only 25 cents to get to farther places down road that you don't want to walk (although I found myself walking almost everywhere because it really wasn't too far).

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MandMsRED3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2013

We had read some good reviews of this hotel and were looking forward to our stay but felt really quite disappointed by the hotel. Its location couldn't be better - only a 2/3 minute walk from South Beach - but the hotel itself was a let down.
Our room was OK but there were tears in the upholstery and the blinds covered the horrible view from the window so we left those down!
My boyfriend enjoyed the steam room, but we found the TV to be tiny (about a 15 inch screen) which was a shame because we needed to watch it due to the sheer volume of noise preventing us from sleeping!
The hotel is on a road adjacent to Ocean Drive and was gridlocked for the entirety of our stay, all day and into the early hours. I am a city girl and am used to road traffic noises but this was something else! Miami drivers are not afraid to consistently beep their horns at 3am and rev their engines. Whilst this is not the hotel's fault, they have done nothing to soundproof the hotel and have single glazed windows also. What I was really annoyed about was the sound of the vacuum cleaner going outside our room at 7:30am on one morning and 8:10 on another morning - something which they most definitely can control and should not be doing when there are guests sleeping.
The breakfast was not good at all and consisted of a few pastries and 3 cereals.
I don't think I would recommend this to anyone who wanted to get sleep on their visit to Miami, but its location is undeniably good.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Julron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

South Beach was our last destination on our trip and we were going to stay for 4 nights, so I was less than happy when I noticed that most South Beach hotels seem fairly over priced. The St. Augustine was one of the few more reasonably priced that had rather okay reviews so we picked this one. We had some difficulties finding the place (or rather were to park the car) when arriving but when we arrived I was happy to notice that everything seemed modern and clean and that there was proper air conditioning. The room was on the small side, basically just fits the bed, but I was pleasantly surprised to find that the toilet and shower were two separate corners. The staff was very nice and helpful and the location is rather great, the beach is just 2 blocks away, (and you can get beach towels from the reception) and the city center isn't too far away either. The only downside was the breakfast, which really was just some orange juice, cereal and pastries (and yogurt if you were there early enough) and the fact that during our 4 night stay the tiny shampoo and other products were not replaced a single time. All in all, a nice place to stay though.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Great quiet location within minutes walk of the centre. Great night sleep and great bathroom. Staff were great. Unusually we were asked to pay $30 on booking in, and when checking out we were assured it would be refunded a few days later but we are still waiting?

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gatsbyscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We spent a couple of nights at St. Augustine on our honeymoon. Very good location on south beach - close to the beach and the art deco district- yet in a quiet street. Large room (minimalistic, but It contains what you need), large, comfortable bed, spacious shower. Not so filling breakfast - some yoghurt and cereal. I would recommend this hotel - If they add some bread/real food to the breakfast I would recommend It even more :-)

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LindaPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

As per what everyone has said, the location is fantastic. 2 blocks form the beach, you'll pass a Walgreens and a liquor store along the way so you're set! There's also the most amazing pizzeria on the corner of Washington and 5TH- Fratelli La Bufala... Do yourself a favour and eat here!!!
As for the hotel itself- it's very tired, it needs a reno badly. The air conditioning was the noisiest, most annoying thing I've ever heard. The breakfast, as mentioned many times before, is only coffee, croissants and cereal... But it's included.
The beds were comfortable and the staff was friendly, so for the price I really can't complain. However, if I could take this trip all over again, I would definitely stay in a hotel with a pool, you need it in Miami.. And this hotel didn't have one. Overall, it was decent.

Room Tip: Don't stay in room 110 whatever you do... The air conditioning unit will keep you up all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoMuch2C11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2013

The St. Augustine Hotel is located two blocks from the beach, on a quiet street with adequate overnight street parking and a bus line. There are countless restaurants, night clubs, and retail shops on the block and within walking distance on Washington, Collins, and Ocean (all have major shopping). Lincoln Road (major shopping and food) and Espanola Way (food) are five minute bus or car rides up the street or a 30 minute walk. The building is art deco and has been renovated. The rooms are furnished to resemble a spa environment, with a Zen edge. The furnishing are simple, but functional and clean. The wood is blonde and includes a platform bed, a tall mid room tower that includes a 19-20 inch t.v., a cd player, and a mini bar. The large marble shower/steam area is separate from the sink area, which has a marble top with a spa look. The toilet area is separate from both. There is one closet in the room, but the iron and ironing board must be obtained at the front desk. Blow dryer in the room. The rooms are clean and fairly spacious. A very basic continental breakfast is served each morning. There is free WiFi. The room has light dimmers. The building is low rise, but has no elevator. There is an accessible room, however, on the first floor. It is possible to hear some morning noise from outside of the room, but nothing like staying on Ocean and Collins, where the guest and outside noise may be almost non stop. Earplugs will remedy noise issues that might come up. The first floor hall carpeting is a little worn, but overall decent. The staff will also assist with luggage, change for bus fare, etc. They are also accommodating if you need a slightly late check out. Just an all around a very decent accommodation in South Beach for a decent price. Check the hotel website and hotels.com to make certain you are getting the best rates, particularly during the week.

The staff is very friendly and helpful! Good place for good value!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2013Traveler444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
The Julia Hotel
#108 of 212 in Miami Beach
60 reviews
Hotel Astor
#68 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,130 reviews
Chesterfield Hotel
#71 of 212 in Miami Beach
3,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
L Hotel Miami Beach
#111 of 212 in Miami Beach
170 reviews
City Center
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel St. Augustine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel St. Augustine

Address: 347 Washington Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6906
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range: £82 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel St. Augustine 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Restored Art Deco building dating from 1932 & renovated & re-opened 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel St. Augustine reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel St. Augustine Miami Beach, Florida
St Augustine Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing