We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Homestyle cooking”

Crackers Casual Dining
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hialeah, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Homestyle cooking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Well this is a hidden gem. Its got both indoor and outdoor seating. There's special everday and you will find them up on the big chalkboard in the main dinnning area. I had the hamburger, which was good. My niece had the Country fried steak with mash. She loved it and that is what she usually gets when we go there. They have a corn bread premeal bite. They also have this thing called Bacon Jam. Tyr it I am sure you will like it. As for the rest of the menu, you have a good selection of foods, so everyone can find something they will like.

As for the staff they are very friendly and attentive. Oh by the way I saw they had pork sliders which looked good. Plan on getting those next time. Also try the soups everday a different one.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Luis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    29
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Everything we had was great! Chicken fried steak and chicken with sides of garlic mashed, roasted veggies, cucumber salad and greens. Like an idiot i ordered ribs, they weren't bad but being from Kansas City i've had much better but they were satisfying. Service was lacking a bit, had to ask for refills more than once and they were not that busy. All in all a good place would make a good date night with your wife or gf. Very good value lots of food for the money. Six of us ate 2 apps, 5 entrees and 2 desserts for 85 plus tip. I would recomend checkin it out. See ya

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hidden Southern Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

Can't believe such a quality place is down the street from my house. Consistently delicious, good variety, clean and a friendly staff. Must try!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank yoyito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
71 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Southern Comfort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

If you like down-home Southern cookin' and don't want to drive all the way to Savannah to Paula Deen's "Lady and Sons" or to Juliet, GA for the "Whistle Stop Café", this is a pretty good place. They use old family recipes, and I've been there several times for both lunch and dinner. Chicken and waffles, shrimp and grits, mac and cheese, sweet potato casserole or fried green tomatoes anyone? I've ordered them all, and you won't be disappointed. Can't comment on the desserts - never tried one. Crackers is an anomaly for this area - it's overlooking the Miami River in a part of town chock full of Cuban eateries. If the weather if fine, sit outside under the chickee hut. Great (free) parking, too.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mangomum2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
311 reviews
214 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fun place with fun food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Yet another example of a restaurant that strives, and largely succeeds, in providing creditable down-home Southern cooking but spoils it slightly by an effort to add the je-ne-sais-quoi from the french/americain nouvelle moment -- ie add cilantro to stuff, fry the bread pudding (this was very good but gilding the lily). Anyway i'm carping -- it's a real fun place -- lively on a Sat night (staff somewhat overwhelmed) and fun food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Crackers Casual Dining also viewed

 

Been to Crackers Casual Dining? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing