We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good”
Review of The Micanopy Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Micanopy Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Micanopy
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Come visit. Clean rooms great service and good value. The place is great if you are tired from traveling and need a hot shower and a nice comfortable clean bed to sleep in.The employees are very clean well mannered individuals who value the meaning of hard work. They expect nothing but the best for their customers and if you need something they are the first ones to make sure you acquire it. Please come check it out for yourself I know I was not disappointed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank lindsayw67543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (133)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 133 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

If i could give this hotel a zero, i absolutely would... We pulled in early in the morning after a LONG drive, to be greeted by an 'edgy' receptionist (dressed in his birthday suit, plus boxer shorts) who was sleeping behind the counter. To his credit, he was friendly, and got dressed quite quickly.

We got two rooms for $70. Bargainsville... Oh. Wait...

The first room: blocked toilet, hot water running brown, bed clothes that smelt like other, bygone travellers, dead flies trapped in the picture frames and toenail clippings behind the door (that too looked like it had seen better days). The second room: blood stains on the mattress, cockroaches in the bath and a disconnected fridge, lined with mould. I'll stop there.

We were all super tired, so did our best to get a good nights sleep, hindered only by loud electrical cracking from over the car park and constant drone of raised voices.

At roughly 8am in the morning, I ventured down to the reception to explore the offer of free WiFi and coffee. The lobby was unoccupied, dark and locked, much like the previous night, so I knocked to see if matey was still asleep behind the desk... Not this time. On my way back to the room I bumped into a lady carrying a couple of cold ones (yep, 8am) who asked if she could help me: 'Nothing doing with the wifi I'm afraid, we don't know the new code. Are you staying on your own?' 'No...' 'Are you okay for everything? Weed? Crystal meth?' 'No... I'm okay, thanks.'

I told my friends what had happened, and discovered that I was not the only one of our party who looked like we might fancy a spot of meth. Needless to say, we hot-tailed it right out of there, shower free. Bliss.

In short, don't stay here. Sleep in your car, or something. Anything.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCozyInn, Owner at The Micanopy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

In response to your March 23, 2014 review, we have some great news to share with you. The previous owners had a manager who had some challenges. The manager was terminated within a week of your review. At that time, the property had some MAJOR issues with cleanliness, room condition, the lifestyles of some FORMER long-term guests residing on the property at that time and more.

My wife Shari and I moved here from Maryland to resurrect a dying business, which we have done!

Since our arrival, we have thrown out ALL of the old beds and replaced them with Sealy(R) Posturepedic Beds, replaced the flooring in over 30 rooms, repainted, refinished tubs, replaced toilets, addressed plumbing, electrical issues, mounted 32" LG Flat Screen TVs and there's still MUCH more to do. Let us know when you are in the area, your next visit is "On The House!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

All of the rooms are will have WiFi, cable TV and phones, which are all being upgraded. Each room will have new carpet and beds within the next few weeks. While the past reviews were not very favorable, there is a new Sheriff in town and things are fixin' to change. The motel will be in excellent condition prior to the end of Spring. Once the renovations and upgrades are done this motel will be an excellent value.

Room Tip: rooms near the office are in the best condition
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank NewSheriff2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCozyInn, Owner at The Micanopy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2014

In response to your March 23rd, 2014 stay at The OLD Micanopy Inn. First and foremost, our apologies for that night.

My wife Shari and I now operate The NEW Micanopy Inn. While your experience was the worst-of-the-worst, we would welcome the opportunity to show you what we've done. NONE of those who resided here that night live on the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

There was a dank, musty smell to the room. Looked like it hadn't been vacuumed in months. The phone was broken, which might explain the stain on the box spring (I would say it was blood). Place gave me the impression that it could be a meth lab hotel or the equivalent. During the entire length of our stay there, 5 minutes, it felt like we were being watched.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 18wheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCozyInn, Owner at The Micanopy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2014

In response to your February 23rd, 2014 review. The Inn is now under new ownership, so you would not even recognize the place. Not only have we upgraded rooms, but we have improved the overall energy of the place. We offer a very clean, friendly and affordable place to lay your head. We also offer continental breakfast on weekends, as well as daily coffee and conversation.

We know that when you are ready to give us another chance, you will be pleased with your stay! Just for coming back, we will reduce our regular rate by 50% to show you we care.

Happy Holidays,
Tom and Shari

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InekeDorreman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Jorge S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheCozyInn, Owner at The Micanopy Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2015
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Micanopy
21.0 mi away
Howard Johnson Inn - Ocala FL
8.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#31 of 47 in Gainesville
51 reviews
10.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Gainesville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.0 mi away
Courtyard Gainesville
Courtyard Gainesville
#19 of 47 in Gainesville
183 reviews
23.2 mi away
Best Western Waldo Inn & Suites
9.5 mi away
Quality Inn University
Quality Inn University
#24 of 47 in Gainesville
133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Micanopy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Micanopy Inn

Address: 17110 SE County Road 234, Micanopy, FL 32667-5351
Region: United States > Florida > Micanopy
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Micanopy
Price Range: £32 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Micanopy Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a stay at Micanopy Inn, you'll be in the historical district and convenient to Micanopy Historical Society Museum and Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park. Make yourself at home in one of the 60 air-conditioned guestrooms. Complimentary wireless Internet access in our Front Office and in our rooms keeps you connected, and cable programming is available for your entertainment. Convenient amenities such Front Office WiFi, In-Room WiFi, Breakfast from 6 AM-9 AM, and laundry facilities and coffee/tea in the lobby. Free self parking is available onsite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your The Micanopy Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Micanopy Knights Inn
Knights Inn Micanopy
The Micanopy Inn Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing