We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Acceptable, but just barely.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Florida
Level Contributor
117 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Acceptable, but just barely.”
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This place is in a kind of a touristy little alcove set into some busier streets, with its own little walking/driving mall just outside. It's got a Johnny Rockets and some other small jewelry shops, and ColdStonbe Creamery and Victorias shops along the street. Pretty much everything thast used to be in the mall. Alot of them are vacant though.
The rooms are not good though. You have to drag bags up and down 3 or 4 stairs in and out of the lobby area and then quite a walk outswide again and then back into one of the several wings that jut out in different directions to make up the hotel. I would not want to get lost carrying a bunch of luggage and kids in this place.
The WIFI is good in this room, but I dont know about the others.
You can tell they are putting a new dress on an older hotel here. There are still some pretty skanky throw back things around if you look. Old metal door frames and a skinny dark-ish hallway.
They do have new countertops in the bathrooms and some new fixtures which is nice, but the deal breaker for me was the hair on the bathroom floor. I hate hair on the floors of hotels. It just makes it obvious they didn't clean it and I hate that.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ord737fo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 22 February 2012
ord737fo - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us and do apologize for some of the room issues you encountered. We are in the process of starting the second phase of our renovation project and most of the issues you mentioned are being addressed. We understand a couple of the items are able to be addressed immediately and have already reviewed them with our housekeeping team. We appreciate you taking the time to share these with us and apologize if they caused you any inconvenience.

Thanks Again and Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    189
    101
    54
    47
See reviews for
112
118
33
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City
Level Contributor
174 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

The parking and room was good. However, only issue was the bathroom. There seemed to be mole/stains on floor and toilet tissue. I guess from humidity. We had the handicap room. Taking a shower, the water would leak out of shower because the bottom lip was about 1 inch. Understandable for handicap access. Just need to use the garbage can and rest it up againt shower curtain pushing shower curtain to not stick outside of 1 inch lip. Room was large and clean. Comfortable beds with a lot of pillows. It was just the bathroom that had some mole. Checkin was fast and friendly. We received two complimentary drink vouchers from the ladies during checkin. The bar restaurant looked clean. All we had was some drinks, didnt try food. All in all, nice hotel and about 20 minutes away from South Beach.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Art800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 8 February 2012
Art800 - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club and for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the challenge with the shower curtain and appreciate your understanding that it is wheelchair accessible. Great to hear your stay went well and we look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

My husband and I stayed at Shula's Hotel while he was on a business trip. A colleague's secretary recommended we stay here. From looking at the photos and descriptions that are on the website, we were pretty excited. We booked 3 nights in the Signature Room. Well...
The view was of the parking lot and the place only has 3 floors so you're not really on any special limited access area like the website describes.

The bathroom... floor tile, walls, and shower were OBVIOUSLY from the early 90's. Grout was missing, the floor looked dingy. The shower head was about 10 years too old. It had one setting, which was actually quite painful. It felt like a garden spray hose. Every time I tried to adjust the setting, I had to adjust the water temp. The shower curtain was on one of the rounded rods that give you more room, but the curtain kept sliding towards the middle of the rod and water would get all over the bathroom floor. The sink in the shower/toilet room looked like the standard in a military facility with hardware that needed replaced or desperately cleaned.

The pool...small but clean. You have to take your own beach towel or use the towels from your room. There is a thatch roof covered area that probably served food and supplied towels back in the day, but it was run down and deserted. The rooms overlooking the pool are very close. I could hear the conversations of the people sitting on their balcony on the 3rd floor.

Food...we never did get our complimentary continental breakfasts. There was a sign directing us to a room on the third floor, but it was always locked. No one ever did help us figure that one out. Not too big of a deal since the complimentary breakfast included 1 muffin or 1 croissant with coffee or tea.

Staff...they were pleasant enough, I guess. For what we paid per night, we were expecting a little better treatment. I had to call down 2 days to request housekeeping after we had returned to our room and saw that no one had come to freshen it up.

The spa and fitness center...they are across the street from the hotel. Yes, you have to walk outside, go off the premises, cross the street and use the local public facilities. The fitness center is large and is open to the general public. It's like any run of the mill YMCA. Bring your own headset. The spa is Aveda sponsored. Small, decent. The only complaint was that the small, limited seating relaxation area is where the staff stores tea, coffee, water; wash glasses; drop off dirty towels and sheets. If you want to sit outside and relax, you better like tennis because the outdoor seating area backs up directly to the tennis courts.

Shula's steak 2 was the only okay part of the hotel. Even Shula's steakhouse, located off premises, was nice. Pricey, but nice. And if you've read any other reviews on the steakhouse, it does smell musty.
This place is an overpriced, run down, glorified Best Western.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the Signature or Patricia rooms, or junior suites. If you want to relax by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snrbowers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
snrbowers - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We are sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations but do appreciate you sharing this with us. We always look forward to hearing from our guests and value what they have to say about us. We know from recent reviews that we are in need of some renovations and have already initiated projects and look forward to completion in the summer/fall of 2012. Thank you again for your time.

Safe Travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Miami Lakes hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

I can hear the exact coversation the people in room next to me are having- walls made of cardboard!!! Front desk not picking up phone

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Roj222 - We apologize for the inconvenience you encountered with noise in your room and not being able to have it addressed. We do hope the remainder of your stay met your expectations. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and we hope to have another opportunity to turn your recent experience around.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayman Islands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 January 2012

I stayed here with my 18 month old son and was very happy with this hotel. The room was large so he was able to run around a lot. I ordered a cot but it wasn't there but was able to push the bed up against the wall and put him on one side so he couldn't fall out and the beds were super comfortable so we slept very well every night. There is plenty of parking so it is not too far to get from your car to the room. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The gym across the road that is complimentary to guests is fabulous! With 50 or so classes available each week, free child care and many machines it was great to get a workout. The restaurant in the hotel lobby was excellent also and I liked that there were shops right next door to the hotel and a large supermarket and pharmacy just 10 mins walk away. Our room backed onto the hot tub and there were groups of people using the hot tub on the Friday and Sunday night so this made for a bit of noise but they seemed to disperse by 11pm. Thank you, will be recommending your hotel to friends and look forward to staying there again.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing pool are very close to the car park and would be noisier, rooms facing the pool ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Vicki T - Thank you for sharing your recent experience at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We know it is tough traveling with an 18 month old and we are glad we were able to provide you and your son with a great experience. We are also happy to hear you were able to use our athletic facility as it is like no other. We know staying healthy and fit is very important and the club provides a plethora of fitness options for our guests. We appreciate your recommendation and look forward to your next visit.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
363 reviews
171 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

I am staying at Shulas and speaking at a conference. The hotel is very old and tired and pricey for what you get. Although the hotel is not full and I asked for a room with a nice view, I look out onto a car park. The shower curtain is torn and the room only gets serviced after noon. I think new management and investment in a serious upgrade will make a difference.
They have free internet which is the slowest I have experienced in any hotel.
The steakhouse is very good and Shulas original steakhouse at the golf club is superb.
This hotel is also far away from the action at South Beach, so unless you really want to be in the area, choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: If you can, overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
FrankFurness - We appreciate you taking the time to review Shula's Hotel & Golf Club on Tripadvisor. We apologize for not meeting your expectations on some of the items you mentioned. We are in the process of renovating our guestrooms and public spaces and look forward to completing the project in the summer/fall of 2012. We also want to thank you for your comments regarding Shula's Steak House and glad you had a great dining experience. There are lots of exciting changes at Shula's this year and we hope you have another opportunity to stay at Shula's and see our new look. Thank you again for your time.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

The Hotel is in a good location.The staff was very friendly and they respond in a very timely fashion.

I found the hotel to be very clean , along with our room. Loved the decor of the place.The grounds were very nice too, with fountains and a nice pool.

The bed in the room were quite comfy, I slept very well there so that was a plus. The shower had incredible water pressure and hot water, which I rarely have in most places I have stayed at.

There are two sinks - one in the bathroom and one in the vanity area. That really helps when two people are getting ready at the same time, I loved having the extra sink area. Nice flat screen TV.

The hotel has free parking with plenty of parking spots.

Room Tip: Only thing was I found it hard to get to my room as far as distance goes, I have a handicap with my...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl02760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, Manager at Shula's Hotel & Golf Club, responded to this review, 31 January 2012
Cheryl02760 - Thank you for your recent review of Shula's Hotel & Golf Club. We were happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and we appreciate your comments regarding our staff and property. We hope you have another opportunity to stay with us in the near future as we are very excited about some upcoming changes in our guestrooms and public areas. Be sure to ask for a room closer to the elevator as we would be happy to make that happen for you.

Safe Travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
#2 of 4 in Miami Lakes
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
204 reviews
1.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
1.3 mi away
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami-Hialeah (Miami Lakes)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shula's Hotel & Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shula's Hotel & Golf Club

Property: Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Address: 6842 Main St, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-2051
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shula's Hotel & Golf Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 205
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelClick, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shula's Hotel & Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shula`s Hotel And Golf Club
Shulas Hotel Miami Lakes
Don Shula Hotel
Don Shulas Hotel Miami Lake

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing