We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Redbury South Beach
Ranked #12 of 207 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Redbury. The rooms are very beautiful and mine was very spacious. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Plugs to recharge devices are not a problem, as is often the case and there are plenty of USB plugs as well. Definitely would have helped to have a place to hang the towel near the shower instead of having to leave it on the floor nearby. However, aside from that the bathroom is all marble and really very nice. The valet notification by SMS is a fantastic system - fast and efficient and the valets are all very friendly and top notch. While there's no breakfast, the partner hotel across the street has very nice breakfast, in either an elegant room or next to the pool. I really enjoyed my breakfast time and the waiting staff was also extremely professional and friendly. Very importantly, The Redbury is situated in the northern stretch of South Beach, which is much nicer than the southern stretch. It's close to the cafes on 6th Street, one block from the beach, but far enough from the extreme noise on the strip of South Beach. I visit Miami fairly often and have lost many a night of sleep in hotels on Ocean Drive between 5 - 8. That said - there are a few problems:
I had a room facing Collins Avenue. Big mistake! The hotel has a sound system outside. It goes on to very late, but for me the real problem was being waken up at 0645 when the music was turned on. This is a self-inflected big problem for the property! I don't think music at 645 attracts many people (especially since there's no breakfast served), but does wake the guests.
As noted above, the valet service was great, but extremely expensive - $42/day. This seriously adds on to the price of the room.
I was also very surprised to be charged for a bottle of water, which was not in the mini-bar, but was out on the counter. It was almost $11. I spend a good part of my life in hotels around the world. Bottles of water outside of the mini-bar are almost always complimentary or their price is indicated. I really considered this a cheap rip-off.
However, aside from these problems I will probably stay again. I will take a cheaper room where I can sleep and won't drink the water.

Room Tip: Don't stay in the front of the hotel if you want to sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bagherailcane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Bagherailcane,

Thank you so much for the constructive criticism. Being so knew there are definitely some kinks that we need to smooth out still. Our sincerest apologies for the confusion with the water, it is not our intentions to rip anyone off. I completely agree there is no reason for music to be playing outside this earlier in the morning and since your stay we have made the appropriate adjustments. If you return to Miami and stay with us again we will make sure you have a lovely sound-proof room and the water will be on us!

Warm Regards,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    743
    282
    81
    19
    4
See reviews for
152
583
55
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chiswick
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

As others have said, this hasn't been open long so you'd expect that the staff want to make a good impression and that everything should be full of glitches. Well, I'm happy to report that we had no such glitches and that the service was of the highest quality.

Room
Our room was very cool and pristine. We had a record player therein with a choice of about five albums which was quite a cool touch. Bed was big and comfortable-I think it was a king-size suite which was an upgrade as we were on honeymoon. Bathroom was excellent, big safe in the room.

Service
From start to finish everyone we dealt with was friendly, efficient and also very natural. It's a real American tradition to have good customer service, but not all people master the natural part of the equation. My wife and I found everyone to be lovely. A special mention must go to the lovely Monique-I lumbered her with lots of small change to get rid of it before the airport and she very patiently and with good-humour counted the lot out without any sighing or ill-will. Thanks Monique!

Location
It's on the corner of Collins and 18th Street. This is about a fifteen minutes walk to Ocean Drive, it's about five minutes to the beach, and about 5 minutes away from the start of Lincoln which has a lot of shops and restaurants. According to our cab driver, Lincoln is not where the locals shop (they go to the Dolphin Mall as it's cheaper and has more shops apparently). Having been to both, as Londoners we both found that Lincoln had a really good range of shops that were way cheaper than what we were used (most places had 50% off). The food choices were also good, if a little more expensive than off the beaten track options. We didn't research the food options thoroughly but never had a bad meal.

We'd definitely stay here again. As we really liked Miami Beach, I'd go so far as to say that we will stay here again. Keep up the good work!

Room Tip: I didn't see any other rooms than ours. Although ours was lovely it was facing the Collins St s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 19 January 2014
Dear Paul S,

Thank you for taking your time and reviewing out hotel thoroughly. You really touched on every aspect that a traveler would need to consider while visiting south beach. We are proud to hear that we fulfilled all of your traveling needs. I hope you made lots of memories on your honeymoon and maybe we can keep the tradition going and host your anniversary next year too! Please feel free to contact me before your next visit so we can so can make some more memories.

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Redbury has only been opened for about a month, but you wouldn't really know it from the good quality service they provided. The hotel is in a great location even though it is not directly on the beach. It is directly across from the beach and you can use the sister hotel (The Raleigh) to access the beach, so it is really a non-issue. Rooms were a good size, extremely clean and the hotel had a good vibe.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHSteinberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear AHSteinberg,

We are so excited to hear about your great stay at the Redbury. Thank you for taking the time to review our service. It definitely is beneficially that our sister property us directly across the street and I am happy to know that the beach service was easy for you to enjoy! Please feel free to reach out to me if you decide to come back to the area. We would love to host your next stay!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Redbury for a night a few weeks back and absolutely loved it! Great and spacious rooms (with nice sized bathrooms!). Very attentive staff. Loved the chic boutique feel and experience and especially the record player in the room. We also had a terrific dinner at the restaurant and highly recommend the tuna. We will definitely go back and highly recommend the Redbury to anyone looking for a great place in South Beach. we very much look forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark_R_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Mark_R_NJ,

Thank you for helping us spread the word about our new SBE property. Since you love the record player so much, please send us some of your preferences before your next stay so that we can have all your music favorites in the room upon your arrival. Since you liked the Tuna so much, next time you should try the snapper- another great seafood dish that I highly recommend.

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

We always try to stay at SBE properties because the service is the best anywhere. Also usually like bigger hotels like the SLS or Raleigh. We could only get room at Redbury over New Year's weekend and LOVED it! Not only am I sold on the Redbury but the whole boutique experience. Everything from the sheets to the TV to the coffee in the lobby was grade A+. The staff could not have been nicer (our flight out was delayed and they offered much later check out). I will definitely stay at the Redbury next time in Sobe!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seth p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Seth P.,

We are so happy to hear that you are a fan of SBE! Thank you for going out of your comfort zone to give a small hotel like us a try, I am happy you are not disappointed. Please do not hesitate to contact us before your next visit so that we can make sure you have the same lovely room and your coffee ready and waiting for you.

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providenciales
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

The raleigh's little brother, we stayed just for one night and are definitely coming back.

Great location, spacious rooms and bathrooms, very comfortable bed, nice details and the staff are very attentive. Service was impeccable, everyone was very friendly and accommodating, from a personalized amenity for my pregnancy cravings, to detailed dinner recommendations. Security did a great job helping us out with all our online shopping too :)

Thank you, we we look forward to our next stay :)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Myseastory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Myseastory B,

These pictures are lovely, thank you! You have to send us some pictures of the baby once he or she is born. Please come back when you are recovered, we would love to pamper you. Congrats!!!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for NYS eve. Very friendly and helpful staff. The rooms are lovely and comfortable beds, fluffy towels and very chic. The restaurant is good and we were served by a lovely waitress who had great recommendations. Great rooftop, the pool was cold and could be heated. Otherwise, would definitely return.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ajhcaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear ajhcaw,

Thank you for the gracious review, I will be happy to let the restaurant know the positive feedback as well. We are extremely happy that you loved your stay. We hope to see you back soon!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#21 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
The Confidante
#34 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,595 reviews
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#2 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
COMO Metropolitan Miami Beach
#3 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
Urbanica The Meridian Hotel
#1 of 207 in Miami Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#9 of 207 in Miami Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury South Beach

Property: The Redbury South Beach
Address: 1776 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139 (Formerly Fairfax Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of South Beach at the convergence of Collins and 18th, The Redbury South Beach brings the service and Hollywood glam of its sister property to Miami’s most coveted vacation and nightlife destination. Opening December 2013, the hotel will offer 69 rooms and suites with interiors inspired by South Beach’s Art Deco heritage; Lorenzo, an Italian eatery from award-winning Chef Tony Mantuano; and a 12,000-square-foot rooftop pool and event space with food and beverage service. Guests of The Redbury will have exclusive access to the beaches, pools, and amenities of the nearby SLS Hotel South Beach and The Raleigh, along with access to sbe’s collection of restaurant and nightlife offerings throughout Miami. Each of the spacious 69 rooms features customized furniture, a curated art collection highlighted by historic Fillmore Theater posters and archival images of Miami Beach and vintage-style record players, complete with a collection of vinyl curated by Capitol Records and Universal Music Enterprises. Room amenities include in-room dining services from Lorenzo, The Redbury Signature Mattress (featuring its plush custom-pillow top) with 300 thread count Italian linen and terry, spacious bathrooms with oversized showers, bathtubs and luxurious finishes, Ciel Spa bath amenities, high definition Samsung Televisions and Geneva Bluetooth Sound Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, TIG Global, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Redbury South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing