We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More of a 2 star hotel” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #112 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
“More of a 2 star hotel”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

I booked my stay over night through priceline, at the price I paid 110 dollars I thought this is a hell of a steal, so i upgrade myself and companion to a penthouse considering they advertise as a 3 star hotel. Lets just say the penthouse is not what it seems. The only difference is a King size bed that was hard and lumpy with piss poor quality pillows. In addition, after reading comments from others and seeing the response that the hotel was updated in 2009, I was quite frankly shocked to read that. The hotel does have a cool south beach vibe, however, the bathrooms are dark and it ruins the entire experience of a "penthouse" room. Going a bit farther with my comment, they charge a resort fee of $19 dollars for use of the pool, 2 drinks which are not you call it, and 2 comp'ed breakfasts which was only offered as toast, pastries, coffee and OJ, normal price $7! Save your money and go down the street to a real hotel and not something that reminded me of my days of staying in discusting hostels in Europe!

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! Don't even bother booking at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Hello, Jay. We appreciate that you took the time to write a review of our hotel. Although you liked the overall atmosphere of the hotel, we are disappointed to hear your experience with us fell short of expectations. We are sorry that the bed and bathroom accommodations of your penthouse were not what you had hoped for and that you were unhappy with the complimentary drinks and breakfast we provide. We will certainly address these points with our staff, as we take your comments very seriously. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    304
    482
    311
    135
    138
See reviews for
225
442
90
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Im currenty here at this hotel its so bad I'm writing my review befor I leave.This place is a dump the walls are so thin there where 5 girls in one room that argue all night and I heard every word like I had front row seats. There where guys that sat out front and smoke weed and on my floor I thought this was a smoke free place there was nothing done when I complain the staff dont seem happy Agian nothing done. The beds are uncomfortable but who can sleep in the cheese room the only good thing is the location that's it please be aware there a 19 dollar resort fee a night plus a extra 50 dollar fee a night and trust this place not worth the money I'm so disappointed in this place never again I should of trust the bad reviews on here cause there right

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sexylips07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We appreciate your feedback, and although you liked the location of our hotel, we are sorry to hear your experience with us was not what you had hoped it would be. We apologize for the issues that arose during your stay and we appreciate you bringing them to our attention. Thank you again for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Hershey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

After reading numerous reviews, I settled on staying at The President Hotel. Not because of the stellar reviews, but because of what everyone said about the location, and because of the price. And I have to say, it was well worth it. No, the building is not new, but neither is any other building in South Beach. And yes, the walls are rather thin, and the elevator can scare the hell out of you. BUT, it was in the middle of everything, the staff was beyond curteous and kind, and the room itself was more then adequate. It was clean and well kept, with a wonderful waterfall walk in shower and a comfortable bed. No, this is not the Ritz Carlton, but for the price you pay, it is a great value for the money. It is within walking distance to anything you could possible need...shopping, delicious food, bars, and of course, the beautiful beach. If you want to spend the majority of your money on sushi, good times, and shopping on Lincoln Ave instead of on your hotel, be sure to stay here. I was pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BoooBoooBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you made the choice to stay with us and that you enjoyed your time in Miami. It is great to hear you were happy with your guestroom and bathroom accommodations and the comfort of your bed. We are also happy that you were pleased with the service from our staff, as well as the location and value of our hotel. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts. We hope to welcome you back here again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Enjoyed our stay here we only paid $67 and it was pretty nice! We weren't expecting much for what we paid but were pleasantly surprised. Michelle working there was so nice and sweet to us. Thank you for making us feel welcome!

Room Tip: The entire hotel is walking distance to the beach, any room will be perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tina j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Hello Tina. Thank you for sharing your thoughts about your recent stay. We are glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel, both with the value of your room and the overall look. We are also happy to hear that you were pleased with the service you received from our staff, especially Michelle, and we will be sure to pass your comments on to her. We hope you were able to really take in all that Miami has to offer during your visit, and we certainly hope you make the choice to stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I would not reccomand this hotel to anybody. When checking in they charge a 19 dollar per day resort fee which was cool. Then they charged a 150 deposit which is also wasn't a big problem. The big problem was that I had a double bed room and it was a total of four guest that stayed in the room. They charged us 75 per person for two people because they said the room was only made for two guest. Before booking the room I asked will there be any extra fees such as deposit and resort fees and I was told "no" and that my payment towards the rooms was all I needed. The front desk was rude and didn't want to refund and money. During the stay it was a hassel getting towels for the room. I called front desk several times and asked for extra towels and they repeatedly said that towels were on their way up. So I asked front desk if I should call housekeeping instead to get the towels and they told me "no I may not". To make a long story short I waited from 10am to 3pm for towels and recieved them right away after calling housekeeping. Housekeeping said front desk never called them. The walls are paper thin and you can here your neighbors conversation clearly. The hotel smell like wet basement and bleach. During checkout I was recieving my deposit they said I was only entitled to $140 instead of $150 because the clerk made a mistake if charging me less money at check in. This hotel is horrible

Room Tip: Read reviews
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brittany B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hello Brittany. We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear you were disappointed with the service you received from our front desk staff, and especially for the issue of the added charges for your extra guests. We are also sorry for the inconvenience of having to wait for the towels you had requested, although we are happy that our housekeeping staff was able to remedy the problem for you. We will be certain to discuss the points you brought to our attention with our staff, so to avoid any confusion in the future. Thank you for your helpful feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

At the beginning of our trip, it was wild, but the kind man at the front desk, Kristian I believe was his name, was very helpful about telling us how to get to the beach and many popular locations in the area. He was a very respectable man, he stuck out upon the rest of the staff to me, but I would defiantly recommend this hotel, affordable, clean, nice, wonderful staff, and even wifi and breakfast! What more could you ask for!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tannertreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Hello, Tanner. We appreciate your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your time with us and were pleased with the service you received from our staff. We are happy to hear you found our hotel to be clean and of good value and that you enjoyed the perks of staying here, including breakfast and WiFi. We hope that you were able to take full advantage of our location while you were here and enjoy the beach and nearby shopping and restaurants. Thank you again for your review. We hope to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

Our girls getaway started with a headache when checking in. We booked and prepaid for the room through bookit.com. We were advised of the $19 a day resort fee. However it was also a $50 dollar a night for accidental a which we were not advised of. The young lady at the counter was not sympathetic at all. The rooms are very small! The continental breakfast breakfast I could have done without. The AC unit leaked all over my clothes which was a MAJOR inconvenience! I reported it to the same young lady at the front desk. All I got was I'm sorry I will get maintenance to come to the room. Didn't offer to clean, dry or a refund of any kind. Maintenance replaced a filter and the unit continued to leak. Also, a mildew smell came from the bathroom. Would I stay here again? Probably not! Would I refer to a friend? Definitely not!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kia23185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dana P, Public Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 28 June 2013
Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that your stay with us fell short of expectations and we do apologize for the billing issue and especially for the issue with your AC unit. Although it sounds like our maintenance staff responded to your needs in a timely manner, we are sorry the situation was not remedied and not handled in the way you would have expected. We are also sorry that you were disappointed with the size of your guestroom and the breakfast provided, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Thank you again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#85 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#84 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#126 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
The Beach Plaza Hotel
The Beach Plaza Hotel
#154 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#163 of 206 in Miami Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
City Center
Hall Hotel South Beach
Hall Hotel South Beach
#48 of 206 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Property: The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 206 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel - Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing