We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Ranked #98 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
New York City, New York
1 review
“GOOD Hotel”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Martha was very helpful and kind she helped alot. The staff was real cool. Valet parking could of been better. Love the location. Easy access to everything on South Beach. I would stay there again if needed. Best prices compared to other South Beach hotels.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FreeHarlem155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Thank you for the great praise of our staff, especially Martha. We’ll be sure to pass your compliments along to everyone; we know it will make them all very happy. Our location is one of our favorite qualities, we’re glad you enjoyed it too. We are sorry to hear that our valet parking failed to impress. Hotel and restaurant valet stations currently must work around the construction currently on Collins Ave. At this time we rely on the patience and understanding of our guests, thank you. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    515
    318
    138
    142
See reviews for
246
464
96
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am already here in this nice hotel.
Good price, very clean, near the beach.

But the best is the staff; expecially Natalia always very nice at bar. Marta, Andrew and Anessa as rececptionist very kindly smiley, always take care of you

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arrotini69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your fantastic stay with us! Your praise of our staff is greatly appreciated. We will be sure to pass your compliments along to each person; we know it will make their day. We hope you enjoy the rest of your visit, and we can’t wait to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

The location of this hotel is undeniably excellent. That is where the positives start and finish regarding this hotel. Take my advice and stay somewhere else.

My friend and I booked a twin room. However, when we arrived were were given a double room and told nothing else was available. When I complained I was told that although I had selected a twin room I was only "expressing a preference". We stayed for seven nights and despite this length of time and several requests we were never provided a new room. Quite simply none of the staff were the least bit concerned with solving our problem and my friend and I were forced to share the same bed for the week.

The hotel bar closed at around 10 pm each night. This is a very poor service particularly when you consider the cost of staying there. Also they add a "hospitality service charge" on which I believe is a poor practice and simply a poorly disguised effort at bleeding more cash out of their customers. I have no problem with tipping and I accept it is part of the culture when in the US. However, I don't like the decision being taken out of my hands like this. I ordered a round of drinks on one occasion and received a dirty look from the barmaid and a lecture about it being five minutes before closing time (2155). She reluctantly prepared two drinks and made out as if she was doing me a massive favor. I definitely was seeing the benefits of my "hospitality service charge" that night.

One day we arrived back at our room at 1600 after having left at 0930 and the room had still not been serviced.

I realise that hotels are businesses that are profit driven. However, a good hotel will treat its guests well in the hope that they will come back. At the President I felt like they just wanted to suck as much cash out of us as they could in the one visit and they were not in anyway bothered about providing a good quality service and looking after our needs. We had paid for our room already and they didn't give a damn that it was not what we requested.

The continental breakfast is terrible. Cheap pastries and muffins and highly processed plastic looking cheese that reminded me of hospital food. Almost no fresh fruit and one cereal. To call it a continental breakfast is a joke.

The pipes in our bathroom would periodically bang together with such force that the noise would wake you up. The taps didn't have to be running or the toilet flushed for this to happen, we had no way to control this or predict when it would happen.

I will tell anyone I know who is planning a trip to Miami to avoid the President at all costs.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ABARRY310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 21 May 2014
We’re very sorry that you were unhappy with your stay with us, and we apologize for the inconveniences you encountered due to a room with a double bed. We are also sorry that you were not offered excellent service during your stay. We understand that you were unhappy with the hospitality service fee, or gratuity, at our restaurant. Many of our international guests are not accustomed to tipping, creating the common practice of adding gratuity to the check in South Beach. You are always welcome to request the gratuity be removed if you are not satisfied with your service. We will take all your comments, including your thoughts on our breakfast, into careful consideration as we continually strive to improve. We would welcome the opportunity to make things right.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Beach hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Just left South Beach at the President's Hotel I had a wonderful time and I went solo from
New York.. The gentleman behind the lobby counter, Andrew went beyond what he was
asked. He was friendly and ,extremely polite. He made my stay very pleasant/\ I would stay
there again because of the wonderful staff.





Iris M.

Just came back from South Beach. Stayed at the President's Hotel on Collins Ave. The
location was great, close to the beach, the stores and the restaurants. I found that the
young gentleman at the front desk in the lobby was very polite and eager to please the
clients. He was very informative, friendly and

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEWELIRIS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for telling us about your great stay and for your praise of our staff. We will be sure to pass your compliments along; we know it will make everyone’s day! We hope to see you again when you next want to enjoy some South Beach fun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel with my husband and my baby for few days and we had great time. The location is very good also the price. The only I didnt enjoy was buffet. But there is a lot of restaurants around so it want that big deal. Stuff was really nice and helpful and I can totally recommend this hotel :)

Room Tip: Go for the penthouse
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TakeMyAdvice12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your recommendation! We are happy that you loved our location and rates. We are sorry that the breakfast did not live up to your expectations. We will take your comment into careful consideration. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I stayed at The President on Saturday May 3, 2014. We arrived in the morning and were able to valet park our car and leave our bags so that we would be able to go walk around. Andrew at the front desk was very friendly and actually called us when our room was ready early. The room was very clean, the bathroom is small but it was updated and clean. Our beds were comfortable. My only complaint would be that the walls are very very thin and we had loud neighbours so didn't sleep much. The location is fabulous - one block from the beach and close to Lincoln Road shopping and just up from Collins Road shopping. We did not eat the free breakfast but instead went to The Penguin hotel (the sister property) where we got 1/2 price food for breakfast because we stayed at The President. The food was great. This was a girls weekend so it was a great stay. If I was with my kids possibly not because it was louder and I would need them to have more sleep. Once again - all the staff were very very friendly.

Room Tip: We were on the main floor so not sure if a higher floor may be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShelleyAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Shelly,
It sounds like you had a fun girls beach trip, we’re very happy to have been a part of it! It is fantastic to hear that our location fit your needs perfectly and that you loved your breakfast at the Purple Penguin Café. We sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests. We hope to see you again when you next visit South Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

Overall this hotel was good. The location is great because you are one block from the beach. If you walk a few blocks either way you find lots of shopping, the location couldn't have been any better. The room was nice upon arrival. Clean sheets, towels, ect. This hotel is average, it's good for sleeping and showering. The beds were extremely noisy, whenever I would move it would make a pretty loud noise. The beds weren't the most comfortable but they weren't terrible. Also the walls are paper thin you can literally hear the people talking in the connecting room. Breakfast was okay. Had some toast, muffins, cereals, cheese. If you wanted to order other foods you'd have to pay for that out of pocket (pricey, which miami I known for). The hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. overall satisfied with the hotel just needed a place to crash for the night.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chelseaharv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at The President Hotel - Miami Beach, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
It sounds like you and your friends had a fun girl’s beach trip, thank you for allowing us to be a part of it. We’re very happy that you loved our location. We apologize for any inconveniences you encountered due to noise from other guests. We are also sorry to hear that you were disappointed in the breakfast. We will take all your comments into careful consideration, thank you. We hope to see you when you next want to enjoy all that South Beach offers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Penguin Hotel
Penguin Hotel
#84 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,196 reviews
City Center
President Villa Hotel
President Villa Hotel
#172 of 208 in Miami Beach
14 reviews
City Center
Villa Paradiso
Villa Paradiso
#115 of 208 in Miami Beach
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Stiles Hotel South Beach
#86 of 208 in Miami Beach
751 reviews
El Paseo Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
378 reviews
City Center
Riviere South Beach Hotel
Riviere South Beach Hotel
#120 of 208 in Miami Beach
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The President Hotel - Miami Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The President Hotel - Miami Beach

Property: The President Hotel - Miami Beach
Address: 1423 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-4103
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #98 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The President Hotel - Miami Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The President Hotel is located directly on Collins Avenue, minutes away from the famed pedestrian shopping and entertainment center of Miami Beach, Lincoln Road, as well as a vast array of restaurants, cafes and other entertainment venues. Tastefully renovated in 2008, the 64 guest rooms are all different, each appointed with one wall entirely covered with a picture portraying green elements of nature and complemented by an accent decorative pattern in a stylish cut-out sequence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The President Hotel - Miami Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The President Hotel - Miami Beach Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing