We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Completely overrated”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Redbury South Beach
Ranked #22 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Our trip didn't start well with a pretty rude woman on reception who told us there were no rooms available (we arrived at 12) and we'd have to come back at 3pm. Whilst we were at reception, another man walked in and was told they had a room ready for him right away - although he could have had a different room category booked.

The hotel is nothing fabulous. The reception is tiny and so are the rooms. The windows in the rooms don't open so there is no chance of fresh air and the air con is either sweltering or beyond freezing. One night we thought the hotel was on fire and the strongest smell of smoke was coming through the air con and in the halls. It was about 1am and it freaked me out. I rang reception and they just said don't worry, "there was an incident in the alley". Sleeping in a room that stinks of smoke is very hard, so despite the hour, we had to get some air.

The room was modern and very clean, but the towels in the bathroom smelt really weird - not sure what it was but everyday, same weird smell.

The pool is crap. There is no atmosphere and usually no one was even up there.

On our final morning, we were having a car pick us up at 7am (oh and we'd asked reception to book it for us but they said that they are only allowed to book one brand of car which was double the cost of the one we were trying to book. So i booked it from the room myself, but then was told on checkout that that one telephone call was $12!!!)

On our final morning all hot water was shut off, so no shower for us - which made our 5 hr flight to Vegas less pleasant as there is nothing that starts the day better than a hot shower.

On checkout, no apologies were given for "fire" smells or the lack of hot water. The phone call charge was waived after a stern complaint.

I wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mel1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Mel1701,

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. We take all of our comments from honest people like you very seriously. I am deeply sorry that you had to endure a situation like the lack of hot water and smoke smell from outside our property. I have reached out to your personal email in order to discuss how we can make it up to you. I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,
Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

872 - 878 of 1,327 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here while attending a wedding at the Raleigh a few weeks ago. The rooms are spacious, clean and luxurious. The rainshower in the bathroom is a great treat! The staff are all friendly and helpful and we could easily access the pool and beach right across the street. I would definitely recommend staying at the Redbury and will be sure to stay here again on future visits!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamila K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2014

Dear Jamila K.,

We remember this wedding group well, what a lovely bunch! It was a pleasure hosting your stay and being involved in creating such special memories. I am glad we met your expectations and will be back again. Please feel free to contact me before your next trip, I would love to make sure your next visit is as successful as the last!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the Redbury South Beach. The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the bar/restaurant really tasty. The location is excellent and we were able to use the beach access and gym at their partner hotels. The cost was reasonable and we had an excellent stay. I would definitely return to this hotel in the future. Maggie and Elina were especially helpful at the front desk!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cja1234123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Cja1234123,

We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us! We value your feedback and hope to have you back for another beautiful visit!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

One of the best hotel experiences ever! From the wonderful staff - Vanessa, Kristin, Elina to name a few, fabulous rooms, great decor, amazing rooftop pool and a great restaurant, could not be happier that we chose the Redbury for our girls weekend. With access to SLS and Raleigh amenities and the beach one block away - this was just the perfect spot and all at a reasonable price. LOVED this hotel!

Room Tip: Stayed in room 320 - end room with great light and tons of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swooly21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Swooly21,

Thank you so much for your lovely review! We’re glad you were able to enjoy everything we have to offer. We hope you ladies come back for another get-away trip and some fun in the sun!
PS: Everyone here says Hi!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We love visiting Miami beach because of the lively youthful vibe and the beautiful art nouveau architecture. However, we sometimes find the culture of SoBe to be overwhelmingly gluttonous, unfriendly, and alienating. What I most appreciated about the Redbury is that they have a nice balance of maintaining the quintessential experience of staying in a SoBe hotel (little luxuries and contemporary decor that complements the nostalgia of SoBe's vibrant history), while also offering a friendly, simple, and welcoming atmosphere that is missing in most SoBe hotels. We were only there for 2 nights and met 8 different Redbury employees and they were all amazing! It's very rare in a hotel to have a team environment where customers get to interact with a wide range of employees in one visit. Everyone at the Redbury - the front desk concierge, restaurant servers, porters, and maintenance workers - greet you in the hallways, ask if you need something, and if you're enjoying your stay.

We're not the typical Miami beach partiers and prefer to stay in quieter low-key accommodation and the Redbury offers that with its smaller rooftop patio and bar away from the noise and flashiness of other hotels. But, if you're wanting more excitement, their sister hotel with its larger pool and larger crowds is available to use for guests staying at Redbury.

The Redbury is situated a couple of blocks from the popular pedestrian-friendly Lincoln Road with all its wonderful shops and restaurants.

The room was meticulously pristine and artfully decorated with a wonderful shower and comfortable bed. We had a great sleep both nights. I also really liked the soft towels and good quality toiletries. We enjoyed using the Crosley record player and the nostalgic mood it evoked. It was probably the first time I've stayed in a hotel where I didn't turn on the television while in the room, because the record player was such a fun novelty!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthTDot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear NorthTdot,

Thank you for writing about your Redbury experience. We are thrilled that you understand the look and feel of what we’re trying to accomplish here; modern with homage to our art deco roots. We hope you can come back and visit us again soon!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The most comfortable bed, the quietest room and all one block from the beach, three blocks from the shopping centre. Charming staff. Quirky styling....record deck and selection of albums. First rate shower and towels etc.
Rooftop pool was fantastic.
Boutique style and quality with chain price; I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Miami if I'm paying.

Room Tip: I was in 105 and there was no view but spotless and dead quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hargs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Hargs,

Thanks for your amazing review! It is pleasant to hear that you were able to have a good night sleep, after spending your day in the busy city of Miami. We hope your next trip will bring you back to Redbury again.

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We only stayed one night after landing in Miami, before travelling up to orlando. Hotel is in a fantastic location and could only be made better by being sea front. Rooms were clean and tidy and exactly what we required.

The rooftop pool is a nice touch

Finally the decorations and old vinyl record players in each room were a nice touch to take you back in time.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SBE L, General Manager at The Redbury South Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2014

Dear Steven D.,

Thank you for such nice comments and 5 stars! We are thrilled to hear that even though it was just one night you were able to make the most out of our property and enjoy the little time you had. My only hope is that your travels bring you back to South Beach soon so that you experience all amenities Redbury has to offer. See you soon!

Sincerely,

Florencia Gariboldi
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
City Center
The Plymouth
The Plymouth
#7 of 212 in Miami Beach
371 reviews
City Center
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
Nautilus – a Sixty Hotel
#28 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,069 reviews
City Center
The Betsy - South Beach
The Betsy - South Beach
#11 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center
Pestana Miami South Beach
Pestana Miami South Beach
#23 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,282 reviews
The Palms Hotel & Spa
#30 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,733 reviews
City Center
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
Z Ocean Hotel South Beach
#19 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Redbury South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Redbury South Beach

Address: 1776 Collins Ave, Miami Beach, FL 33139-2007 (Formerly Fairfax Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach > City Center
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £192 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Redbury South Beach 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the center of South Beach at the convergence of Collins and 18th, The Redbury South Beach brings the service and Hollywood glam of its sister property to Miami’s most coveted vacation and nightlife destination. Opening December 2013, the hotel will offer 69 rooms and suites with interiors inspired by South Beach’s Art Deco heritage; and a 12,000-square-foot rooftop pool and event space with food and beverage service. Each of the spacious 69 rooms features customized furniture, a curated art collection highlighted by historic Fillmore Theater posters and archival images of Miami Beach and vintage-style record players, complete with a collection of vinyl curated by Capitol Records and Universal Music Enterprises. The Redbury Signature Mattress (featuring its plush custom-pillow top) with 300 thread count Italian linen and terry, spacious bathrooms with oversized showers, bathtubs and luxurious finishes, high definition Samsung Televisions and Geneva Bluetooth Sound Systems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Redbury South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Redbury South Beach Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing