We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and tired”
Review of Runway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Runway Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Miami Springs
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced and tired”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed one night before our cruise, first week of March 2014. From the beginning we questioned our choice. The hotel smelled of mildew, but we attributed it to Miami's humid climate. The floor in our room was very uneven. The closet and bathroom doors didn't close properly, but there were new tiles on the walls in the postage-sized bathroom. The closet had peeling paint and stains, and we were reluctant to put anything in it. The sheets were thin, and the bed seemed very small for a queen. The night person was helpful enough, but when we asked whether the beds were really queen-sized, as advertised, the female manager on the desk in the morning was quite abrupt. There was a constant competition for seats in the overcrowded buffet area. We wound up here because we left our booking too late. Next time we are going to make our reservations earlier - for somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilius_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

732 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    96
    235
    149
    221
See reviews for
117
289
138
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

For half the price of staying at The Miami International Airport hotel, at least it's private, clean w/ working alarm, phone and internet w free breakfast. The people working here was really helpful. Thanks everyone for making it enjoyable. would come back, for sure. Nice experience and stay.

Room Tip: First floor is better. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciobokabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Our room was smaller than my childhood bedroom and smelled of bleach. I am convinced our sheets were never changed between guests because of food and hair found when we pulled the sheets back. The place is old, dirty, and not well maintained! I am really turned off and will never come back. We are only here 1 night researching a larger family vacation in a few months, but we definitely will not be booking here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmcoast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed one night before and one night after our cruise. The night staff person was rude and appeared to be overwhelmed. There was no elevator but we did have help taking our luggage up them. The place smelled clean and our room was clean and the 2 queen beds were pretty good. Nice big flat screen TV. The shower was either too hot or too cold and went between burning you or freezing you. The breakfast for OK for a continental breakfast but the room was so crowded that we ate in the lobby area. They did pick us up at the airport and take us to the cruise ship for no charge, but we did pay $10 for a return trip to the hotel from the ship. Cheap enough. The older gentleman working the day shift was very pleasant and helpful and even remembered me on our return from the cruise. At $92 including tax for the first night, it was well worth the price. But, we paid almost twice that for the second night, probably because it was Sunday. The room was cool and the nose from the air conditioner blocked out the airplanes. We slept well. There was a Peruvian Restaurant across the street which was pretty good and a gas station convenience store a couple block away for extras you might need. All in all, it was not perfect, but served our purpose for the price.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees or trouble with stairs, ask for a room on the first floor. There is only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

After reading the reviews from days inn Miami north, I cancelled my reservations with them & made reservations with Runway Inn. The place was decent, at least clean, however, there was no restaurants around & we ordered Dominos pizza off the room key cards & it took 1 hour & 15 minutes to get the pizza. It was like cardboard! That was not the worst of it. Around 2-3:30 am doors started to slam, and we were woken up several times until we had to get up ourselves. We did not have much rest whatsoever. The breakfast was fair, the coffee was horrible and not enough room for everyone to sit. On the way to the breakfast, there was dead cockroach laying in the hallway. I can say that I will not be staying at your place in the future.
Linda H

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiffylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FL
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

I read the reviews on this place and very hesitantly (yet out of financial necessity) booked one of their Deluxe Queen rooms, not expecting a particularly pleasant experience or having high hopes of any kind.

I gazed upon a very old, somewhat run-down building as i pulled into the parking lot, and anxiously entered the lobby. The whole building is quite dark and dreary, and could benefit from a good dusting. The older gentleman at the desk was very polite and accommodating, and he kindly directed me to my room on the first floor.

The hallway was quite narrow, and smelled quite strongly of mildew. I had to force my way into my room, as my door was not sitting properly on its frame. The room itself was small - this is not your modern fare - and though the bedroom was very clean, the bathroom left a lot to be desired. Mildew was in abundance, and the shower temperature varied wildly. The room was equipped with a brand new a/c unit, and the bed was clean and comfortable. No ironing board or blow dryer was provided. If you're looking for a basic place to lay your head for a night, this is a good choice.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank RachelTrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
Dear RachelTrekker,
Thank you for posting a review of your time at the Runway Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that our front desk worker was kind to you, and helpful in directing you to your room. We have been working as of late to clean up each room one by one. I am glad that you were in a room with a newly equipped A/C unit and that you found the bed to be comfortable. Thank you again for the post, and it would be our pleasure to have you back with us in the future.
Sincerely,
Joseph Katz
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintstone, Maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

The check in staff was so rude. He was rude to us, people on the phone. I have never been treated so rude by ANY hotel staff, anywhere, ever. There was 6 people in our group. 2 of which were elderly and had trouble walking. This hotel has NO ELEVATOR!!!! They had no ground rooms available and my grandmother and elderly relative had to walk up steps.
There were dead bugs all over my bathroom ceiling. Room 259. Restaurant on corner is wonderful! No amenities in this hotel unless you include the horrible staff.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jennmiko21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Springs
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airp...
#10 of 16 in Miami Springs
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runway Inn

Property: Runway Inn
Address: 656 East Dr, Miami Springs, FL 33166-6112
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Runway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Runway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runway Hotel Miami Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing