We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay and wonderful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Beacon South Beach Hotel
Ranked #58 of 212 Hotels in Miami Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This was the last night of our holiday and we chose the Beacon on a recommendation from Tripadvisor. On arrival the valet parking worked like clockwork and we were quickly inside this beautifully restored hotel being greeted and checked in by the friendly and professional staff. We had been invited to confirm and refine our room choice by email in advance which was a nice touch. Our lovely room was on the top floor with a great view over the beach. Only criticisms are the surprisingly poor sound insulation between rooms and the lack of any shelving or storage space in the dimly lit shower room - a case of style over content! The staff are the outstanding feature of this hotel and made our stay really special - thank you!

Room Tip: We asked for great view so that looks across to the beach and there was very little noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Citytraveller08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

793 - 799 of 2,424 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the beacon hotel two nights ago with my husband. We had a layover in Miami for the night and we decided to stay on south beach. The hotel has an unbeatable location. You can walk right across the street and be at the beach of wall down the beach for any bar or restaurant. The hotel had a free breakfast which is nice (okay breakfast, nothing crazy). The staff is really nice and they held our bags for us after we checked out (we still had some time before the flight) and called a cab for us. Overall clean, nice hotel. The bathroom was the only thing I really hated. The bathroom was tiny and had a weird clear door. It was a little weird for my husband to be able to see me on the toilet even though the door was shut. The bathroom also only had one light so it was pretty dank in there. The room itself was clean and decorated well. Overall it was a good stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Pros:
Across the road from the beach. Towels, beach chairs and umbrella provided free of charge.
Breakfast included in price.
Friendly staff.
Reasonably good fitness room.
Free wifi for as many devices as you have.
Free iced pink lemonade on first floor for all guests.
Comfy bed.

Cons:
Rooms are adjoining and you can often hear other guests.
Safe too small to fit laptops.

Overall, for the price we paid it was a good hotel to explore South Beach from. Probably a three star hotel. Book Ocean Drive facing room, if you can.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The Beacon is a charming hotel evocative of the grandeur of the era in which it was built. It has been modernized very tastefully, but don't expect chain hotel ambiance. There were great bath products and amenities like beach chairs and towels in the room, free WiFi, a friendly and helpful staff, and the perfect location to stroll Ocean Drive. Be aware that the area in front of the hotel is crowded with lively young people, but a few blocks away are more sedate restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CreateConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The hotel & staff was unbelievably accommodating ! Our stay was most enjoyable ! We so enjoyed the hotel and its location is excellent! The rooms were spacious & clean. Beach chairs and breakfast included were a real plus!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Breakeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this Art Deco Hotel. We had been in the Florida Keys for 10 days Scuba diving and this over night put us within a few miles of the Miami Airport for our return flight home. Loved the convenience of the location. Valet parking-just pull up in front of the Hotel they take your car and you can walk to everything. At check in they gave us each a bottle of water. Room was nice, linens comfortable. Hot breakfast is included, we chose an omelette, waffle with fresh fruit, juice and coffee. The beach is a 2 minute walk across the street.
Clean, cool, easy stay when going to South Beach.

Room Tip: It is always nice to have beach and in this case a street (Ocean Drive) view. Close to an elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank letsdive07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Lovely clean hotel in a great location, staff were all friendly & helpful. Valet parking for $20 a nite well worth paying for & the comp breakfast was great every morning. Don't miss your free welcome mojito. Beach chairs and towels provided was a huge plus!! We would definitely recommend this hotel for staying on Ocean drive.

Room Tip: I loved the ocean view room!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terria1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Miami Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Pelican Hotel
Pelican Hotel
#35 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,198 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bentley Hotel South Beach
Bentley Hotel South Beach
#79 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leslie Hotel
Leslie Hotel
#41 of 212 in Miami Beach
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Room Mate Lord Balfour
Room Mate Lord Balfour
#22 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,337 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marriott Stanton South Beach
Marriott Stanton South Beach
#21 of 212 in Miami Beach
2,432 reviews
0.1 mi away
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
Room Mate Waldorf Towers
#36 of 212 in Miami Beach
1,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beacon South Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beacon South Beach Hotel

Address: 720 Ocean Drive, Miami Beach, FL 33139-6220
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Miami Beach
#26 Romantic Hotel in Miami Beach
#32 Business Hotel in Miami Beach
#43 Luxury Hotel in Miami Beach
#48 On the Beach Hotel in Miami Beach
Price Range: £137 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Beacon South Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ocean views, world-class dining, shopping, and nightlife: Beacon South Beach Hotel puts the heart of Miami at your fingertips. Located amidst the best attractions of Ocean Drive, Beacon is a boutique, seaside hotel specializing in luxurious comfort and unparalleled service. Combining historic Art Deco aesthetics with chic, modern design, the hotel drips with glamor and elegance in a tropical setting. As a team dedicated to making your stay memorable, we accommodate your every need for a posh solo vacation, a romantic escape, or a glitzy weekend with the girls. Stay at Beacon South Beach, and indulge in the height of SoBe luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beacon South Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beacon Hotel Miami Beach
Beacon Miami Beach
Beacon South Beach Hotel Miami Beach, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing