We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Who would have thought?” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roberto's Italian Eatery - CLOSED

Roberto's Italian Eatery
Cuisines: Italian, Cafe
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Who would have thought?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2012

Out in the middle of nowhere is one of the best Italian restaurants I've ever been to! HUGE portions, fantastic flavor, great presentation with the friendliest people you'd ever want to meet. Incredibly small, but BIG on charming. I'll make sure to go back as soon as I can get back up there. Thank you Roberto!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    3
    3
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Largo, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“The best ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

This was one of the finest Italian meals we have ever eaten! Everything from the appetizers through all four meals was absolutely wonderful.

The waitress was friendly and charming and Roberto was delightful to speak with.

I wish Roberto's weren't so far away. We would be regular guests.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank EnidBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT FOOD!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

The chef is the best in this area! The food is 5 star all the way!!! You wouldn't even know this gem is sitting there. Hours change in the summer but a must stop for lunch or dinner if you are in the area and LOVE Italain food.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank PaintedSunrise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Well worth the drive from Gainesville”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

Well worth the drive from Gainesville and a nice change of pace. This cozy restaurant provides a true taste of Italy with excellent food and friendly service. Bring your own wine with no corking fee. Dinner takes some time but that was just what we experienced in Italy. When food is prepared fresh, it takes a little time. I had the special which was fresh yellow-tail snapper with sauteed veggies. It was amazingly good and thankfully our lovely Italian waiter, Carlo, cleaned it up for me as it comes whole! If you're not comfortable with the occasional bone here and there, pick something else. It was so fresh and tasty, I didn't mind. My husband had the lasagna which was equally delish. They had a very enjoyable guitarist playing and the music wasn't too loud so I could still speak softly with my husband. Carlo, Roberto and Chef Antonio were all very nice. I think they were a bit impressed with our feeble attempt to speak some Italian and as it was the end of the night, they shared our dessert wine which we had brought back from Tuscany. This restaurant is definitely a hidden gem in the little town of McIntosh!

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank GatorGirl352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Delightful Italian Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

Roberto's Italian Eatery is a delightful small restaurant on Highway 441 betwen Gainesville and Ocala. They were very warm and welcoming.
The waitress first brought us a complementary small appetizer of beans, corn, and marinated seafood. It was delicious. Our dinners consisted of salads, roasted squash soup, whole vermillion snapper, cheese ravioli in lobster sause, and spaghetti and meatballs. All the dishes were very good, but the snapper was extraordinary. Seafood is their specialty, and the snapper was the fish of the day.
Roberto's is open Wednesday through Sunday, and I suggest calling to make a reservation because of the limited seating.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank EagleEyeFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Roberto's Italian Eatery also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing