We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and friendly park”

Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park
Ranked #1 of 15 things to do in Micanopy
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Nature area with woods and swamp as well as an information center describing the wildlife in the area.
Orlando, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Peaceful and friendly park”
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Entering the park, the park rangers are very friendly. We love to hike the entire park. You will see bison, lots of deer, wild horses, we saw a baby horse just born,alligators, birds abound, wild turkey. There is an observation tower and the view is great. The restrooms are very clean.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pinky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    135
    67
    8
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
H
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
109 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem, Cool Walking Trail Canopy, Nature Watch”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Paynes Prairie was on our to do list for quite sometime. Finally, we made it on Aug 13, 2013. We felt as if we weren't in Florida anymore. The trees had beautiful Spanish moss hanging from them. It's nestled in this small town of Micanopy. The prairie looks like something out of a movie. There is a small visitor center where a 20 minute movie plays and gives you information about the prairie and area. There is a hands on area for everyone to check out. At the visitor center, you can climb up the stairs to see the prairie. Breathtaking views sweep across as far as the eye can see.

There is a tower you can climb and enjoy the views from there too. There are nice short trails about .3 of a mile to over 1 mile. Some can be enjoyed by wheelchair. I'm not sure which others if there is rough terrain but the rangers provide a map with the trails.

Sadly, we didn't get a chance to see the Bison. It was midday when we went. It was blazing hot and the mosquitoes were out in full force. If you plan on coming to this hidden gem bring plenty of mosquito repellant. We did see a hawk, gopher tortoise and 2 deer on our way out of the prairie.

FYI: Make sure there aren't any ticks on you before leaving the prairie. There is a small sign posted about ticks on their billboard before taking a short walk to the visitor center. Luckily, I noticed a tick on my spouse and we easily got it off before entering the car.

Next time, I think we will come when the weather is a bit cooler and the mosquitoes less hungry!

This is great for young children, tweens and preteens. Also, good for bird watching enthusiasts too.

I didn't rate this excellent because we didn't see the bison plus we were being eaten by mosquitoes and it was super humid! Otherwise, this place is very good! We will return again!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank lovethemouse p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawthorne
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SERENITY”
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I live here. If you have not been to the prairie you are missing out on some many things bature has to offer. You should definately go to LaChua Trail at least once a month as the prairie changes regularly based in seasons and rainfall. If you're lucky you will get to see the Spanish horses!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lexi Luthor S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk Island, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Gators, Horses, Bison, Birding and Elk in a Beautiful Setting”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We dropped into Paynes Prairie enroute from Micanopy to Gainesville, whilst on vacation on the off chance we would see some beautiful natural scenery and wonderful animals. We were not disappointed!!!

We hiked the 8 miles??? to/from the lake and saw Bald Eagles, other Birds of Prey, Brush Turkeys, Some other wonderfully colored birds, 2 Elk, 4 Gators, some Bison and a Mare and Foal - much more than we expected. The hike itself is beautiful, we were the only ones we saw on the hike, it was so special due to the peacefulness and we got some great photo opps.

Get to the park early though for best wildlife spotting opportunities, and bring with you plenty of drinking water if you decide to hike the trails.

Will definately be back!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank EnJay27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tuscaloosa, AL
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Charming and Interesting”
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We made a brief visit to Micanopy and Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park on a recent drive down to Orlando. Our family has visited Paynes Prairie Preserve in the past several different times and always find it to be a welcome bit of natural beauty and peace in a hectic visit to the area in general. I love the viewing tower and spotting wildlife as does the rest of my family.

I would think that this attraction should be a must see for anyone who enjoys nature and animals. I find it hard to believe that this preserve is located so close to the busy I-75 but that should make it a must do for more travelers following the interstate. Nice trails that make for a pleasant walk and then a nice little downtown area of Micanopy make it perfect to stretch your legs(or do a more intense walk if you wish).

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Reedmore13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park also viewed

 

Been to Paynes Prairie Preserve State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing