We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great customer service (3* hotel)”
Review of Beacon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Beacon Hotel
Ranked #52 of 208 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great customer service (3* hotel)”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Pros:
Across the road from the beach. Towels, beach chairs and umbrella provided free of charge.
Breakfast included in price.
Friendly staff.
Reasonably good fitness room.
Free wifi for as many devices as you have.
Free iced pink lemonade on first floor for all guests.
Comfy bed.

Cons:
Rooms are adjoining and you can often hear other guests.
Safe too small to fit laptops.

Overall, for the price we paid it was a good hotel to explore South Beach from. Probably a three star hotel. Book Ocean Drive facing room, if you can.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,373 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,068
    890
    279
    80
    56
See reviews for
494
961
93
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
116 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Beacon is a charming hotel evocative of the grandeur of the era in which it was built. It has been modernized very tastefully, but don't expect chain hotel ambiance. There were great bath products and amenities like beach chairs and towels in the room, free WiFi, a friendly and helpful staff, and the perfect location to stroll Ocean Drive. Be aware that the area in front of the hotel is crowded with lively young people, but a few blocks away are more sedate restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CreateConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel & staff was unbelievably accommodating ! Our stay was most enjoyable ! We so enjoyed the hotel and its location is excellent! The rooms were spacious & clean. Beach chairs and breakfast included were a real plus!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breakeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this Art Deco Hotel. We had been in the Florida Keys for 10 days Scuba diving and this over night put us within a few miles of the Miami Airport for our return flight home. Loved the convenience of the location. Valet parking-just pull up in front of the Hotel they take your car and you can walk to everything. At check in they gave us each a bottle of water. Room was nice, linens comfortable. Hot breakfast is included, we chose an omelette, waffle with fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The beach is a 2 minute walk across the street.
Clean, cool, easy stay when going to South Beach.

Room Tip: It is always nice to have beach and in this case a street (Ocean Drive) view. Close to an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsdive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenwood, Georgia
2 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel in a great location, staff were all friendly & helpful. Valet parking for $20 a nite well worth paying for & the comp breakfast was great every morning. Don't miss your free welcome mojito. Beach chairs and towels provided was a huge plus!! We would definitely recommend this hotel for staying on Ocean drive.

Room Tip: I loved the ocean view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terria1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen , Scotland.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel in a great location, staff were all friendly & helpful especially Derek on the front desk. Nice Scarface touches in hotel too since it was featured in the Al Pacino movie.
Valet parking for $20 a nite well worth paying for & the comp breakfast was great every morning. Courtesy Coffee and real lemonade available on the 2nd floor above reception.

We would definitely recommend this hotel for staying on Ocean drive.

Nothing to do with hotel but the 2for1 cocktail offers in the local bars are for fishbowl size drinks only that will still cost $50 so don't get mugged off.

Room Tip: Ocean view corner room with 2 windows on a high floor to avoid some local O drive noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickJMurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macomb Twp., MI
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

First time staying overnight in South Beach and this was a great choice. Location was great and everything we needed to do was within walking distance. Beach chairs and towels provided was a huge plus!! And so was the complimentary breakfast which was delicious! We were only here 2 nights and were pleased with the staff hospitality. Room was great...bathroom a bit small, but ok since it was only for 2 nights. Elevator was tiny and slow but the stairs were fine for us. Décor was cool....would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windsurfers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#29 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,158 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#40 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,027 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avalon Hotel
Avalon Hotel
#104 of 208 in Miami Beach
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#71 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,399 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#44 of 208 in Miami Beach
535 reviews
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#24 of 208 in Miami Beach
1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon Hotel

Property: Beacon Hotel
Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#36 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#41 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beacon Hotel is a gem among boutique South Beach hotels in Miami. Besides its premium location right in the center of Ocean Drive, and beautifully remodeled rooms and lobby, the Beacon gives you South Beach how it is meant to be experienced. Here, you have direct access to seven miles of sand and surf, unrivaled nightlife, premier shopping and dining. Enjoy infinite views of the Atlantic Ocean on one side and historical sherbet-colored Art Deco architecture on the other. Be it honeymoon, anniversary or a romantic beach getaway, this historical oceanfront boutique hotel is a haven for a perfect romantic vacation. Beacon Hotel offers complimentary breakfast, free Wi-Fi, and complimentary beach towels and beach chairs in the room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Beacon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach, Florida
Beacon Miami Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing