We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #99 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Richmond, Va
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was in the perfect location to all main attractions, dining and shopping and ofcourse the beach. The hotel was very clean and the staff was super nice. They had a great little breakfest buffet. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone and at any time. Thanks for the great stay see you next time I come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for the amazing review; you’ve made our day! We are thrilled that you loved our location, breakfast and that our staff took fantastic care of you. We can’t wait to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    335
    518
    324
    138
    143
See reviews for
253
470
96
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Being new parents, we figured that going to Miami for a few days during our Spring break from would be great. Miami was great, however the President Hotel was not. Yes, the staff is friendly and the hotel is decently clean. But, the beds were horrible. I woke up with a stiff neck everyday. The mattress is super hard, and if you look on the bottom it has like a piece of wood holding it up. I thought I was going to fall every time I sat on the bed. After being out all day, we just wanted to come back and rest. However, it was impossible to get a good night rest because we can hear every single word that was being said in the room next door. I literally felt like the people next door was hanging out on the bed right next to us all night. For some reason they gave us a connecting room, so I am not sure if the noise came from that door or because the walls are super thin. The bathroom door wouldnt close properly because it would hit the toilet before closing. Thats how small the bathroom is. The shower on the other hand was nice and big. Our AC wasn't working the 1st day, we had to have someone come and fix it. The walls are filled with scratches and there was this old, torn, white random rolling chair in the room. If they were to fix up the rooms like paint them and fix the wall issue, the hotel wouldn't be so bad. OH! there was no pool as I had seen there was on their website. We also went to eat at the Penguin hotel and we were sitting for 15 minutes before someone came to give us a menu. (Mind you there was only two tables other than us.) After we got the menus 15 minutes passed and the waiter still didnt even acknowledge us. We ended up getting up and leaving.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Maria,
Congratulations on being new parents! We are very sorry to hear that our beds were not to your liking and for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests. We will take all your comments and suggestions into careful consideration, thank you for taking the time to send your feedback. We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We welcome the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great location, but the room was unbelievable noisy. You could hear EVERYTHING from the next room because the walls are very thin. The bathroom was very very small and towels were old.
The elevator was very slow and it didn't work properly.
When you arrive to the hotel, you are informed of an extra charge of USD 19 per day for breakfast, welcome drinks, wifi and towels. You have to pay it, you can't choose.
Breakfast is very poor.
I would't came back or recomend it mainly because of the noisy rooms

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonianiemeyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay at our hotel. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests, and that our Resort Fee took you by surprise. For future reference; our Resort Fee can be found directly under the nightly rate on all online booking agents. We will take both your comments into careful consideration, and we would welcome the opportunity to make things right. Please reach out to us at vsuperno@penguin hotel.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landsmeer, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

Miami is not a cheap place to stay, everybody knows that. Especially South Beach and even more during WMC. Everybody understands that with high demands, prices are according. That's fine!

But.. For the amounts you have to pay, one can expect a certain level of luxury, service and finishing. The President doesn't deliver. If you check the professional photos online, it all looks fresh & attracting. In real life, everything is dated and poorly finished. Plaster coming off the walls, poorly painted walls, not well cleaned bathroom with an old sink and toilet and a not comfortable (round) bed. Rooms are noisy en not well darkened when the curtains are closed.

Getting a room on the Penthouse level, doesn't mean anything more than a room on the 4th floor, which can be quite annoying when the elevator is broken multiple times a day (not exaggerating) and you have to carry your stuff up and down the stairs. Don't get your hopes up for a nice view when ordering a 'penthouse room'.

The included breakfast buffet is nothing more than a slice of bread, some cheese and pre-poured plastic cups of lemonade. Luckily you can order some regular breakfast from the menu at the kind but sloooowww lady behind the register.

The quality of the internet is quite amazing if I may say, and not in a good way. I had better connection while traveling trough the amazone rainforest in the mid 80's. Please do not expect any reception in your room (because there mostly isn't). And in the lobby you can get on the wifi, but the speed is like trying to pull a golf ball trough a garden hose. Doable for a quick whatsapp message. But don't plan on checking a funny cat movie on Youtube when you're in The President, loading the clip might take longer than your stay.

Valet parking service works fine. I just don't know what they do to the cars, my brand new rental car was covered with an inch of dirt after trusting it to the valet.

So to be fair, I would never recommend this hotel to someone else. Though the location is nice, a 5 minute walk from Lincoln. I also like the 'southern' part of Collins. Nice to wander around. But for me it was the last time in The President, or they wil have to make some serious improvements. So if your are in doubt: don't do it.

Room Tip: The Elevator is broken often, so a room on a lower floor means less stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IboOrgut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 13 April 2014
We are very sorry that you are unhappy with your stay at our hotel. We will take all your comments into careful consideration as we strive to always improve. You’ll be happy to hear that we recently serviced our elevators; they are now working great! We would love for you to reach out to us personally at vsuperno@penguinhotel.com. We look forward to hearing from you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014 via mobile

Great location nice room friendly staff you pay a charge but for that you get free cocktail each which was good, happy hour 4 til 8 12 dollars for 2. Plus water in room and breakfast of toast cereal and fruit. Would stay here again if in Miami

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Janet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Janet,
It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us; thank you for taking the time to tell us about it. We can’t wait to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon_PORTUGAL
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I would recomend this hotel in terms of cost/quality.
It is very well located in Miami beach.
Walking distance to main amenities, including Lincoln Road and Ocean Drive.
There is a bus close by to Aventura Mall (40') and price 2.45 USD.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Antonio_Rosario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Antonio,
We are thrilled that you loved our location; we couldn’t agree more! Your location and transportation tips are fantastic, thank you. We know future guests will also be grateful. We hope to see you again when South Beach fun next calls to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,210 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#174 of 208 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#119 of 208 in Miami Beach
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#91 of 208 in Miami Beach
764 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#118 of 208 in Miami Beach
483 reviews
Ocean Reef Suites
#126 of 208 in Miami Beach
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Property: The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #99 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel - Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing