We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for.”
Review of Runway Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Runway Inn
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Miami Springs
Urbana, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

I read the reviews before booking this hotel, but since it was around spring break all the other hotels were extremely pricey and we only needed a 6 hour stay before our cruise so we went with this anyway. I have to say the staff is friendly. We paid for a queen but they gave us a king. Walking into the lobby I was thinking it wasn't so bad! Then we walked upstairs and down the hallway. It seriously looked like The Shining. The carpets were filthy dirty and everything was just dingy. The rooms were not terrible but I have to say I did not have a good night sleep. I was worried bugs would crawl all over me when I slept! The door to the room wasn't very secure. We actually piled our suitcases up against the door to help secure it. We didn't have any issues with bugs or with the shower (as I read in other reviews). Overall, our experience wasn't the worst, especially for a 6 hour stay, but we wouldn't stay here again. The hotel needs major face lift-but then again if they did that then they would need to up their rates. My advice, stay in one of the other hotels that are around this one.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pbes7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joseph K, Guest Relations Manager at Runway Inn, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Pbes7,
Thank you for posting your review of the Runway Inn on TripAdvisor. I am happy to read that our staff was kind and friendly, and that they were able to upgrade your room. We value all of our guest feedback, because it helps us learn from our mistakes, and it tells us to continue what we are doing right. I will inform our department managers of your comments, so we can take care of these issues. Thank you again for taking the time out of your day to post this review.
Sincerely,
Joseph Katz
Director of Customer Service
Director.customerservices@gmail.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

742 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    96
    240
    151
    224
See reviews for
119
290
142
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Olathe, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

I would not stay here again, we had to shower with the sink running to get hot water. There are bugs flying around in the shower, the floors are nasty. There are 23 cats living in the garden area outside the hotel window. The doors are really thins so you hear everything. I called to complain about all of this once we got home because there were so many people in the lobby i didn't want to make a sean and the front desk manager Aziz hung up on me and told me there dont have any problems with there hotel. After reading the reviews they clearly do. Stay away from this place unles you want to be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay away NASTY
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adonelan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
232 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Room was very old and barely okay for one night. One might say you get what you pay for,when comparing prices to others during high season. This time our visit was noisy. Soda and ice machine 20 feet away could clearly be heard, along with others during the night. This is not a high class place. We were lucky to be on the first floor. There is no elevator to upper floors. Parking is free and there is an airport/cruise shuttle which is a money saver.

Room Tip: First floor if you have luggage. there is no elevator. Ask for a room near the back to reduce chan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JFHHMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stayed one night before our cruise, first week of March 2014. From the beginning we questioned our choice. The hotel smelled of mildew, but we attributed it to Miami's humid climate. The floor in our room was very uneven. The closet and bathroom doors didn't close properly, but there were new tiles on the walls in the postage-sized bathroom. The closet had peeling paint and stains, and we were reluctant to put anything in it. The sheets were thin, and the bed seemed very small for a queen. The night person was helpful enough, but when we asked whether the beds were really queen-sized, as advertised, the female manager on the desk in the morning was quite abrupt. There was a constant competition for seats in the overcrowded buffet area. We wound up here because we left our booking too late. Next time we are going to make our reservations earlier - for somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neilius_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

For half the price of staying at The Miami International Airport hotel, at least it's private, clean w/ working alarm, phone and internet w free breakfast. The people working here was really helpful. Thanks everyone for making it enjoyable. would come back, for sure. Nice experience and stay.

Room Tip: First floor is better. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marciobokabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Our room was smaller than my childhood bedroom and smelled of bleach. I am convinced our sheets were never changed between guests because of food and hair found when we pulled the sheets back. The place is old, dirty, and not well maintained! I am really turned off and will never come back. We are only here 1 night researching a larger family vacation in a few months, but we definitely will not be booking here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Palmcoast11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centralia, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We stayed one night before and one night after our cruise. The night staff person was rude and appeared to be overwhelmed. There was no elevator but we did have help taking our luggage up them. The place smelled clean and our room was clean and the 2 queen beds were pretty good. Nice big flat screen TV. The shower was either too hot or too cold and went between burning you or freezing you. The breakfast for OK for a continental breakfast but the room was so crowded that we ate in the lobby area. They did pick us up at the airport and take us to the cruise ship for no charge, but we did pay $10 for a return trip to the hotel from the ship. Cheap enough. The older gentleman working the day shift was very pleasant and helpful and even remembered me on our return from the cruise. At $92 including tax for the first night, it was well worth the price. But, we paid almost twice that for the second night, probably because it was Sunday. The room was cool and the nose from the air conditioner blocked out the airplanes. We slept well. There was a Peruvian Restaurant across the street which was pretty good and a gas station convenience store a couple block away for extras you might need. All in all, it was not perfect, but served our purpose for the price.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees or trouble with stairs, ask for a room on the first floor. There is only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Miami Springs
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Grove
Hampton By Hilton Miami-Coconut Grove/Coral Gables
Clarion Inn & Suites Miami Airp...
#10 of 16 in Miami Springs
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Runway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Runway Inn

Property: Runway Inn
Address: 656 East Dr, Miami Springs, FL 33166-6112
Region: United States > Florida > Miami Springs
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Miami Springs
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Runway Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Runway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Runway Hotel Miami Springs

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing