We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”
Review of Thai Cafe

Thai Cafe
Ranked #19 of 52 Restaurants in Miami Lakes
Cuisines: Asian, Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Off-Street Parking, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is right next to our hotel which is convenient and food tastes very good and the service is also appreciated

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sampath m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    14
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A new sea food experience!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The service was good and the food was excellent! I had never had sushi that I enjoyed prior to this. I found the food to be delicious and I especially liked the wasabi but use sparingly because it is powerful. I would have liked the lighting to be a little brighter but it was a nice experience and I would look forward to going again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank DDT8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Sliding downhill since my last review”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

I've eaten here several times a year for the last 4 years. I stay at the Shula Hotel across the street and love Thai food. It makes for a break from Shula's sports bar.

Thai Cafe has gone down steadily. Tonight was rock bottom. Instead of ordering my usual curry shrimp, i craved vegetables and ordered Thai Cafe Connection: sauteed chicken and shrimp with vegetables seasoned with chili paste. I should have sent it back.

Have you ever been served stir fried iceberg lettuce? Seriously. I guess technically it's a vegetable (like ketchup is a vegetable). A few pieces of celery, ditto carrot disks and a couple of water chestnut pieces. Soggy chicken pieces and a few tiny shrimp. One of the worst meals I've eaten in a Thai place.

I know the place is not great, but enough time goes by that I forget how mediocre it is, and it's convenient across the street from the hotel, so I go. N.O.T. A.N.Y. M.O.R.E.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Be prepared to eat a LOT!”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

You read that right! Thai Cafe has amazing food, and the best part is the quantity that they serve! I had ordered a Thai Fried rice, and GOSH the serving size was quite something! I am someone who tries Thai food on a regular basis and this place certainly has to rank as one of the best!
Added to that, the service is excellent. We guys went very late (when they were closing), and yet the staff were nice enough to serve us. If I had to take my date out for dinner, this would be one of my top choices!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theonlytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
235 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“I'm fond of Thai food and I enjoyed my dinner”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Well priced and very generous helpings. My bamboo chicken was delicious. Very handy if you're staying at Shula's. Good, friendly service.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Neri I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thai Cafe also viewed

 
Miami Lakes, FL
 

Been to Thai Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing