We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unfriendly staff at check-in, out reservation was messed up, first room digustingly dirty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Roodt/Syre
Level Contributor
46 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff at check-in, out reservation was messed up, first room digustingly dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

I was once already in an Indigo Hotel in San Diego which was a fantastic place, so I booked the one in Miami Lakes without hesitation. I even got a good price with the government rate. But then we arrived at the check-in around 6 p.m , the lady at the check-in was very unfriendly unfortunately I can't remember her name , but if someone from the management wants to check who worked we were there from February 17-19. I booked a ONE KING BED EXECUTIVE SUITE NONSMOKING, so when we arrived in our room, I thought for an executive suite is this a really small room. So I went back to the reception, to ask if this room we've got was a really an executive suite, she said No senor, you have got normal room, in your reservation is written that you want any room, I said no and I showed her my reservation, she said again very rude, well no suite available now, hotel is fully booked, and then I asked her if we could at least have another room, because our room was disgustingly dirty, blood stains, the toilet was dirty, the radio also. And so she said again are you not paying attention I said hotel is fully booked, tomorrow you will have your executive suite. Wow I never got such answers in a hotel, not even in a motel. And yes I asked if somebody could come to clean that, but noone ever came, and I asked 3 times, twice by going myself back to the reception. Ok finally we stayed in the room, and the next day we've got the executive room. Which was cleaner, but also not perfect. But well ok, we were only here to sleep, next day when we checked out, there was a much friendlier man at the checkin which gave us also a discount without any hesitation when I said when had the wrong room the first night. So yeah next time when I'm in the are I won't go to that Indigo, as I said before the one in San Diego in the Gaslamp district was fantastic.
Only good thing at the hotel, the location for Fort Lauderdale, and free parking, but No I won't go back to that place!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Timlux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Timlux - Thank you for sharing this with us and we do offer our sincerest apologies for this experience. February is a high demand month in Miami and although we could not accommodate you in a different room, the level of service you received at check-in should have been equal to or better than what you received at checkout. We are glad that one of our team members recognized the issue and took action and we appreciate you recognizing him for doing so. We hope that this experience does not deter you from staying at Hotel Indigo properties and that you allow us another opportunity to turn your experience around. We have made several changes since your stay in February and hope that you would reconsider. We thank you again for sharing and look forward to being of service to you again.

Wishing you future safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    124
    51
    24
    9
See reviews for
80
71
22
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alachua, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

This Hotel Indigo backs to the Don Shula golf club. It is quiet and seems kind of tucked away, but not out of the way. The room was fine. The pool is OK, but has the advantage of seeming like a real tropical oasis.The cafe food was good and reasonably price but the late evening service was slow.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the golf course which was nice, but faces morning sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Ashley S - Thank you for sharing your review of Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. So sorry to hear about the slow service you encounter during the evening hours at our restaurant and have shared this with our team. We hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future and again thank you for your time.

Safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The first room I was given had water all over the floor when I checked in. I was given another room. The room I was given was musty and I couldn't open the window. The hallway was even worse -- it reeked in the mornings of mildew. The bed was very uncomfortable, and the sheets felt damp every time I went to bed. I ended up with a pretty bad sinus problem when I got home and had to go see a doctor for an antibiotic, steroids, and nasal spray. (And I've stayed in Miami numerous times, and in this hotel before, and never had problems like this.)

The chair in the other room was disgusting -- dirt-stained, with hair on it from one of the previous guests. Housekeeping was pretty poor -- some days, I would get one clean towel and a washcloth (no bath rug); other days, I'd get three of everything.

I'll add that the young woman working the front desk was very nice and helpful. It just seems that ownership/management does not care much about the property or rooms.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe30102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Joe30102 - We were sorry to hear about your recent experience with us and regret not being able to provide you with a more comfortable and enjoyable stay. We do appreciate the feedback and hope you have recovered from your sinus trouble. We are working on some property renovations over the summer and hope you give us another opportunity to turn your experience around.

Thank you for your time and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Considering the name attached I expected more but hot less. Could be I set myself or he hotel up for hat one when you up in with high hopes. Location is amazing for shopping, dining and golfing. Close to airport and highways. Room had a great view of he fairway but the ceiling had cracks showing the joints. Bathroom was very uncomfortable with no vanity space at all. Zero. Zilch. Toiletries have to go on the toilet tank because they have modern bowl sink that sit on a small round table. Paint was rough and the handles had some calcium buildup. Ac was very loud but I can't get over the view. That made the stay much better.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HotelG418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
HotelG418 - Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us. We were happy to hear that you enjoyed your view and what our surrounding neighborhood has to offer. We do apologize for some of the conditions you found in your room. We would tend to agree that vanity space in your room was limited and we are addressing that in our summer renovation plans. We have also started to change the shower handles as the original ones were experiencing failure with the factory finish. We hope that the aspects you enjoyed about our property will bring you back to see some of the changes taking place over the summer. We do have a great location and with the renovation taking place, we know you will find our property even more appealing as your preferred destination in Miami Lakes.

Thank you again for sharing and we wish you safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muenster, Germany
Level Contributor
59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed for a couple of days in the Indigo - Miami Lakes. Te Location is in the middle of Miami ad Fort Lauderdale, a Little to the west. The executive room is huge with two rooms. The bed is nice and the interiour is also nice.
But unfortunately one day the bathroom wasnt clean nice and when I came first time to room I found the hair from the People before in the shower. In General the bath room could be maintained a little.
The breakfast is not much food without big choice. The employees are nice except the guy in the night or evening shift.When I checked in he forgot the half.
For such amount of 140 USD per night I expect more.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JER74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
JER74 - Guten Tag to our friends from Germany. We thank you sharing your recent experience with us at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. Our sincere apologies for the issues you encountered with the condition of your bathroom as well as with your interaction with one of our team members. Our team strives to provide consistent exceptional service to our guests and are disappointed we did not meet or exceed your expectations. We appreciate hearing from our guests and especially one that has traveled a quarter of the globe as yourself.

Wishing you future safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
F. Lauderdale
Level Contributor
84 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have to say that I am thoroughly impressed with Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes. Being that this was my first experience with the brand I didn't quite know what to expect. I was very pleasantly surprised to find our room (1121) was not only modern and spacious but it had a great view of the Golf Course with an extended terrace and direct access. The room was bright and lively, comfortable, and clean. The parking was free with easy access to the room. There was a great desk, ipod connection, and flat screen TV. The AVEDA bath products were an excellent treat and a good preview of our Spa Treatments at the Aveda Spa at Shulas we booked for Spa Week (50$ treatments 4/21-4/27). The bathroom was modern with a great walk in shower and multiple heads. It was definitely a luxury touch. Everyone we encountered at the hotel was friendly, and eager to assist. Management has done a great job in training at this property. I loved that they also offered an in room dining option, which we used on our first night. The food was fresh, portions were generous, and the dessert was delicious. (lava cake and vanilla bean ice cream) The pool area was quiet and serene and the furniture at the pool was also stylish and modern. The gym was adequate with a nice array of weights and machines. Although this building was older the interiors were very fresh and well kept. We appreciated the business center as well which came in handy for printing during our stay. The nearby Main Street was also another pleasant surprise. We had breakfast at the Via De France Bakery and enjoyed great Spa services and an excellent Happy Hour at Shulas. The staff all throughout was touch notch. I am usually rather discerning with hotels but I have to stay it was refreshing that there was consistency amongst the level of service provided. Eddy at the Front Desk and a Hispanic young lady with curly hair and glasses at the Front Desk stick out as the most helpful. They certainly should be recognized for their efforts.

The ONLY downside to our experience was during our last day we received a phone call from someone claiming to be the General Manager. They said that there was a "glitch" in the system and that the Credit Card I used for incidentals was accidently deleted. The person asked me to provide my Credit Card number over the phone so they could easily put it back in the system. I've heard about this scam before so I told them I'd go to the Front Desk to resolve the issue. When I went to the Front Desk they were clueless and said they don't ask for cards over the phone. I'm glad I knew about this because I'm sure other travelers may not be as educated on scams like this. My concern comes back to how that person was able to reach my room number, they must've been transferred from the Front Desk..

Room Tip: Room 1119 or 1121 were beautiful and seem slightly larger than others
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelInnsider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
HotelInnsider - Thank you for sharing these experiences with us. We were very happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and were able to explore our neighborhood and take advantage of some of the amenities we have to offer. So sorry to hear about the phone call you received on your last day. We have reviewed this information with our staff to ensure all safety protocols are clearly understood and followed. We have also shared with some of the neighboring hotels as well. We have heard about this type of activity in our industry for years but have never had a personal experience at our property. We hope travelers read your review and follow to your great advice.

Thank you again for sharing and we wish you safe travels

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Kent, Connecticut
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The thing that is painfully obvious about this Indigo property is that it is suffering from lack of maintenance. In our room there was a broken desk chair (it didn't rise), there were places where the plaster and paint were damaged, the wand for the curtains had disappeared, paint was peeling off the lamps and furniture, and the exterior was kind of sad-looking. It's a shame because I really liked the design of the rooms, and they were reasonably clean. There aren't a lot of hotel choices in this corner of northwest Dade county, so I hope for improvement.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oxide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JFerbeyre, General Manager at Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
oxide - Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. We recognize some of the deficiencies you have noted and have been working to ensure that these details are addressed. We have also started planning for our overall property renovation/refresh which will fully launch this summer. We do apologize for not exceeding your expectations and are team hopes other aspects of your stay were enjoyable. We value your comments and hope to have another opportunity to be of service to you in the near future. We are confident that you will see a significant improvement in the short term and once the refresh is completed, you will not want to stay anywhere else in Miami Lakes.

Thank you for your time and we wish you safe travels.

Jorge
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Lakes
0.7 mi away
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
Shula's Hotel & Golf Club
#1 of 4 in Miami Lakes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Miami Lakes
Courtyard Miami Lakes
#3 of 4 in Miami Lakes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Miami-Hialeah (Miami Lakes)
4.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ft Lauderdale / Miramar
0.6 mi away
TownePlace Suites Miami Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes

Property: Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes
Address: 7601 Miami Lakes Dr, Miami Lakes, FL 33014-6880
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Lakes
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Miami Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes 3.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine a 100% smoke-free sophisticated boutique hotel, whose focus is delivering a unique guest experience. Quite deliberately the Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes Florida has been designed as an urban oasis for travelers who look to escape from the common hotel. We offer the convenience of a 24 hour fitness center, pool, Phi Restaurant and are located on a Don Shula s Golf Course and right next door to .the Original Don Shula SteakhouseLocated just minutes from Miami International Airport (MIA) and Opa-Locka Airport, Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes provides convenient access to Main Street Miami Lakes. Nearby attractions include: South Beach, Dolphin Stadium, Don Shula s Golf Course, Saw Grass Mills, the Theater District and Art Galleries. Whether you are here to relax in the Aveda Concept Spa at Shula s, or enjoy a round of Golf at Shula s famous golf course, the Hotel Indigo offers each guest a blend of modern contemporary living. Rooms include hardwood floors, granite counter tops and spa like showers. Curl up in our over-sized beds with plush bedding, duvets with covers, pillow shams and plenty of fluffy pillows. Stay connected with complimentary Internet access throughout the hotel or in our onsite business center.Relax and have a meal or a drink at the Phi Bar that serves cutting edge cuisine or just grab a latte. We proudly brew Starbucks coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, IHG, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Indigo Miami Lakes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing