We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“1 night stay after lots of travel”
Review of Runway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Runway Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Miami Springs
Winslow, Maine, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“1 night stay after lots of travel”
Reviewed 28 February 2012

we stayed for 1 night after getting back from the Dominican. The Phrase, " Never judge a book by its cover" comes to mind. Outside it doesn't look like much and its in a heavy traffic area of Miami. However it was so beautiful inside and in the rooms, the room was actually much nicer than the big brand name hotel we stayed at in the Dominican. The only downside was the lack of sound dampening. We could hear some hallway noise due to the tile floors, the doors on the room also let in alot of light from the hallway and we had to place items in front of the door to make the room dark. However all this being said, with only 1 night stay it was great! The only other possible further stay issue was that the hotel front desk staff didn't have any customer service skills, he was all matter of fact, and somewhat cold, almost what you would expect from a hotel that caters to a short-term, discreet client-tell and seeing as its an airport hotel that's fine. The whole process was seamless including their shuttle, the only issue with the shuttle being first come first serve, and they serve 2 hotels, so if you cant get a seat then you have to wait 30 min to an hour for the next shuttle. But we had a good experience.

Room Tip: We had a great room, I bet all are like the one we stayed in room style is great, one word of advice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    96
    237
    151
    221
See reviews for
118
289
139
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Spent the night here before departing on a cruise. Our expectations were very low so we were prepared to sleep in our clothes and not shower. We did just that. The front desk was kind enough to offer us a mildly upgraded room when we found cockroaches. The free wi-fi and continental breakfast, along with the free shuttle to/from the airport and to the cruise terminal was a nice feature, giving this place 2 stars.

Room Tip: first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prnewman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's an airport motel. Our room was clean, the bed was comfortable enough. The bathroom was fine. Liked the courtyard outside, plenty of greenery. Free continental breakfast was fine. True, certain things were shabby (the doors, the mirror). But for those who posted "terrible" reviews, maybe what you needed was a hotel with more "stars". For what it is, a one-night place near the hotel, it isn't bad. Heck, the Hilton near the airport gave us more agita!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thom_Hessel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Thom_Hessel,

Thank you for staying with us at the Runway Inn. I am glad you enjoyed your visit and look forward to providing you lodging in the future. The Runway Inn prides itself in not being your cookie cutter hotel chain. We go above and beyond in all aspects to ensure our guests get 5 star services at a two star rate. Give us a call to see about discounted rates the next time you come to Miami.

Sincerely,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitimat
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

The worst hotel experience of my life! Do NOT stay here!!!!!As a previous review noted you be better to sleep at the airport.I should have known when I had to wait three quarters of an hour for the shuttle from the airport.It got worse from there.The smell in the lobby was an obvious indicator of what was to come.The room we had reserved was a queen size bed,we got two twins,advertising robes,hairdryers,irons,and ironing board,we got none of that.It is a rundown,old,dirty,stinky place that doesn't provide any comfort or security for the traveler.I blocked my door with my suitcase and a chair after the clerk,a real life Kramer,rented our room to two men at 1:30 am,while we were in it.The security door lock had been broken off previously(looked like the door was kicked in).Finally had a little sleep,woke up a few hours later to go down to the continental breakfast, what a joke that was.i could write alot more but just read the other reviews.Its like a skid row hotel.

Room Tip: Don't choose one,that's my tip
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bigblock1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear bigblock1970,

I am sorry to hear that your stay at the Runway Inn was less than acceptable. Here at the Runway Inn we strive to make sure every guest leaves feeling like family. Please call the hotel and ask for my email address so I can try to rectify the problem. Once again you have my sincere apology.

Sincerely,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staten Island, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Okay hotel. Bed was great. Dirty towels in the bathroom.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bsd11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear bsd11,

I am glad to hear that you found our beds wonderfully comfortable. I am equally disappointed to hear that upon checking into your room some of the towels were dirty or had markings on them. The Runway Inn staff and management take housekeeping issues very seriously. When reported we take fast action to correct the mistake. Please accept an apology from myself and the staff at the Runway Inn.

Sincerely,
David Preston
Director of Customer Service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grants Pass, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It started out with the airport shuttle. At 8pm the hotel shuttle didn't answer their phone (several attempts) and I had to take a taxi $$ The initial smell in the lobby was bad and the room got worse. Cockroaches, the room was dirty, floors unswept, VERY noisy. Luckily I had booked through Hotels.com. They couldn't move me but did refund me in the form of a voucher to use somewhere else on another trip. I am hoping that Hotels.com removes this hotel as an option - it is a poor option. Motel 6 would have been so much better. And after paying for a taxi - a nicer hotel would have been the same price

Room Tip: Chose a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hikergirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cincinnati, ohio
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2012

Needing a room for an overnight stay in Miami waiting for an AM flight I reserved at Runway Inn. Free shuttle to/from airport, very nice desk clerk, free continental bfast and a clean room. No complaints and will stay here next time the situation arises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gdcincy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airp...
#10 of 16 in Miami Springs
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runway Inn

Property: Runway Inn
Address: 656 East Dr, Miami Springs, FL 33166-6112
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Runway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Runway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runway Hotel Miami Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing