We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So happy we chose this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #59 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our first time to South Beach, we were so impressed by the the staff, location and rooms. We will be back for sure! This hotel is very customer service driven and it really makes all the difference for an amazing stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbbeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

887 - 893 of 2,423 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

First time in South Beach. Staff was really excellent, very friendly and accommodating--especially Derek and Marisa. Hotel was very charming. Could not get this cozy feeling in a large modern hotel. Great location. Nice touch- cloth beach chairs. Breakfast was delicious. Very responsive front desk. Comfy bed and super soft sheets and towels. Top notch toiletries too. The Beacon Hotel was wonderful. Would definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank selScarsdale_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We just returned from our trip, and I keep thinking how well we were treated by the Beacon staff. They were friendly and generous from beginning to end! For an example -- due to our flight we arrived at the hotel at 10am but check-in wasn't officially until 3pm. They put our luggage in storage, set us up with our first free breakfast, and answered lots of questions about the hotel's many amenities. When our room was ready at noon, we found beach towels and chairs in the room... along with a nice anniversary treat of champagne and a card!

Other pluses - The location really is great - the beach is right across the street, and there are tons of restaurants, bars, and shops in easy walking distance. The room was small but clean and comfortable, and the staff wasn't fussy about our rearranging the mini-bar to accommodate our own snacks and drinks. Great shower pressure and temperature. WiFi was good enough for us to stream Netflix. They offer free coffee and tea in the morning and punch in the afternoon, plus the free breakfast at the adjoining restaurant. Our room didn't get street noise at night.

Other stuff that's good to know - the restaurant is owned and operated separately, and it is a fine place for a free, mostly carby, breakfast. Otherwise, it's tourist-trappy (think $20 jumbo cocktails). The hotel is not fancy or luxurious except for the bed, but it is solidly comfortable and cared for, even if the lobby furniture and beach gear is a little worn.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katelyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We have visited the Beacon for the 2nd time and where not disappointed. Service is excellent (ranging from breakfast to beach chairs) and the location is great, right in the middle where the actions is. However just a block away there are shops and things get more quiet if desired.

Only minus is that the rooms are a bit noisy, but not distrubing.

We will come back.

Room Tip: Rooms directly at the back of the hotel are noisy (back alley used for deliveries).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco_576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I recently visited South Miami Beach with a friend and we stayed at the Beacon Hotel for one night. I thought the room was very nice and a decent size. The room was initially freezing but you could turn the temperature down to your comfort level. It seemed like it had been recently remodeled and had outlets in several places, unlike another reviewer that said there was only one outlet in a bathroom. Our room was on a top floor in the back and had no view, but it was quiet with no noise from the activities on Ocean Drive. We had beach chairs and towels and a free breakfast and the beach was right across the street. You could walk to any restaurants, shopping and night life from the hotel so it was a super convenient location.

The staff was great, especially Reynaldo and Victor, who helped make our stay memorable. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends and if I make it to South Miami Beach again, this is where I will stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Just celebrated my 50th birthday at the Beacon for 5 nights Feb 12th. We were in a standard king room which was very comfortable. Was rear facing with corner windows facing south and west. No view but I think because it was a corner room, was nice sized. Bathroom was extremely small and had to take turns using it, but it was updated and wasn't an issue. Decor was nice and bright with crisp sheets, matching robes and had a bottle of champaign and a birthday card waiting for us upon check in. Room was quiet except for the garbage truck that ran the back alley every morning around 6am. Fresh towels everyday and beach towels and beach chairs in your room at no additional charge. Super cool lobby and nice set-up on the second floor with morning coffee and a fantastic breakfast served in the cafe street side. Great selection to chose from and served quickly by friendly servers. Hotel staff was very accommodating with all request. I had questioned a housekeeper if coffee was available in the afternoons just for reference and I didn't think she understood me but 3 minutes later she arrived at our room with a tray of fresh coffee! You could book any of the many tours right at the front desk with no problem. I did a lot of research of hotels before booking the Beacon. We toured the other hotels just out of curiosity and feel we made the best choice. Location was spot on. Centrally located. A block or two from the loud nightlife and and easy walking to upscale dining and across from beautiful Lumas Park. Keep in mind that everything on Ocean Drive is expensive, from food to cocktails! We had a fabulous time and will easily book this again for our next trip.

Room Tip: Garbage truck runs the back alley every morning! Pizza at News Cafe is pretty good even at 1:00 in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gulfcoastcoolcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

everything about our stay was perfect. everyone on the staff was great, friendly, personable, helpful. the hotel location on south beach was idea for beach, boardwalk, volleyball, shopping, night life. the hotel was very clean, beds are comfy. art deco styling of the hotel and room was nice to be around, and very refreshing. I would stay here above any other hotel on south beach!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GARY D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,513 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#42 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,333 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Moon Hotel, Autograph Collection
0.5 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £137 - £357 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach
Beacon South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing